We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Sutton Place Hotel Edmonton
Nearby Hotels
Matrix Hotel(Edmonton)
US$135
US$127
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
US$110
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$111
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
US$103
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$124
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$141
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$128
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$123
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$212
US$160
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (634)
Filter reviews
634 results
Traveller rating
79
161
196
109
89
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
79
161
196
109
89
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
328 - 333 of 634 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Last week we booked the Sutton Edmonton for two nights to enjoy some city shopping and to attend the Oilers game against Anaheim. It was without exception the best decision we made. Having previously stayed several times at the Sutton Vancouver our expectations and anticipation were high. Let me say we were not disappointed!! The hotel staff were friendly and the customer service was excellent. Our room provided us with a very comfortable space to relax and unwind from whirlwind shopping. And the connection to the LRT enabled us to leave the car parked and get to the Oilers game relaxed and eager to see a win.

Without a doubt the best experience had to be the Valet parking with in and out privledges.

We look forward to staying at this hotel again in the not too distant future and I will also say the rates were very reasonable!!

We will be back!!!!

Room Tip: the pool and spa were under renovation so did not get to use those amenities.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at The Sutton Place Hotel Edmonton, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Thank you very much for your comments. The pool area renovation project is now completed with new change rooms and a refreshed pool area. Our guest room renovation project has now begun. Once completed all of our guestrooms will be refreshed with new bathrooms and updated room finishes. We look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I've stayed at Sutton Place in Vancouver -- clean, not "new" but upscale, updated in the last 30 years and... I'll say it again... clean.

Sutton Edmonton is terrible. The staff mean well (specifically their night security guy was great given the circumstances), and yes the hotel is planning to have "badly needed" (their quote) renovations but this place is unacceptable for $100/night, it's a CRIME at $300/night - no matter how few business hotels Edmonton has. Long story short, I had significant problems with my first room that I will leave out b/c they ended up comping my room and the staff did make an effort to find me a room in another hotel at 11PM. Second room didn't have air con (you wouldn't think you would need this in minus 10, but the heat was down to zero and it was so hot it was unbearable). DO NOT STAY HERE. Maybe after the renos. I had a big meeting the next day and I literally got zero sleep because of the poor operations of this hotel. Will never stay at another Sutton, even Vancouver, because of their total lack of clean, acceptable rooms.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alison T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at The Sutton Place Hotel Edmonton, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Thank you for your comments. The hotel renovations are now under way. We are very excited to have this long awaited project begin. We are refreshing and updating all of our guest rooms. Our pool area and hallways are also under renovation and nearing completion. We truly appreciate your patronage and hope to see serve you once again when our project is complete.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

I was expecting a very nice hotel as you would expect for a Sutton Place... Well it is not what you are getting. The place looks like that you are back to 1980's. They indicated in the lobby that they will be renovating very soon and beleive me that will not be a luxury, My stay at a Comfort Inn was more memorable.

The staff is nice and helpful but can't compensate for the decor. It is a weird set up many people are going thru the hotel lobby to reach the City centre mall next door. I beleive they should be adding more security staff in order to control better all these people walking in the lobby that are not hotel guests.

Room Tip: The parking cost 31$ a night. This is New York city, How can a city of that size can charge that kind of money for car parking. Next time i will consider to stay out side of the city where parking is free.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andrewII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at The Sutton Place Hotel Edmonton, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Thank you so much for your comments. There is exciting news here at the Sutton Place in Edmonton. We are beginning a renovation project in our guest rooms in the next few weeks which will bring many necessary updates to the rooms.

Unfortunately, we do not own our parking facility here at the Sutton Place and are at the mercy of the parking lot owners. Edmonton parking rates have been steadily increasing over the past few years. We attempt to minimize these rates as much as possible to our guests and certainly do not utilize parking as a revenue generating opportunity for the hotel.

We truly value your business and sincerely hope you will book with us again.

Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

My husband and I checked in and he asked about parking twice. They didn't bother to tell us that we needed a parking pass. When he went back to the desk to collect a parking pass the were argumentative about giving him one.

When we went to the in house restaurant the next day there was a wait of 3 different groups wanting to be seated and no one ever came over, even though there were only two people eating. We waited as long as we felt fair and left without eating.

Overall the staff was cold, rude and didn't do their job when it came to letting us know about the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bailey871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at The Sutton Place Hotel Edmonton, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Thank you for your comments. Our sincere apologies for the service experience you received during your visit. We truly value your feedback as it does help us identify opportunities to improve our products and services. The service you received is certainly not what the Sutton brand represents. We have reviewed your comments with our Front Desk team in order to rectify this communication breakdown.

Parking is becoming an issue in our area of the city particularly during high occupancy dates in the city. Unfortunately, the Sutton Place does not own it's own parking facilities here in Edmonton and are unable to offer preferential parking rates and services to our guests.

We truly value your business and hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,

Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I was a little worried by some of the reviews saying the hotel was tired and dated, but we found it to be clean and usable. The rooms aren't as modern as most 4 star hotels, but it looks like they are on the cusp of renovating them (they had material samples and photos in the lobby) and it reflects the discounted rate we got.

The pool and hot-tub on the top floor were great, with nice fixtures, lots of seating and a stellar view. Location was decent in that it's connected to all the malls, but parking was disappointing, they charge a steep $26 a night and there's no safe place to park nearby. We did have no problem with the parking itself, just the price and didn't have to deal with a valet.

Room Tip: We found all three elevators to be lighting fast, so don't be afraid to pick a higher floor.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank furtive808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H, General Manager at The Sutton Place Hotel Edmonton, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Thank you for your comments. We are excited to announce a renovation project commencing in the next few weeks where we will see upgrades to our guest rooms and hallways. Our pool is currently closed as we are fully refurbishing our change room facilities and refreshing our pool and hot tub area.

At the Sutton Place Hotel in Edmonton we do not own our own parking facility preventing us from giving our guests preferred rates and services.

We truly value your business and hope to serve you once again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews