We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Edmonton South
Ranked #23 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 23 June 2009

The Terrace Inn has been open for along time & has been run by afew different management companies over the years.

The rooms are very large, the condition is generally good & are quiet (some traffic noise). The rooms now have new beds (you can adjust the firmness) & are just OK. The hotel hall ways do need renovating.

Internet was free & connection speed was average.

The underground parking is nice in the winter but it does need cleaning (kinda dusty). There is also some parking around the hotel.

Nice small lounge (bar) in the building. Sunday brunch is expensive in the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Superbuyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (828)
There are newer reviews for Radisson Edmonton South
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

795 - 801 of 829 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2009

We were a bit skeptical about this hotel. The staff bungled our first reservation - they had us in a smoking room- which triggered another warning bell - but we were able to re-book to another room. We were assured that the smoking rooms were all in one wing and the smell of smoke did not go through out the hotel. We were very skeptical. We noticed that the walls were a bit grimy and the hall carpet was in desperate need of a wash. We were getting more and more uncomfortable. Then the "sea of young, uniformed, somewhat drunk, women emerged from the Pub and our skepticism moved to outright alarm. We immediately asked one of the staff if the rooms were soundproof and they assured us they were - what else could they say. We went about our business and went to our room. Opened the door and no bad smells greeted us, no rush of fetid food aromas, etc. Good sign. The room was large with a king size bed and a pull out full size couch. Bathroom was smallish and basic. Could use an update but it certainly fulfills the basic requirements for a bathroom. The balcony was okay - small and overlooked the car park but in the summer it would be a boon, for sure. The bed was a "sleep number" bed. Very cool. And very comfortable - at least to sit on and lay on for a short time. So far, so good, except for the hall carpets and walls and the hordes of young, rowdy women. My husband was hungry so we called room service - good menu- good selection and surprisingly - good prices. Two large sandwiches with fries and gravy all for about $30.00. That includes the delivery fee and a 16% tip. The wine prices were all in line as well. Maybe even a bit less expensive. We went out to our concert and when we returned (about midnight) the hotel was awash with loud, squealing young women, all part of the National Roller Derby Association!!!! I did not think it was going to be a good night!! Went to our room - tired and went to bed immediately. Next time I opened my eyes it was morning. No noise. No awakenings. The rooms are incredibly soundproofed!!! Great comfortable bed. My sleep number is 45 and my partner liked the 75. A great bed. And 2 complementary breakfast coupons!!!! Wonderful breakfast- great service!!! And all of this for under $200.00 per night!!!! We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MacSally J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2009

This is one of the higher end hotels, and while the rooms are a decent size, clean and comfortable, the internet is about on par with a budget motel. In fact, the first room I was in it didn't work at all. This was proven only after I wasted 40 minutes of my time with tech support "because it might be my computer". The room I was then given had one of the slowest connections I've seen yet. 90kps is barely above dialup, yet these people get away with advertising high speed internet. Instead of equipping each bed with 5 pillows of varying sizes, it would be nice if they would focus on useful internet service. My advice to travellers is to try your hotels' connection as soon as you get in the room. If you wait, they may not have another room to switch you to later. this goes for all hotels, not just this one either.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank calgaryal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2009

Myself and my partner stayed here for one week mid February, we booked through Expedia. We paid around £350 for the week which we found to be a good deal.

Location and Facilities:

The hotel is located on the Gateway Boulevard area of Edmonton which is just down the road from the Old Strathcona district and Whyte Avenue, it is also close to the South Edmonton Common shopping area which is home to many restaurants, well known shops, grocery stores and of course Ikea.
The hotel has a number of facilities including an indoor swimming pool, fitness area, access to a computer with Internet access and printer, a same day dry cleaning/laundry service, 24 hour room service, gift shop, a free airport shuttle, flight information screen in the lobby, ice and drink machines on each floor, a complimentary newspaper service for guests.

There are two options for dining in the hotel;

The Atrium Cafe which is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner and apparently they do a very good Sunday brunch. It is situated in the atrium area by the water feature. The menu looks very good with something to suit most tastes.

There is also the Lion's Head Pub which is an English style pub complete with darts and hockey games being shown, we ate here the first night of our stay, the menu included standard fare such as sandwiches, burgers, pizza, wings and chicken. We opted for the chicken tenders dinner and club sandwich which were both very good simple foods. It seemed like a popular spot and we both enjoyed the atmosphere.

There are also quite a few restaurants nearby the hotel including a greek restaurant just next door, Humpty's for breakfast and lunch across the road and ABC Country which is very good. A bit further down is Montana’s Cookhouse, Kelsey’s and Chili’s, etc.

There is complimentary parking available for guests, both heated underground or outside. We found the underground parking very useful in the cold and snowy weather.

The Staff

The staff of the hotel were very pleasant and helpful, check- in and check- out were speedy and without problems. One of the receptionists was even able to assist my partner when he needed some documents photocopied and the housekeeping staff were pleasant, often greeting us in the corridors and providing us with anything we required.

The Room

We opted for the non-smoking two Queen room, we were allocated a room with a front facing balcony which looked onto Gateway Boulevard. The room itself was well equipped, large and very clean. There was a mirrored sliding built in wardrobe, tea and coffee making facilities, a work desk, cable television with a movie service, clock radio, two telephones with voice mail service, climate control, free local calls, iron and ironing board, sleep number beds as well as high speed wired and wireless internet both of which were complimentary.

The rooms were always warm regardless of how cold it was outside, the temperature control was useful if it ever did get a little chilly and heated the room up within minutes. Another good point was the lack of road noise from the room considering the busy stretch of road outside.

The bathroom was well stocked with toiletries, plenty of towels and a hairdryer and was very clean and the water was always hot.

The bad bits

We had a few issues with the phones which prevented us from calling out a few times, it however was sorted straight away when we contacted reception.

There was some noise in the room which I wasn’t sure was, my guesses were that we were near the aircon/heating duct or something. It wasn’t a huge annoyance though.

We would have loved a refrigerator in our room also.

The hotel is lovely and very comfortable although a little dated so don’t expect super modern facilities.

Overall

We would definitely stay here again, I got quite attached to the place as it is a very relaxed atmosphere and a great location, the rooms are very cozy , the atrium area is lovely and the pub a bonus for some socialisation.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirstine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2009

We stayed one night at the Radisson on a recent trip to Edmonton. We got an amazing deal on the Internet for this hotel, and after reading the reviews I was a little worried. Well when we got to our room we were very surprised at how clean and modern it was! The room was exactly as pictured on the website and larger than a standard hotel room! The Bed was a sleep number with white sheets and duvet and not the crappy starchy sheets with itchy blankets that you usually get at hotels. The room was so modern with new furniture and really nice black and white pictures of Edmonton hung all over the room. The hotel had a pool and a great exercise room with an indoor track. It even had free underground heated parking. We had breakfast at the cafe in the morning and it was really good. The service was great and the food tasted wonderful and did not cost a lot either. The only thing that I wish the room had was a mini fridge. Everything was perfect, we will be staying again.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tdeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2009

We loved our room and the hotel staff were great. Our only complaint was that when we booked it included a continental breakfast and when we went to use the coupons they gave us were told only good for $4.95 towards the continental breakfast.
We also stayed for the sunday brunch and there are no prices listed anywhere and we were very shocked when we got the bill and it was almost $30. a person. Other than that it was a lovely experience.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank brandy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2008

As most reviewers have noticed, the hotel is in need of some cosmetic updates. The rooms are comfortable , and reasonably large. The pub in the hotel is active and a nice place to hang out if you are on business. The health club, while also in need of an update, is large for a hotel and well-equipped.

On the down side the internet connection does not qualify as high speed, in fact it is extremely slow at virtually all hours of the day. Its an important piece of the puzzle for business travellers, and sorely lacking here.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ganieda845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Calgary Trail North
Delta Hotels by Marriott Edmonton South Conference Centre
Calgary Trail South
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Edmonton South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Place LaRue
Hampton Inn and Suites by Hilton Edmonton/West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Edmonton South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Edmonton South

Address: 4440 Gateway Blvd NW, Edmonton, Alberta T6H 5C2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton > Calgary Trail North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Edmonton
#16 Business Hotel in Edmonton
#17 Romantic Hotel in Edmonton
#19 Family Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range: £66 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Radisson Edmonton South 3*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Hotel Edmonton South offers 235 spacious hotel rooms and suites with such amenities as 42" HD flat-screen TVs, mini fridges, complimentary underground parking, high-speed, Wi-Fi access and free local calls.We offer a wide variety of hotel meeting rooms and event space at the Radisson Edmonton South, which includes 15 function rooms with a mix of small and large meeting rooms and ballrooms. The Radisson Hotel Edmonton South's knowledgeable, professional sales and catering team is dedicated to making your event successful and memorable.The Radisson Edmonton South offers guests delicious dining choices at our on-site hotel restaurant. Enjoy breakfast, lunch or dinner at the Atrium Cafe in the heart of our courtyard-style hotel. For a casual drink, the British-style Lions Head Pub is the perfect place to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Radisson Edmonton South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Edmonton South Hotel Edmonton
Edmonton Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing