We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over Priced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Sutton Place Hotel Edmonton
Ranked #73 of 91 Hotels in Edmonton
Reviewed 19 January 2012

I paid way too much for a very mediocre hotel room. Would never stay there again. Avoid at all costs.
Brian S.

Room Tip: Whatever you do, don't eat on site. Part of the Sandman Chain - not the REAL 5 Star Sutton Plac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian654327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (625)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

515 - 521 of 625 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2012

I stayed one night at the Sutton Place while attending a year end party. The banquet facilities and food were both really good. The rooms not so much.
The bed was comfortable , sheets clean however I feel like I needed a black light to scan the tired looking bedspread.
The bathroom was another issue. Although it was surface clean the tile grout was nasty with mold in places and the taps had heavy lime deposit. Didn't feel clean showering there.
The staff were all very friendly.
Come on Sutton, clean up, you could be a great hotel.

Room Tip: Wait until renos are done.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nostay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

We spent one night here on a short visit to Edmonton. The room was clean and comfortable, with two minor exceptions. One coffee cup had some baked on crud that had accumulated in the dishwasher and not been detected or removed prior to it being set out in the room. And the iron, which had a label on it saying that it belonged to the Sheraton Hotel, has a sticky stain on part of it, as if it had ironed off a sticky label many moons ago.

Our room was quiet, the bed was comfortable, and all the plumbing, lights and tv worked. Front desk staff were polite. It was good enough for our needs.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Human44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Tired and under construction sum up the 3 day expierence in Edmonton over new years 2012 at Sutton Place.
My past expierence with this Brand was always top drawer........not this location.

Visiting for the world Junior Hockey Championships , the city did an excellant job of welcoming visitors to northern Alberta.The hotel is very old with construction in the main lobby area which meant the resturants were not in use!
Therefore alernative was room service or a trek to a conference room for a over priced morning entree. The staff were great and under the circumtances should be applauded for putting on such a good face in light of the situation.
The rooms on 17th floor , are in need of a makeover .The bedding was really quite yukky, there was a top sheet and then only a comforter.........., imagine?

Overall would definatley consider other options next trip!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JC/GC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We stayed as a family during Christmas on 25th floor. The view from the floor was good.The room was Ok, We used the pool and jaccuzi at the roof top which was nice and clean and returned to our room. However there was a continuous droning sound and we could n't sleep properly. When commented about on check out, no courtesy or any response from the staff. We ordered Sutton breakfast and kids meal.during the night, The room service attendant calls up early morning to inform that there is no chocolate milk which was listed in the menu card. Later brought the items ordered with stale butter. When complained of it no apologies. I think the management is not serious about the employee training as evident from the handling of customer dissatisfaction. The only exception was for the valet parking who was courteous.
Would we stay again : An emphatic no with the kind of noisy rooms, unhealthy food, and the un courteous service levels.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJ0hn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

I stayed here one night with my husband using a free gift certificate he won that also included free valet parking. The staff were good and checkin/checkout was quick and efficient. The rooms were pretty average and the decor is dated. The king size bed was comfy. Bathtub had some mildew stains on it and looked kind of grungy. We had a look at the rooftop pool which has a nice view from the 26th floor.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sipari_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Sutton Place Edmonton this past weekend as I was attending a conference there on the Monday. We decided to take advantage of the opportunity and went to Edmonton early to complete some Christmas shopping.

I orginally had 1 night (Sun - Mon) booked but upon noticing the rates for the Saturday stay we decided to leave an extra day early. I booked the additional night over the phone - we were able to book a King Room with room service breakfast and parking for $150.

We arrived late Saturday night and the front desk had great difficulty linking my two reservations together - one personal one conference rate. We did not want to have to change rooms. Once that was sorted out we were told that parkign at one tower was full so we would have to park at the Bell Tower. Fine except when you are not from Edmonton or have never stayed at the Sutton it is very very confusing how the parking works and where exactly it is in relation to the hotel.

We were able to figure it out on our own but we asked for clarification at the Front Desk and we asked a bellman... no one could clearly explain the process. Very frustrating at 10:30 at night after a 5 hour drive.

The room was basically clean but very dated. From the pictures online I expected a posh high end business hotel. This was not the case. Very dated, very standard and nothing special.

Would we stay again? Not unless I had to because of a work conference again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daLesters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
0.1 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Edmonton Centre Suites
0.4 mi away
Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel by APA
0.3 mi away
Union Bank Inn
Union Bank Inn
#28 of 91 in Edmonton
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Edmonton / Downtown
0.3 mi away
The Westin Edmonton
The Westin Edmonton
#17 of 91 in Edmonton
1,324 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Hotel Macdonald
Fairmont Hotel Macdonald
#13 of 91 in Edmonton
1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sutton Place Hotel Edmonton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sutton Place Hotel Edmonton

Address: 10235 - 101 Street, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 3E9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 91 Hotels in Edmonton
Price Range: £97 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Sutton Place Hotel Edmonton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive at The Sutton Place Hotel you will notice the service, comfort and convenience we provide to each and every guest. Our 313 guest rooms and suites range in size from spacious traditional accommodations to our two storey luxurious Royal Suite. Connected to five major office towers and over 400 shops and businesses in the adjoining City Centre Mall, the property is ideally situated within the Arts district and downtown Edmonton. The hotel brings a taste of tradition and elegance to the heart of Alberta's Capital City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Sutton Place Hotel Edmonton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutton Place Edmonton
Edmonton Sutton Place Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing