We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok Stay with several downfalls”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Inn West Edmonton
Ranked #42 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Fort St. John, Canada
Level Contributor
255 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Ok Stay with several downfalls”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights just before christmas. We got an end room and I assumed it had more space than some of the rooms along the hallway. First let me start off by saying we didn't pay a 5 star price. We paid for a 2.5 star hotel. I didn't expect it would be the Westin or Fairmont Hotel.
The rooms are somewhat outdated and could use a facelift. The biggest downfall of the rooms were the beds. They were not comfortable what so ever. I don't expect for the beds to feel like they were at home but I do expect for them to be comfortable which they were not. I didn't sleep well either nights.
The hotel is located in a great location. Its around 2km's away from the west edmonton mall and took us 4 minutes either way to the West edmonton Mall.
There is an onsite restaurant which was a nice bonus for the hotel. We ate there a few times, it was good.

The stay was ok for the simple fact that I didn't sleep well because the beds were not what I would have expected. The rooms were clean. Its unlikely we would stay here again I'd rather spend the money to have a more comfortable bed. However, this hotel would have excellent value for a family or a couple on a strict budget. So I would recommend it to others based on the price and location.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mexicanturbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerWHE, General Manager at Quality Inn West Edmonton, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Thank you for your review we appreciate that you took the time. We have replaced all of our beds but we have found because of guests like yourself that a few of these new beds are failing and we are taking measures to have them replaced under their warranty.

Please let the front desk agents know wherever you stay if there is a problem in your room. We are always happy to move our guests, if possible to another room with a possible upgrade. We don't want anyone to have a bad sleep or stay.

We hope you will stay with again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    76
    47
    7
    16
See reviews for
76
36
19
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wainwright
Level Contributor
85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Went to this hotel for a stay. It has friendly staff and a good location to the mall. Price is good and rooms nice and clean. Can be a bit noisy. check-in was good and had my reservation up to date. Ate at the restaurant 3 times. Prices were good but food average at best. One real problem If they have a larger function in restaurant don't go. Had to wait a whole hour for food even though we were told it would be fine to come. Then food came cold.

Room Tip: Stay away from elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerWHE, General Manager at Quality Inn West Edmonton, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Thank you for your review! No one likes to have a room by the elevator, exterior or vending/ice machines but sometimes due to occupancy it happens. If you get to room and don't like the location go back to the front desk and see if they have other options for you. We are happy to do what we can to make sure you are happy.

We are a full service hotel with 5 meeting rooms that may have food service at the same time as the restaurant is busy. It happens! If you see that any restaurant you are eating at is busy when you arrive ask how long food service will be especially if you are in a hurry. If their restaurant is like ours we cook your food to order once it is ordered and nothing is pre-cooked sitting under heat lamps hoping someone will order it. I am so sorry to hear that your food was cold that's not what we want to hear from our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chilliwack, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I have stayed here regularly for 3 years. I've spent, say, 30 days in the last 4 months? The staff are always courteous and efficient. I stay in the business wing and never have been disturbed. The rooms are clean and the resteraunt adjacent has great food.
But I will pass on a tip. Before you decant your coffee, check the mugs any hotel has provided. At this hotel the mugs are black and you can easily see they have not been cleaned. So wash them before you use them.
They have upgraded the business centre, but use computer 2 if you need to download and print files.
This hotel does a good job of cleaning the copious amount of snow in the parking lot. And their access point to Edmonton is perfect.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suretest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerWHE, General Manager at Quality Inn West Edmonton, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you for the great review but also the great tips for other travellers. Our cups are not cleaned in the room they go to a commercial dishwasher where they are properly washed. So much snow and our snow removal company does work hard to get here as soon possible but like Santa we are not the only ones on the list.
Wishing you and yours a very Merry Christmas and Happy, Safe New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinton
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

The location was great. The room was clean and comfortable. I have booked to stay again. Very close to west Ed mall and very easy to find even if your not familiar with the city.
In room fridge, blow dryer and coffee machine. The front of the house staff was friendly and helpful. The staff at the Resteraunt were very sweet.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Darlene U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerWHE, General Manager at Quality Inn West Edmonton, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you for your kind review we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to serving you again!

Merry Christmas & a Happy and Safe New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Stayed at this hotel all by myself, on business. I had a giant room with King bed. Wow is almost the only word that comes to my mind. Nice room with coffe machine, microwave, fridge. Staff was very nice for check-in/out
A bit tricky to have access, but I will definately go again.

Room Tip: There is no breakfast included. But there's a restaurant attached to the hotel (you have to pay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvain F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerWHE, General Manager at Quality Inn West Edmonton, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you for the great review the word that comes to mind is "Wow"! We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with and we hope to see you again soon. Merry Christmas & a Happy, Safe New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLAVE LAKE
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We stayed at this hotel during a very busy weekend - Canadian Finals Rodeo. The hotel was full. I was expecting a restless night but it was quiet. Beds and pillows were soft and comfy - especially after a full day of shopping. We had problems getting wireless to work but we were so tired we did not worry about wireless. We ate at the joining restaurant. It was very busy here and the ladies seem to run around and have no interaction with the customers. We were pleased with the service at the hotel and would stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed on first floor away from elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newfiegirl42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerWHE, General Manager at Quality Inn West Edmonton, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
So glad to hear that even though the hotel was sold out you had a good nights sleep in a comfy bed!

The wifi during busy times gets like a highway if it gets too busy everything comes to a stop until some cars or in this case devices get offline. Everyone has a smart phone, ipad, ipod and/or laptop so there can be up to 8 devices or more in one room pulling broadband. Busiest times for wifi is 4pm to 10pm so as a travelling tip try going online prior to or after the busy period. Unlike home you can be completing with hundreds of others for wifi. If you are trying to stream or download torrents, blueray movies, movies, games you will not have enough wifi broadband. If you have bars you have wifi enough to Facebook, check your emails or surf the net.

We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athabasca
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

This hotel is a very nice middle of the road accommodation for a night in the city. Check in was quick and efficient and the room was clean, quiet and comfortable. The food and service at Grainfield's restaurant for breakfast was delicious and fast. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: None to add.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerWHE, General Manager at Quality Inn West Edmonton, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you for the kind review! My staff work very hard to ensure that you have a great stay. Are we perfect- "No" but we strive to be and your review proves that.

We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Place LaRue
Comfort Inn Edmonton West
Comfort Inn Edmonton West
#60 of 93 in Edmonton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Ramada Edmonton West
#57 of 93 in Edmonton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Place LaRue
Best Western Plus Westwood Inn
Place LaRue
Executive Royal Hotel Edmonton
Place LaRue
Holiday Inn Express & Suites West Edmonton-Mall Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn West Edmonton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn West Edmonton

Property: Quality Inn West Edmonton
Address: 17803 Stony Plain Rd NW, Edmonton, Alberta T5S 1B4, Canada (Formerly Quality Inn West Harvest)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton > Place LaRue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn West Edmonton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 100% non-smoking, 3.5 Star fully renovated, full service hotel is located 2 minutes from West Edmonton Mall with easy access to downtown, airport and all major highways. Coin-op laundry, fitness & business centre for guest convenience as well as free parking & local calls. This is one of the only full service hotels in the area and we offer discounted West Edmonton Mall Choice Passes to our guests. Designated Pet rooms are available for an extra cost per pet/per room. Recipient of the "Housekeeping Award of Excellence" for 2010 & 2011 make this an excellent choice when selecting hotels in west Edmonton, Alberta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn West Edmonton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn West Harvest Hotel Edmonton
Quality Inn Edmonton
West Harvest Quality Inn
West Harvest Inn Edmonton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing