We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown
Ranked #43 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Reviewed 31 March 2012

This is a great hotel in a great Location. The rooms are very clean, updated and very quiet. I was here for 4 nights on business and for the first time in a long time slept well while.
From the minute I stepped foot into this location I was greeted at the door and immediately helped at the checking desk. The clerk was very helpful and kind.
I was invited to a PC members cocktail hour that was happening one evening during my stay but unfortunately could not make it.
Room was updated with large flat screen TV, new sofa, extremely comfortable bed and new carpets ( well they looked new )
Breakfast was up to Holiday Inn standards. Assortment of breads, pastries, fruit, pancakes, yogurt, scrambled eggs and either sausages or bacon.
The breakfast room was well staffed and always attentive to cleaning up.
Great pool / hot tub area and fitness centre for this hotel. My only complaint is that the Steam Room just is not as hot as expected and could use more steam.

Will definately stay here again!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fredandterry0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KentM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2012

Thank you for taking your time to write such a great review. I will ensure all departments share your kind words. We are so pleased you had our standard excellent customer service at our Front Desk and that you were invited to our Weekly Reception every Wednesday night as we would have appreciated meeting you.
We are very pleased you enjoyed your guestroom , breakfast and exercise room and we have reported your concern about the steam room temperature to our maintenance department.
We look forward to seeing you in the near future and we again thank you for your feedback as we consider all and any a gift from someone who cares.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (342)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 342 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2012

Helpful staff, nice hotel, comfortable room.

The 2nd day, the room keeper did not left me any towels. The front desk people got me towels right away.

Hot complimentary breakfast was OK.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dav2z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KentM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2012

Thank you for taking your time to write a great review about our hotel. We are very pleased you had a great experience with our staff, guestroom and breakfast. We are very pleased that your request for towels was met in a expedient manner from our Front Desk.
We look forward to seeing you in the near future during your next trip to Edmonton.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

When my second stay started with a glitch with online booking the front desk staff bent over backwards to be more than accommodating. Thanks especially to Andrea and David but all the staff at the desk, housekeeping, pool and breakfast were really nice and helpful. As voiced at the time my only complaint would be that the pool stays open past 10:00 pm. Kids love the pool and parents love the hot tub. After a busy day with shops closing down at 9:00 and other activities it would be nice to not have to race through town just to dip in for 10 minutes. Oh, and not thrilled with distance for overflow parking, especially with a truck that doesn't fit any of the tiny spots left, but thankful the attendant walked me to and from for safety so could live with it. Overall a big thanks for a clean, comfortable, affordable hotel.

Room Tip: If you want adjoining rooms they only come 2 queens one side and 1 king on the other. Helpful to kn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank moncheri12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KentM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2012

Thank you for taking you valuable time to write such a lovely comment after your recent stay with us. We are so pleased you had named Andrea and David who looked after you so well during your check in time, they strive to make every check in experience a great one. We are very thankful to have the great staff that we do including housekeeping and our breakfast bar. I will ensure these comments are passed along to these hard working employees. We do have parking which is next to our hotel, however, with the “first come, first serve” policy, we do resort to our overflow parking areas not far from the hotel. We do escort our guests if there is a need to and are pleased that the attendant took their time to accommodate you to your vehicle.
We look forward to seeing you on your next visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We were in town for a sporting event and this hotel was closest to the venue so we chose it. However we learned quickly that parking fills up fast which means your second choice is a lot a block away in a not-so-nice looking dark spot. You pay $10/night for parking so this was disappointing. As well, our room was right by the elevator and ice machine so sleep was hard to come by as both were quite noisy. It offers the basics but I am always turned off by the coffee machine or any food service in the bathroom as this location has in their basic room (coffee machine in bathroom area). If you are looking for affordable then this will do - there is a complimentary breakfast so that maybe balances out the negatives.

Room Tip: Don't take a room with a low # (ie 303 or 304) as you are near the elevators and ice machine on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paixful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KentM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2012

Thank you for your recent stay with us in March and for your very important feedback. We do have parking which is next to our hotel, however with the “first come, first serve” policy, we do resort to our overflow parking area’s not far from the hotel. Our parking fee of $ 10.00 per day is the lowest parking fee in the downtown core, this helps defroy the costs of fencing security, maintenance and video security. Our coffee makers in the washrooms is for the convenience of water supply, however, we will take your comment under consideration. Thank you for the “Room Tip” of the rooms closest to the ice machines. As in the case of all hotels with ice machines on guestroom floors, during busier times there may be some disturbances. I appreciate your feedback as this helps us to improve services and amenities.
We look forward to your next stay with us .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

My wife and I stayed here once for a couple of nights. They made a mistake in our booking and upgraded us to this beautiful suite that had a fire place, seperate rooms from the living room and bedroom and had a great view as well.
The hotel staff were pleasent but not in your way at all.

Great place to stay if you have to stay downtown.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DylanKnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KentM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2012

Thank you for your kind words on behalf of all of Holiday Inns. Unfortunately, your comments do not suit our specific property. With that said, we are pleased you have had a great experience with one of our fellow properties, it is nice to see we all strive for consistency for guests services. On your next trip, we invite you the Holiday Inn Express Downtown Edmonton, so you may experience the same great hotels, guests loves.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

I was going to write this review from the hotel, but then for that to happen the wireless internet would have to had worked for more than 5 minutes at a time. There were so many things wrong with this hotel it's hard to know where to start. The room was roasting hot and you couldn't turn the thermostat down so I had to open a window to try to let some of the sauna like heat out of the bathroom escape. The towels felt like sandpaper, the walls in the bathroom were covered in coffee that had been sprayed on the wall, the coffee maker was archaic and full of black plastic bits and coffee grains, the wall around the light switch in the bathroom was covered in black grime from not being wiped regularly, the cleaning team didn't replace the cups in the bathroom and only finished making one of the two beds in the room. Based on the other reviews I'm guessing there must be newer rooms in the hotel as the one I was in was dated and having a kitchenette in the bathroom was not my thing. If there were any redeeming qualities to this place it was that the beds were comfortable and the front counter staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jedavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KentM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2012

Thank you for your very important feedback and I apologize for the inconveniences and disappointments during your stay. We work very diligently with our internet support for cases just like this, I’m very glad for your feedback and hope that you contacted our 24 hour support line . As spring approaches, we are currently in the process of switching over our heating and cooling units and due to the unseasonal warm weather, some guests find their room too warm. We are taking your comments to our Head of Maintenance to review the process. Our housekeeping department has been notified of the guestroom cleanliness comment and we apologize for the lack of consistent service to your room.
Your feedback is very important and we look forward to your next stay and the improvement with the quality ad service.
Please contact me personally for a complimentary upgrade to a Jacuzzi Suite.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

I stayed here while on business in Edmonton - exceptional front desk service and included breakfast - hot dishes were more than you would expect! Everything you could possibly want for breakfast was there. Although it is true there was no "inhouse" restaurant, there WAS one you could access down the hallway wihtout going outside and it was great - both in terms of quality and value. Proximity to sites I had to visit was such that I walked everywhere. Room was spacious and very clean and modern. I asked for something close to the elevator and was actually given a complimentary upgrade on top of the location right around the corner from the elevator. The business facilities off the lobby allowed me to print what I needed for site visits at no additional cost. I would definitely stay again and recommend this place highly.

Room Tip: Tell front desk staff what you need - they were more than helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank frdelaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
0.2 mi away
Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel by APA
0.2 mi away
Matrix Hotel
Matrix Hotel
#10 of 93 in Edmonton
2,707 reviews
0.4 mi away
Union Bank Inn
Union Bank Inn
#27 of 93 in Edmonton
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Edmonton Downtown
0.2 mi away
Chateau Lacombe Hotel
Chateau Lacombe Hotel
#45 of 93 in Edmonton
501 reviews
8.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#58 of 93 in Edmonton
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown

Address: 10010 104 Street, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 0Z1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range: £74 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smoke Free Downtown Edmonton Hotel's Location is IdealThe Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown offers unparalleled service & amenities for your next visit to Edmonton, Alberta. Our hotel's staff will make your stay memorable.Guests of our renovated Edmonton hotel know our location, in the heart of downtown, means they can walk to the Alberta legislature, TELUS Field or the Citadel Theatre. There are so many things to do in Edmonton, from the 30 annual festivals, events at Rexall Place and the wonders of the West Edmonton Mall, that only a downtown Edmonton hotel's location will do.Corporate travelers know that a hotel's location in Edmonton can help them and our downtown location means easy access to the University of Alberta and the Shaw Conference Centre. We know what business travelers want when they travel, so we have free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access throughout the hotel. There's a 24-hour Business Centre and meeting rooms that can seat up to 200 people and we'll even handle your catering needs.Our guests know that the Holiday Inn Express Edmonton hotel's amenities add value to their stay. There's the free breakfast buffet each morning and easy access to the Free Press Bistro in the hotel. 90% of our rooms feature a balcony as well as a pillowtop mattress. You can relax in the indoor pool, whirlpool or the steam room after a workout in the Fitness Centre. Stay Smart at our Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown Hotel Edmonton
Edmonton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing