We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Unexpected Delight!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Inn West Edmonton
Ranked #43 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“An Unexpected Delight!”
Reviewed 15 February 2010

We recently had to travel to Edmonton for a funeral, and were surprised to find that many nearby hotels were sold out. With some reluctance, I booked two adjoining rooms at the Quality Inn West Harvest. Upon arrival, however, we were surprised and delighted to find that this hotel is a quiet gem in West Edmonton: only a short drive from the Mall, surrounded by restaurants and amenities, and easy to get to.

The staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms updated with new linens and other upgrades, the granite countertops in the bathrooms were immaculately clean. Indeed, I had to move the small sofa in our room and was surprised to find that the floor beneath it was just as clean as the rest of the room.

No, it's not the Ritz. If you're looking for a high-end boutique hotel then look somewhere else. But if you're looking for a clean, well-maintained, recently updated hotel in a good location for a good price with friendly and helpful staff, the Quality Inn West Harvest is the place to go.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigdeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerWHE, General Manager at Quality Inn West Edmonton, responded to this review, 27 May 2010
The Quality Inn West Harvest was the recipient of the Alberta Hotel and Lodging Association's 2010 Award for Excellence. This award is given after being inspected for cleanliness and maintenance. We received this award in 2008 as well and hope to receive it again this year. Our housekeeping and maintenance staff take pride in what they do and know that our guests expect a clean room and well maintained room.

We are delighted that our guest was pleasantly surprised and we will endeavor to continue to offer "our best" service each and every time they return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    80
    49
    7
    16
See reviews for
80
38
19
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Airdrie, AB
1 review
Reviewed 10 February 2010

We (myself, husband and 14 month old daughter) spent the day at West Edmonton Mall, ended up staying later than expected and decided not to drive home. We had a verbal booking across the street at another hotel but upon arriving did not like the look of the hotel. The Quality Inn looked inviting and upon running in to check rates was very affordable for a last minute place to stay.
The front desk staff were absolutely fabulous from the get go. They were able to locate a room for us where we could get a sleeping child in from the car without fuss and were even able to sell me a few bottles of milk (which we had run out of being at the mall all day). This definately was a great serviced hotel.
I don't think I have ever stayed in a hotel so clean, my husband (ex brittish army) were amazed that the hotel itself smelt like a hospital upon entry.
Reaction time from the front desk staff was nice in the event of an emergency - Our daughter was playing with the phone while we were packing up - and left it off the hook for a couple minutes. The front desk were quick to call the room to make sure everything was ok.
The rooms were simple but I did enjoy the bed spreads, they did not choose typicalpink and green tapestry bedspreads but opted for a more modern black microfiber spread that was very warm! The bathroom had a nice large shower with granite countertops and was reoomy enough for all of us!
We will DEFINATELY stay in this hotel for our upcoming trips to the mall and other edmonton attractions 5+ star rating from our family.
Thank you staff at Quality Inn West Harvest - you made travelling with a child very pleasing.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MstyMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerWHE, General Manager at Quality Inn West Edmonton, responded to this review, 27 May 2010
The staff and management of the Quality Inn West Harvest work very hard to make sure that all our guests leave here happy. We do everything we can within our power to make their stay as comfortable, convenient and happy as possible.

The last 3 years have seen extensive renovations to all of our 159 guest rooms, meeting rooms, and public facilities. We understand that our guest works hard for their money and wants a clean comfortable room. We also appreciate the fact that our guest chooses to spend their hard earned money by staying at our hotel. It is our pleasure to have you as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2009

Good place to stay, close to everything (eg West Ed Mall!!) rooms are basic but clean and comfortable. Good shuttle bus to airport service. Staff were very helpful, took a week break to mexico while travelling in canada and they held our luggage for us for the week! Fantastic! Nice little bar downstairs

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerWHE, General Manager at Quality Inn West Edmonton, responded to this review, 27 May 2010
The staff and management of the Quality Inn West Harvest know that the most important things to our guests is a good sleep and a clean room. All of our beds have been replaced in the last year with great new mattresses and boxsprings and the concrete construction of the hotel makes it more soundproof so you are less likely to be wakened.

Our restaurant specializes in "good food". Our soups are made fresh daily and are always good and hearty. Our staff take their jobs very seriously and do their best to make sure our guests are well looked after.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lloydminster
1 review
Reviewed 29 January 2009

i was an out of town surgery patient so i chose to stay at this hotel for the location and it was the most cost effective hotel in the area. at this hotel i was able to sleep without any noise distractions, my wake-up call was precise and the staff were extremly curtious and polite. I dined at the resturaunt and the food was fantastic, and the service the same. i would definetly stay at this hotel again and would and have recommended it to others.

  • Stayed January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bublegmps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
1 review
Reviewed 23 January 2009

We were very impressed with the size and cleanliness of the rooms. It looks like they have done some renovations recently, and are in the progress of doing even more. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Great location and easy to get to.

  • Liked — Clean rooms
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RandGCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerWHE, General Manager at Quality Inn West Edmonton, responded to this review, 27 January 2009
We really appreciate when our guests take time to write a review whether it is good or bad it helps us to determine where we are doing a good job and where we are failing.

As this guest has written there have been many changes, some in progress and more to come. We are listening to what you have to say and we look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
1 review
Reviewed 13 October 2008

I booked a room and stayed with my wife and kid.in the morning woke up to find my new SUV window shattered and door jimmied.I reported it to the staff and I was rudely strayed away by being told that it's fairly common there.I am never staying there and would discourage everybody as it has got safety issues plus the staff is rude and uncooperative.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — jacking of my suv
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank VictoriaLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerWHE, General Manager at Quality Inn West Edmonton, responded to this review, 5 December 2008
Staff and Management are always concerned and disappointed when one of our guests becomes a victim of theft or vandalism. Unfortuntely, you have no recourse but to make a police report and sumbit that to your insurance company, the hotel is not responsible or liable for theft or vandalism. This is a standard hotel policy everywhere. We can help you find the closest police substation and clean the glass out of your vehicle but we are not responsible for the incident. Sometimes this is misconstrued as not caring. Most of us have experienced this so we know how the guest feels. Please remember it wasn't the Front Desk person who did the crime and should not be the one to take your frustation out on.

The West Harvest Inn and surrounding hotels work with the City Police department to try to minimize these events. The City Police have provided us with signs for all our doors it is the "Stay Safe" program in an effort to educate our guests. Most of our doors have two signs, there are signs at the front desk and our staff attempt to tell every guest not to leave anything in their vehicle. Covering over your packages with a blanket does not work. These people are professionals at what they do.

The only time we have break in's to a vehicle is when a guest leaves something of value. That can be anything from change in the ashtray to a warm coat. These are valuable to a homeless person.

I feel for these people as I have experienced my vehicle being broken into several times at my home, on my driveway. I live outside Edmonton. This is a big problem everywhere. Stay Safe and remove everything from your vehicle and put it in your trunk or take it to your room but keep it out of sight.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manitoba
1 review
Reviewed 8 September 2008

We stayed at the the West Harvest in During August long weekend for 5 nights. The hotel is just plain. They were renovating while we were staying there which scared me that we would hear the construction and renovating going on.....but.....we never heard a thing. The rooms are really well sound proof. We really liked the desk area and the comfortable office chair. The beds weren't the most comfortable and the bedding was a weird sued blanket that made me wonder how they washed the bedding. It also seemed that everyone in the hotel seemed to be having problems with the card for the doors. But I have also experienced this at other hotels. The staff weren't rude....but they didn't go out of their way to make you feel at home either.

All in all....the price was nice.....the rooms seemed fairly clean......and I would stay here again.

  • Liked — Very Very close to the West Edmonton Mall and in a nice part of the city.
  • Disliked — Could be a little more friendly and lightened up a bit more.....pretty dark.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank check-in-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerWHE, General Manager at Quality Inn West Edmonton, responded to this review, 5 December 2008
The West Harvest Inn is in transition as this guest said or under renovation. Because we are a concrete building we are quiet. All the rooms have been painted and repaired ceiling to floor, new lamps, pictures, vanity lamps, baseboards, beds, coverlets, skirts, drapes, porcelaine floor is being place in bathrooms, granite countertops are arriving next week, and the list goes on. We are becoming a new hotel.

The suede blanket described by this guest is our new coverlet and it is made of micro-suede. The reason we chose this fabric is it can be washed more often without fading, it wears like iron. We have had many requests by guests to buy these. I can assure you these blankets are washed regularly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Place LaRue
Comfort Inn Edmonton West
Comfort Inn Edmonton West
#50 of 93 in Edmonton
212 reviews
Place LaRue
Executive Royal Hotel Edmonton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Place LaRue
Wingate by Wyndham Edmonton West
Ramada Edmonton West
#52 of 93 in Edmonton
244 reviews
Place LaRue
Best Western Plus Westwood Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn West Edmonton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn West Edmonton

Property: Quality Inn West Edmonton
Address: 17803 Stony Plain Rd NW, Edmonton, Alberta T5S 1B4, Canada (Formerly Quality Inn West Harvest)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton > Place LaRue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn West Edmonton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 100% non-smoking, 3.5 Star fully renovated, full service hotel is located 2 minutes from West Edmonton Mall with easy access to downtown, airport and all major highways. Coin-op laundry, fitness & business centre for guest convenience as well as free parking & local calls. This is one of the only full service hotels in the area and we offer discounted West Edmonton Mall Choice Passes to our guests. Designated Pet rooms are available for an extra cost per pet/per room. Recipient of the "Housekeeping Award of Excellence" for 2010 & 2011 make this an excellent choice when selecting hotels in west Edmonton, Alberta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Quality Inn West Edmonton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn West Harvest Hotel Edmonton
Quality Inn Edmonton
West Harvest Quality Inn
West Harvest Inn Edmonton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing