We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Is Key”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Sutton Place Hotel Edmonton
Ranked #73 of 91 Hotels in Edmonton
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I took a gable with a Hotwire website and ended up with The Sutton Place. After telling people that I was staying here for a wedding, people assumed I was 'classy' and had a lot of money to blow. Luckily, the price is right and the location is worth it. However, the hotel is indeed old and the rooms could use a splash of 2013. Everything worked in my room, everything was pretty clean (a few dust spots in the bathroom light fixtures). Parking is a little confusing and on the expensive side but due to construction, I parked in the City Centre parkade around the block for $9 rather than the lot right attached to the hotel for $26.

I love it here because of location to transit and everything downtown. Front desk staff could be a little more informative about the venue, especially if you're new. You get what you pay for - just know parking is extra.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (625)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

346 - 352 of 625 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2013

The initial issue was that they gave away our room with a two beds but told us it was our mistake (despite us having a confirmation printed out confirming we booked a room with 2 beds) and kept trying tying to give us a room with a bed and a cot, repeatedly claiming there were no other options. Finally, after I asked if they had any other rooms with single beds, they offered me this, and I was happy with the resolution. They then disabled my key the next day, after which I got locked in the stairwell since they didnt contact me to let me know they had a new room for the next night. There was construction outside the building that the front desk seemed unaware of, and we were refused entry into the downtown parking we had already paid 31$ for that day. When we asked about it, they said they didn't know what to do. While theses issues were likely not the fault of management, nor the employees I spoke to, there was zero amount of cooperation on their parts unless I specifically spelled it out for them, and with great reluctance. I have never felt more disrespected than at this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa1808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Stayed here for meetings in Edmonton in late September 2013. It's a very nice hotel in the heart of downtown Edmonton; attached to major shopping centre Edmonton City Centre by the city's outstanding pedway system, as well as to office towers and other facilities. The staff were wonderful; the room was nice, large and spotlessly clean. Large flat-screen TV. Check-in and check-out were fast and friendly. I was asked on check-out if I had enjoyed my stay and if everything was to my satisfaction.

The deal our conference group struck with the hotel gave us access to free wi-fi (it was a bit slow, but most hotel wi-fi is in my experience) and the free continental breakfast, which was a step above most continental breakfasts I've had, including cold cuts, quiche tarts and hard-boiled eggs as well as the usual cereal, pastries and juice.

The hotel was undergoing renovations, which didn't disturb us at all. The room was chilly the first night, with no in-room temperature control; I mentioned this at the front desk and it was taken care of. A colleague suggested it might be a side-effect of the renos.

Overall it was a great hotel in a great location and I was entirely satisfied with my experience there.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronniecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Front desk staff were impersonal and provided little or no information on the hotel nor its surroundings. There were line-ups at the front desk both on check-in and most other times, staff seemed overwhelmed and irritable. Hotel is not in a good location - very close to the YMCA so many vagrants and homeless folks around and not safe in particulat for a woman traveling alone. Given other choices in Edmonton, this hotel is not recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lillmvon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

if you plan on being connected with the outside world at all do not stay here. at first glance the hotel is not bad and the restaurant is pretty good, but I stayed here for a week and the internet was so bad and the hotel staff so uncaring that I cannot reccomend this place to anyone. L

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MSALLEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

The two nights I stayed here were okay, despite the ongoing renovations. The room was clean and comfortable and I found the staff to be friendly and helpful. The rooms are a little dated but maybe they are included in the overall renovation plans. For now I couldn't rate it better than average.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here one night. This is not an upscale hotel. They have redone the lobby but the new couches are already stained. After a regular flush of our toliet it began to overflow. We immediately called the front desk and they said they would send someone right away. 15 min later the water was overflowing into the room. We called the front desk again and the same lady we spoke to acted like she didn't know what we were talking about. Finally a maintenance man arrived and began accusing us of plugging the toliet (which we didn't) and then told us he didn't have time to fix it and left. We called the front desk again and they said they would send someone up for new keys for a new room. It took 45 min for the new key to arrive. Once we were settled in our new room we discovered there were still dirty towels draped over the shower rod. We will not be staying at this hotel again nor recommending it to further travelers.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angelaernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
0.1 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Edmonton Centre Suites
0.4 mi away
Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel by APA
0.3 mi away
Union Bank Inn
Union Bank Inn
#27 of 91 in Edmonton
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Edmonton / Downtown
0.3 mi away
The Westin Edmonton
The Westin Edmonton
#17 of 91 in Edmonton
1,324 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chateau Lacombe Hotel
Chateau Lacombe Hotel
#46 of 91 in Edmonton
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sutton Place Hotel Edmonton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sutton Place Hotel Edmonton

Address: 10235 - 101 Street, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 3E9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 91 Hotels in Edmonton
Price Range: £97 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Sutton Place Hotel Edmonton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive at The Sutton Place Hotel you will notice the service, comfort and convenience we provide to each and every guest. Our 313 guest rooms and suites range in size from spacious traditional accommodations to our two storey luxurious Royal Suite. Connected to five major office towers and over 400 shops and businesses in the adjoining City Centre Mall, the property is ideally situated within the Arts district and downtown Edmonton. The hotel brings a taste of tradition and elegance to the heart of Alberta's Capital City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Sutton Place Hotel Edmonton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutton Place Edmonton
Edmonton Sutton Place Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing