We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beautiful and Clean Place to Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rosslyn Inn and Suites
Ranked #67 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Reviewed 14 January 2013

My husband and I got to stay here for only one night, as we were going through Edmonton, I would have loved to stay longer. I reserved a room via Booking.com and arrived in the evening to find everything in fine order. The main areas of the hotel are clean, well presented and very welcoming. The staff is very friendly and helpful. As I have worked in hotel housekeeping for 11 years, cleanliness is very important to me. I found our suite beautiful, comfortable and clean. The bed was spotless and so soft and comfy. There was also a fireplace with heat, an exquisite Jacuzzi, a big screen tv, and all the bells and whistles. After a very long day on the road from Jasper we relaxed and thoroughly enjoyed our room! We went for breakfast in the restaurant downstairs and were pleasantly surprised at the great breakfast at a very reasonable price. We are already planning on going back to spend some time shopping at the WEM (as we had to leave due to weather) and we will be staying here again for sure. Looking forward to seeing you again Rosslyn!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sionainn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGMRosslyn, General Manager at Rosslyn Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2013

Thank you for your kind comments, we will print and post them for the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2012

we choose the time around Thanksgiving for us Americans travellers to go and visit my great aunt in Edmonton. She did recommend this hotel to us. and as a family of four it was what we needed especially the separate room for my hubby and i and the kids get to sleep on the sofa bed in the living room. I did have some reservations in re: some of the reviews but since i will be here for 4 days and the family suite is what i needed with being close to my aunt .. i booked.

Lots of parking out there for they own the lot so you can park anywhere as long as you have the permit that the hotel gives you.
Location is excellent - Walmart, $1 stores, Shoppers drug mart, lots of eatery etc etc
The carpet need changing it just looked old and you are not sure if it is clean or not.
The(hotel) should have a separate thermostat for the living room and the bedroom temperature control.
I Like the cereal bars and water they provide during the evening .. also they provide us with flavor creamers, plates, cups and utensils.
The workers who clean the rooms were nice - the once i have encountered.
Leaving at 5 in the morning and asking direction to get on the highway.. the clerk did not know how to get on to the highway - and you live and work in Edmonton. :(
Overall it was a good trip and i will stay here again and i do recommend this hotel -despite the changes i think that are needed.

P.S. checking in and out was a breeze :)

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wonderer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGMRosslyn, General Manager at Rosslyn Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2012

We agree with your comment on the carpeting. We are in the process of replacing them, we are staring with the lounge area in February followed by the public area's in April or May (Lobby, Guestroom Hallways and Meeting Rooms) and then followed by the guestrooms in the fall.

We do apologize for our staff not being able to provide you with directions to one of the three highways in our area. I'm quite surprised that they didn't google map it for you, we will work on that part of their training.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

As there doesn't seem to be much offered in the way of pet friendly hotels in the north end of Edmonton, we felt we had no choice but to stay here again. We had stayed here during our move to Edmonton in 2010 and said we would try to find another one for our move out. The only other hotel close enough that allowed pets is in St. Albert and unfortunately was booked for the nights we needed. So we reluctantly booked the Rosslyn again. They did accomodate our 4 pets, which was great. However, after specifically requesting a non-smoking pet friendly room, the first room we were given just reeked of cigarette smoke, so much I actually gagged when I opened the door! The staff was helpful and gave us another room right away, one problem - it too reeked like an old dirty ash tray! Back down to the front desk I went and this time the staff actually came up to check the rooms before giving it to us ... finally room # 4 was okay and was tolerable. Although I can tell you that by day # 3 of our stay the cigarette smell was starting to come out of the carpets again, we were glad to be leaving the next morning.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGMRosslyn, General Manager at Rosslyn Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2012

Thank you for your comment. Even though we are a non smoking hotel, that doesn't stop others from smoking in the guestrooms. We do try our best to return them to a non smoked in status, it appears we did not succeed in your case.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

When we drove up to the hotel we were a little confused as we could not find a place to park as the parking lit for the hotel was a little difficult to find. The area seemed a little shady but I don't know Edmonton very well.
When it came to checking in, it was a bit of a problem. My husband and I walked in each with a sleeping child. His ID was better accessible and rather than just keeping the room under my name the agent had to take the time to do a completely new one while we were struggling.
When we got to our room the floors were a little wet as we think the floors were steam cleaned as my husband and daughter have allergies to pets. That was a nice surprise.
The bed was not so comfortable. We had a king sized bed in a suite that had indents on each side and quite lumpy.
In the morning I was leaving the hotel and decided to take the stairs which turned out to be the fire escape with all doors locked and an alarmed door at the bottom. I set off the alarm and went to the front desk to tell them what I did. Rather than an apology I got a snooty "maybe today will be the day we put up the proper signs".
I honestly don't think we will ever stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SDVM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGMRosslyn, General Manager at Rosslyn Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2012

The hotel parking lot at the front of the hotel is well lit and has 150 parking stalls. Your concern over the Emergency Stairs was discussed with our Maintenance Manager, we have concluded that you entered the stairwell during the time that he was removing the old signs indicating the stair case was an emergency exit only and installing the new LARGER signs which measure 30 inches wide by 20 inches high. For that you, please accept our sincere apologies for being inconvenienced.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Our intro to the Rosslyn was a little rough with the first three non smoking rooms smelling strongly of cigarette smoke, but the staff accommodated us and found us a room without the smell. Unfortunately the worst part about the hotel was not the hotel itself but the location. Stuck in the middle of a poorly designed retail mall and at the cross roads off two major roads, parking was a daily adventure and the bar next to the hotel invited some questionable folks. The staff were all very friendly and the rooms were clean, well kept and nicely laid out.

Room Tip: lower level rooms invite you to partake in the conversations of the bar attendees. If you can, try t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jason n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGMRosslyn, General Manager at Rosslyn Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2012

The hotel and strip mall are located on the corner of a residential neighbourhood. Our VLT lounge and Horses off Track are a quiet location where many of the locals drop in to meet up with friends and have some fun. The hotel also has 389 parking spaces, on very rare occasions such as a major event are they all used.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Called in advance to reserve a room, the room stunk thinking we would get one of the better rooms . The staff at the front desk are really rude like they don't care what they are doing . They shouldn't hire such unfriendly people , why work there when your miserable at your job. General manager has got to be the worst managers I have ever spoken to. The hotel over all is filthy . I wouldn't recommend this crappy hotel better off sleeping at a motel . For the price not worth it at all. Such a terrible experience .

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Cherry848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGMRosslyn, Manager at Rosslyn Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2012

Since we document all guest concerns and since we can't seem to find an guest conversation in our records with a guest that even resemble this guests comments, we are questioning how legitimate this comment is.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Some rooms are renovated but not too nicely. The rooms that have not been renovated are awful. One room could not lock the main door, the toilet did not work and there was no shower. The bed was lumpy and sagged like a hammock. The staff are friendly but not the most competent around. We booked only in the new area but were placed in the older rooms anyway...apparently by the time we arrived the hotel was fully booked. The internet service is sketchy at best. The roads nearby are busy day and night, the traffic noise penetrates the exterior and can clearly be heard in your rooms. Some rooms have fridges some have microwaves.....few have both. The carpetin. The rooms are filthy, bring slippers. On a final note, there are no slip proof mats in the bathrooms that do have showers so be careful!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Junefrommedhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGMRosslyn, Manager at Rosslyn Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2012

We document all conversations with guests regarding their concerns, again there is no record of any guest expressing these comments to us. If the toilet, shower and door were all not functioning we would simply not rent the room out, we have no record of a guest comenting on this. Our Suites have microwaves and fridges, our standard rooms have fridges. All our tubs are treated to be non slip, we do carry a supply of bath maths for those that wish to use them, they are available through the front desk. Our internet provider has finally been able to put an affordable package together to upgrade the speed of our internet, this will be resolved shortly. When a guest makes a reservation our system assigns them a guestroom, WE DO NOT DOWNGRADE our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edmonton
Place LaRue
Executive Royal Hotel Edmonton
Chateau Nova Yellowhead
#33 of 93 in Edmonton
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Calgary Trail North
Best Western Cedar Park Inn
St Albert Inn and Suites
#2 of 3 in St. Albert
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosslyn Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosslyn Inn and Suites

Address: 13620 97 St NW, Edmonton, Alberta T5E 4E2, Canada (Formerly Rosslyn Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Price Range: £58 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rosslyn Inn and Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
92 room value oriented property. Offers a cold continental breakfast, free parking, Free WiFi and is a pet friendly facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Rosslyn Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosslyn Hotel Edmonton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing