We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service but mediocre food. ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Conference Ctr Edmonton South
Ranked #62 of 91 Hotels in Edmonton
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We used points to book this room for one night. Even though we used points we were still treated as paying guests. Our movie rental system wasn't working and management was great about being in contact with us to fix it promptly.

Room service was prompt in the evening but the pre ordered breakfast was late and was also prepared wrong. We didn't have time to get it made right. The food was drastically overpriced for what we got and our scrambled eggs tasted like powdered eggs.

The room was very clean and the bed and sheets were comfortable. We were on the 5 floor with a window facing a shipping yard.

The hotel us directly beside train tracks but the trains at night were not overly disrupting and didn't really effect our rest. If you are a light sleeper request a room as far away from the train tracks as possible.

There is ample parking if you are hauling a trailer for business and the hotel is in a great location and very easy to find!

We would stay there again but go out for breakfast.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank bmercant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessie M, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Conference Ctr Edmonton South, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback. It is guest comments like yours that help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. Your comments will assist in our ongoing training that we conduct with our staff to ensure that we meet and exceed our guest expectations.
Thank you for staying with us and hope to see you soon.
JessieM
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

We were only overnight here, but it had what we needed. The location was excellent, just off Gateway Blvd and Whitemud. Everything we needed...restaurants, grocery stores, a mall...were within a few minutes drive. It was easy to find, and lots of parking available.

We got a fantastic rate via Priceline's express rates. Even though we were Priceline customers, they still were able to fulfill our requests for a sofa bed and a room at the front of the hotel. The front desk staff was very polite and helpful, and checkin was quick and easy. We used the pool and hot tub, which was great after a long days drive. We didn't use either of the restaurants, as we had other plans, but it was nice that they were right there.

The bed was very comfortable, with two pillows each, and our son slept well on the sofa bed. I loved the air conditioning, as I like it cold, but ended up having to shut if off because I couldn't seem to turn it down to suit the others in the room. The room, and the hotel itself was clean and comfortable. All in all, a very decent hotel at a very decent price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the front if possible to avoid the train tracks out back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Princess_Lu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessie M, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Conference Ctr Edmonton South, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Glad to hear our location worked for you and the family and that you had a comfortable stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Awesome location on the south side. Minutes from south common shopping, all major roads and freeways. 20 minutes to the airport. 20 minutes to west Edmonton mall. Clean hotel and free breakfast. There isn't a pool but lots of room in the breakfast area. Huge parking lot in the back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark_Ref
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessie M, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Conference Ctr Edmonton South, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for your review.

We are a full service hotel and have a pool.

JessieM
Guest Relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed here for a week. The room itself was fine, the hotel restaurants good. The main issue was the elevators. Only access to rooms was via elevator, made it a big pain to wait. Had two dogs as well, so using elevator was a big inconvenience. Especially if the hotel was full with lots of people using elevators.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessie M, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Conference Ctr Edmonton South, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

We appreciate your feedback.

JessieM
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I've stayed at this location now three times. It's a typical Holiday Inn as far as the hotel goes, which is not a bad thing. However, you need to know that there is a train route directly being the hotel that can be noisy. Ask for a west facing room to avoid this issue.

It offers two advantages that most holiday inns don't have.

I. An ABC family restaurant. Not spectacular or memorable food but better than most for breakfasts....can't beat the convenience factor &
2. A not so typical Irish restaurant/pub. Great for drinks and dinner and again...can't beat the convenience factor.

The restaurant/pub (Fionn MacCools) is worth checking out. The food tries to be authentic, the beer is authentic and the staff is friendly, knowledgeable and wickedly quick in ensuring you always have a full pint.....which is truly authentic.

The location is great for access to the airport and all major routes in the south end of the city. For cost, service and value this is a location worth checking out!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing west. This will get you highway noise, but it is preferable over the noise fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marathonguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessie M, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Conference Ctr Edmonton South, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. We appreciate the feedback.

JessieM
Guest Relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed here with a youth hockey team for a tournament and we were treated very well. They had a dedicated meeting room set aside just for the boys to play floor hockey and the staff was friendly, professional and very accommodating. The hotel was comfy, clean and quiet, even when the train went by, you did not notice it. (There are freight train tracks right behind the hotel). It was easy to find and had plenty of parking. The pool and hot tub were clean and the team enjoyed themselves immensely using it. There is a restaurant located on premise and it gets 0 Stars. They were understaffed and the staff that was there was UN-attentive, slow and RUDE! I ended up refilling out tables' coffee twice by getting the pot myself and instead of the staff taking corrective measures, they sneered at us. Breakfast took over an hour and food showed up cold! Now this could have been a one-off and I would let it slide but this happened TWO days in a row!! WORST RESTAURANT EVER! Conclusion: Hotel --> Very Good, Restaurant --> Terrible

Room Tip: West side to avoid train noise. DO NOT USE RESTAURANT!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessie M, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Conference Ctr Edmonton South, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff and for letting us know about your restaurant experience. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. We work closely with the Restaurant which is independently owned and operated, so be rest assured that this will be used as a training opportunity for the Restaurant Staff.
JessieM
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Stayed here last week for business. Check-in was quick and the room was very clean and comfortable. The on-site restaurant served good breakfast with good service. I was at the front of the hotel and did feel the rumble of the trains twice while awake, but did not hear them. I imagine if you're at the back of the hotel it would be a problem for light sleepers. Overall I did not have any issues

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TLG444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessie M, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Conference Ctr Edmonton South, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

We appreciate your review. Glad to hear you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed the breakfast and good service.

Sincerely,
JessieM
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Calgary Trail South
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South
Calgary Trail North
Travelodge Edmonton South
Travelodge Edmonton South
#53 of 91 in Edmonton
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Calgary Trail North
Best Western Cedar Park Inn
Calgary Trail North
Delta Hotels by Marriott Edmonton South Conference Centre
Calgary Trail North
Radisson Edmonton South
Radisson Edmonton South
#24 of 91 in Edmonton
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Conference Ctr Edmonton South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Conference Ctr Edmonton South

Address: 4485 Gateway Blvd NW, Edmonton, Alberta T6H 5C3, Canada (Formerly Greenwood Inn Edmonton)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Edmonton
#31 Business Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range: £56 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Conference Ctr Edmonton South 3*
Number of rooms: 224
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Conference Ctr Edmonton South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenwood Inn Edmonton Hotel Edmonton
Greenwood Hotel Edmonton
Greenwood Inn Edmonton Edmonton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing