We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value and location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown
Ranked #36 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Delta, Canada
Level Contributor
170 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Good value and location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

I usually alternate between this property and the Crowne Plaza when business takes me to Edmonton. Overall I feel this is the better of the 2 if you can live without room service or an in-house restaurant.

The rooms are older but in good repair and larger than average. I usually end up in a suite which offers quite a bit of room and other amenities. The breakfast bar area is one of the best out of the many HI Express locations that I visit. Huge selection and a lot of seating area. Front desk staff are friendly and helpful. It is a short walk to the core of downtown but if it's really cold it does take a bit to get to the ped-way. It is very easy to get to if you rent a car from the airport.

The parking lot can get quite full and people will usually invent their own spaces which can make it difficult to get out even if you have a spot. I find that ambient noise from the hallways and outside can get excessive even if you are on a higher floor. The rooms could use a bit of updating. In particular, it is time to get ride of the picture-tube televisions (unless this has already been done by the time of this review).

Considering the price, location and quality of breakfast this is a great property for business and leisure travel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the building are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KentM, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Thank you for that wonderful review and I appreciate your feedback. All guest love our location for Corprate Medical and Government business.
In the near future we are going to have all of our TV's changed to new HD Flat Screen TV"s and will enhance most items in our guestrooms.
We love what our guests have to say about our Hot Breafast and our new Pancake Machine.
While we do have paid parking along side of our hotel, we do have options for overflow, so on your next visit, if parking is full please enquire at our front desk.
Diane Fehr
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    135
    50
    20
    16
See reviews for
59
54
25
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Banff, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express for an Oil game. We booked through Expedia. The rate was the same as what the Hotel was offering if you booked direct. I appreciated that.
They accommodated all our requests noted on our online booking. I appreciated that too.
The front desk tried to be helpful with restaurant suggestions, but we didn`t take any of their options. The most important part of any hotel stay for me, is comfort of the bed. I give this bed top ratings. It was also very clean and the staff were very polite and curtious.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindseyHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KentM, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review, I appreciate your comments and will pass them onto our team as it is important they see the results of their hard work.
I am pleased that we have accommodated all of your requests and whenever you book, please let us know anything that will make your stay more enjoyable.
We do have a number of restaurants within walking distance of the hotel and our freindly guest service agents are more than happy to share each location as well as their favorite places to dine.
We look forward to having you again.
Diane Fehr
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver BC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Feb. 10-12, 2012 when visiting our son who lives in a small apartment in Edmonton. I booked it because it had quite good reviews from Trip Advisor, and we were pleased with it. We booked the cheapest room for 2($113 Cdn)- it had 2 comfortable queen beds - with the thought of upgrading. When we arrived early, our room was not available so they 'upgraded' for free us to a room that had 2 queen beds and a microwave and small fridge tucked away in the entrance to the bathroom. I guess all rooms don't have the microwave and fridge. They were in an odd location, essentially just as you went through the door to the bathroom, they were there.
It was a good room, on the fourth floor, quite quiet and pleasant with a small balcony. If the hotel wasn't so busy (fully booked on the night we arrived) we might have looked into asking for a room on a higher floor with the view looking towards the river valley. There is no real view I don't think, as it is 3-4 blocks from the valley and is only 9 stories tall, but it might have been nice to see the distant hillside.
The breakfast was a nice treat, it is free so it is not fancy, just functional, so there was fruit salad, some eggs, bacon, some pancakes (in a new pancake maker machine) coffee, toast, tea, fruit, muffins, etc. The room is just used for breakfast, no restaurant in the hotel.
The staff was friendly, professional, and helpful. The pool was small, good for swimming lengths, or for kids to splash around, the hot tub was small, it said for 3 people, but I think 4- 5 might fit. The small exercise room seemed well used with treadmills and other equipment.
The location was good, driving distance to much in Edmonton. It is a downtown location, so I personally wouldn't want to walk around too much at night. We walked to the Chateau Lacombe for brunch on Sunday, a quick 5+ minute walk.
The parking lot is beside the hotel owned by Impark. You register your license plate number at the front desk, it was $10 a day. The lot does have lots of signs about not leaving anything in the car, so break ins could be a problem, we were fine but you never know.
The wireless internet was free and worked fine. There was a business centre with what looked like 3+ computers and printers, we did not use these.
All in all, we enjoyed our stay and would book this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rtcBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KentM, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Thank you for your very kind words about our property and staff, I appreciate your feedback and will share this with our team. I hope you had a great visit with your son and will be back soon as you probably miss him very much.
I am very pleased you did not have to wait for your room as our front desk staff had upgraded your room and you had a fantastic sleep.
We do post signs within our paid parking area requesting all of our guests not to leave anything valuable...even change ...as this does detour vehicle breakins. We want to distract any potential inconveniences during your stay.
We appreciate your comments and look forward to your next stay.
Diane Fehr
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawson Creek, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

The staff were very friendly and happily focused on providing excellent service. They were able to provide directions on a few of the places that we were trying to find and had great eating suggestions as well. We arrived prior to when our room was actually ready to check in; the lounge area was very nice to relax in while we were waiting for the rest of our family to arrive and the room to be ready. Our room was lovely and immaculately clean. (Our humble thanks to the housekeeping staff) We had a great view looking South over the city and it was fabulous that the window opened to enjoy the wonderful spring-like air. The included breakfast was just what we had hoped, especially with the fresh fruit and hot items including scrambled eggs, bacon and ham. The breakfast room staff were excellent. The hotel had parking which was easily accessible. The final and incredibly important aspect to our stay is that we experienced all of this while travelling with a small dog. It is wonderful that they provide a service where dogs are allowed to stay with you in the room. There is nothing about our stay which I would've changed and plan to stay at this great hotel again when we travel to Edmonton!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kariandave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KentM, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Thank you ever so much for your review, I will ensure to share this with our team. We strive to make every guest such as yourself to have the best possible stay and experience.
Some of our guestrooms have the best views of Edmonton and I am very pleased to hear about the cleanliness as we have a great hard working housekeeping team.
We definately look forward to serving you during your next stay in Edmonton.
Diane Fehr
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton Ontario
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

I always enjoy my stay at Holiday Inn downtown when I am in Edmonton once a year, but this year I enjoy my stay even more!!! I Love Holiday Inn new beds!!! I had a great sleep each and every night.
I look forward to returning next year!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kittycat1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KentM, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Thank you for your great comment, I appreciate your feedback and will ensure this is passed onto the staff who work very hard to give all our guests the best experience during thier stay.
We are very pleased you enjoyed your sleep and i hope you had time to have our full hot breakfast.
We look forward to serving you next year!
Diane Fehr
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

excellent service at Front Desk; very clean room; professional and VERY friendly staff; excellent meal support in Breakfast nook;

Room Tip: very quiet in all areas; good soundproofing from downtown traffic; offers support for "green&qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

Stayed here for 6 nights over Christmas. Having not already decided where to stay our pot luck choice turned out to be a good one, from check in to check out all the staff were very friendly, informative and helpful.
The rooms were well presented with everything required including free internet, the balcony had a nice city view and the large comfy bed was perfect.
This was my first visit to Edmonton and this hotel was in a good location for driving in and out of the city easily, plus it was no problem to walk to the malls, restaurants and bars downtown.
Breakfast wasn't anything too fancy, just good quality and plenty available with great staff on hand if needed.
All in all a very pleasant stay in a hotel i wouldn't of normally chosen but certainly will in future if they are all this good.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrewidle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KentM, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Thank you for your kind comment and I hope you and your family had a great Christmas. I will ensure your comment will be passed onto our team.
Our location, hot breakfast, free WiFi, clean and comfortable rooms make any long term guest happy with thier stay, I am pleased we have done this for you.
We hope we are still in your mind for your next vist to Edmonton no matter what the trip is for and we look forward to seeing you again.
Diane Fehr
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#49 of 93 in Edmonton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel
Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel
#13 of 93 in Edmonton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chateau Lacombe Hotel
Chateau Lacombe Hotel
#39 of 93 in Edmonton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Edmonton Downtown
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus City Centre Inn
0.2 mi away
Matrix Hotel
Matrix Hotel
#9 of 93 in Edmonton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown
Address: 10010 104 Street, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 0Z1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smoke Free Downtown Edmonton Hotel's Location is IdealThe Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown offers unparalleled service & amenities for your next visit to Edmonton, Alberta. Our hotel's staff will make your stay memorable.Guests of our renovated Edmonton hotel know our location, in the heart of downtown, means they can walk to the Alberta legislature, TELUS Field or the Citadel Theatre. There are so many things to do in Edmonton, from the 30 annual festivals, events at Rexall Place and the wonders of the West Edmonton Mall, that only a downtown Edmonton hotel's location will do.Corporate travelers know that a hotel's location in Edmonton can help them and our downtown location means easy access to the University of Alberta and the Shaw Conference Centre. We know what business travelers want when they travel, so we have free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access throughout the hotel. There's a 24-hour Business Centre and meeting rooms that can seat up to 200 people and we'll even handle your catering needs.Our guests know that the Holiday Inn Express Edmonton hotel's amenities add value to their stay. There's the free breakfast buffet each morning and easy access to the Free Press Bistro in the hotel. 90% of our rooms feature a balcony as well as a pillowtop mattress. You can relax in the indoor pool, whirlpool or the steam room after a workout in the Fitness Centre. Stay Smart at our Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown Hotel Edmonton
Edmonton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing