We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing for a Westin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Westin Edmonton
Ranked #22 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
GreenLeadersBronze level
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
256 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 371 helpful votes
“Disappointing for a Westin”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

As a Starwood Preferred Guest Member I use Westin hotels when I travel and it's usually a good experience. The Westin Edmonton was just OK. The building is getting old and run down, the rooms need updating and the restaurant was just OK. I like to swim after a long day but the pool was ribboned off as out of service, so that was very disappointing.

The staff was good, the rooms were clean, but nothing about the experience was worth the premium you pay for staying at a Westin. Not bad, but average is not good enough.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrWayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nella m, Guest Experience Manager at The Westin Edmonton, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear BRWayne, i am so sorry to hear about your recent experience with us and that you were not able to maintain your routine of wellbeing and not being able to go for a leisurely swim. I am sorry that we did not make you aware of our regular maintenance of the pool area. These are required scheduled maintances, and we do try to complete them during our slower times. I would like to connect with you and discuss further with you at westinedmonton.01079@westin.com..i look forward to hearing from you...stay well...nella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    396
    233
    126
    60
See reviews for
173
223
88
593
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Even though we live in Edmonton, I booked a room at The Westin, as a treat to celebrate my son's special milestone. We had an afternoon graduation, with a formal dinner in the evening, and with both events at the conference centre, staying downtown was simpler than driving back and forth to the events. From the first phone call to book a room, the royal treatment never stopped. Guest Service Agent Brynn arranged for an early check-in to accommodate our schedule and there must have been a note on our reservation file about our special event because everyone knew and congratulated my son on his achievement. The room was upgraded at no charge, a congrats card along with a bottle of champagne and strawberries dipped in chocolate was put in the room. The room was clean, bright and comfortable, staff were all friendly, but most importantly Brynn and the staff at The Westin treated us like royalty - adding a very special element to our already special day. This customer service was exemplary, and I would not hesitate to choose The Westin again. Thanks to all of you, especially, Brynn, for going the extra mile all the way!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LocalTraveller2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lloydminster, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I booked a room for a work function Jan 19 - 22 back in early December. Called ahead to the front desk to advise them I would now arrive on the 20th. The guy on the phone assured me he would change it and email me the confirmation. When I arrived Monday to check in my reservation was cancelled because I did not arrive on Sunday and they were going to charge me for it. I discussed with the desk manager but all he could say was we have no rooms available. I told him that I did phone ahead and make the change but they had no record. His interest in trying to correct the issue didn't seem too important to him. I asked him to investigate it and call me but that never happened.
I travel and stay in hotels in numerous cities and for the price I paid at the Westin and poor response to correct their mistake I am not impressed. For a downtown Edmonton hotel I expected better.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dean k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nella m, Guest Experience Manager at The Westin Edmonton, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear deanK, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am sorry to hear that your request to change arrival date was not completed. I would welcome the opportuntiy to discuss with you further at westinedmonton.01079@westin.com...for a better you...nella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Edmonton hotels

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for business in November 2013. I enjoyed my time here. The rooms were clean and had robes and slippers. Beds were comfy, the heater worked great, and the WIFI was fast.

Very clean and comfortable. Glad I stayed here!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Collin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joumana G, General Manager at The Westin Edmonton, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear Collin K,

Thank you for posting your comments. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit.

For a better you,
Joumana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed here from January 6-9 for a conference. Check-in was smooth, and we were happy our room was ready when we checked in around noon.

We were given a SPG floor (18), but I wasn't aware of any perks of this.

You had to insert your card to access any guest room floor from the elevator, which was a nice safety feature (especially because there are lots of homeless/beggars in front of the hotel), but a gigantic pain in the butt when staying on the 18th floor. Get in a crowded elevator, and I have to make my way over to one side just to insert my card to get to the floor. Elevators were very slow, and on the first night we were there the first elevator got stuck on the 7th floor more than once. We stopped at the front desk to let them know, and for our inconvenience they removed our bar tab from the bill. Which is the service I expect from the Westin - though, that courtesy was not expected (I hope that makes sense).

Our room was nice, but we were given two double beds instead of one king (as reserved), but did not want to drag all of our luggage to another room, so just kept this one. The first thing I noticed was how filthy the windows were. Hand prints galore - and sticky hand prints none the less. The room itself was clean. The beds, and bathroom were clean, but all those places that aren't in your direct view - very dirty. The back of the door, again, very dirty. Looked like someone had sneezed on the back of it. Several times.

We didn't get our room cleaned the first night (there's a $5 incentive included in that), but the second day we did...except the garbage wasn't removed from the room (empty pop bottle and a few water bottles). If it wasn't in the trash can, it wasn't removed. Maybe that's a policy? I'm not too sure, but had never experienced that before.

I was not impressed with any of the food at the conference, nor room service.

The service here was exceptional though. But as for the rest of the hotel - for over $200/nt I'm really not sure I'd be back. I also did not feel safe outside of the hotel by myself (even on hotel property). The first day we were there, a gentleman (who definitely didn't appear to be a hotel guest) was sleeping in the lobby in a chair (facing the escalator), and 7 hours later, he was still there. A bit concerning, but I guess he was harmless. Maybe it was bad while we were there because the Pittsburgh Penguins were in town, staying at this hotel. But even a few blocks from the hotel we were approached by beggars - so I'm guessing a larger part of it has to do with the area.

The other thing I was not impressed with was no free wifi. If a Motel 6 can offer free wifi, why can't the Westin...? Wasn't very friendly for business folk. Which I imagine they get a fair amount of.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandandfreckles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lloydminster, Canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I stayed at the Westin because of a conference. The hotel is very clean and the front desk check in was the best I have ever seen! Super friendly, well prepared and happy to upgrade me to a King Room. The room was really nice, great bed and linens and an amazing view!

The downside. Parking is very expensive! WOW! I found the food to be really awful and the service in the restaurant very slow. I was surprised for a hotel that charges 200 plus a night that the food was not better!

Room Tip: Ask for a king room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RodeoFoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joumana G, General Manager at The Westin Edmonton, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear RodeoFoto,

I am pleased to hear that you had a good experience with your checkin and that the room was to your liking. It disappoints me to hear that your experience was marred by the quality and service in our restaurant. Our team takes pride in delivering exception service so I will work with my team to ensure we elevate our game.

Should you wish to discuss your experience further to help us understand how we disappointed you, email me at WestinEdmonton.01079@westin.com.

Be Well,
Joumana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Unity, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

This is a very nice hotel in the heart of downtown. The rooms are spacious and clean. The staff bent over backwards to make sure my family's stay was exceptional. My only grumble, was the cost of parking was a little steep at $20 for self and $26 for valet.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CBSandiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel
#13 of 93 in Edmonton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
Union Bank Inn
#25 of 93 in Edmonton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Matrix Hotel
#10 of 93 in Edmonton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,430 reviews
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Edmonton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Edmonton

Property: The Westin Edmonton
Address: 10135 100 St NW, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 0N7, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Edmonton
#10 Green Hotel in Edmonton
#28 Business Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Edmonton 4*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of downtown, a few steps away from the beautiful North Saskatchewan River Valley Park system. We are within a 10 minute walking distance of the Shaw Conference Center, Roger's Place Arena, and the City Centre Mall. Staying at The Westin Edmonton means you are moments from the best shopping, dining, arts and entertainment Edmonton has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Edmonton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Edmonton Hotel Edmonton
Westin Edmonton
Edmonton Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing