We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great HiEx hospitality, paper-thin walls”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown
Ranked #35 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
330 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Great HiEx hospitality, paper-thin walls”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

My stay at this downtown hotel leaves me torn: great location, usual very good complimentary breakfast, friendly staff....and the ability to hear everything that's going on in the room next to you! You can't beat the price and the location, though, and [outdoor] parking is right next door, although it costs $10/day. Not bad for the convenience. Still, I could hear the folks next door when i checked in in the early evening, and at 4 am, their TV/radio/whatever came on so loudly that I thought it was mine! It was not! And my night's sleep ended right then. A friend who often stays at this hotel when in Edmonton has also recounted noise stories. That said, she continues to stay there for its value and convenience. I might too, but I might try to ensure that I'm not placed next to a family of 6 or a group of young party-goers. Other not-great things: i rented a movie and the reception on the flat-screen TV was terrible; towels have seen better, fluffier days (although bathroom was big, clean and bright); heat control was unable to be used manually (but i was comfortable with its setting.) When I complained about the noise at check-out, the desk clerk gave me some extra points. I appreciated it and will give them another chance.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLCAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KentM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Thank you for your valuable time to write your review. We appreciate any and all feedback as this is a true gift from someone who cares. There are a number of guests who would agree with our great convenient downtown location, amenities including our hot breakfast, the convenience and low cost of our parking and our high level of service.
We regret you had a disrupted sleep due to your next door neighbors with the level of noise. We put every emphasis on guest comfort and due to the responses like yours, we will be putting a great consideration on extra insulation between walls during our renovation coming soon.
We are pleased you were refered by another guests and we look forward to serving you on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    139
    54
    20
    16
See reviews for
61
57
26
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

I use to stay at the nearby Crowne Plaza as it is the Holiday Inn chain, but instead decided to try the Express. Although a little further from downtown, I'm glad I tried it. Parking is very convenient (right next door) and the service was very courteous. This is not as new of a building as the Holiday Inn and Suites in West Edmonton, but then again you are much closer to downtown.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RM1Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KentM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Thank you for your great review as any and all feedback is a gift from someone who cares. We are delighted that you have tried our property and see that you are a big fan of the IHG products even though there are differences in amenities, location and property levels. Thank you for your kind words regarding the level of service you have received which we strive to make every guest have a great experience.
Once again, thank you. We look forward to serving you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort St. John, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

I have to say that I have been getting used to enjoying the Holiday Inn Express experience at other locations - this one caught me by surprise, not in a good way.

The good...
- the Bed. I have been very happy with this chains choice of beds and linens.
- Food Service staff - they were very nice.
- The View - we were on the eighth floor and we had a south facing room - this was nice on the sunny day!
- maid service - excellent job - thank you!!!!

The not so good....
- front desk staff were not easy to deal with. I might have high expectations but it is really important to take care of you people checking in.

The bad
- ROOM NOISE. we had a room that had adjoining doors on both sides. You can hear allot of what is going on which makes me a little uncomfortable in my room. Feel that you have to watch what to say, be extra quiet, etc... there was alot of noise from the hallway as well -
- Parking - they are limited for space
- Price - I could have stayed at a higher rated hotel for less
- coffee maker did not work
- Major dust behind the fridge

We will NOT stay here again.

Room Tip: high floor - south facing - no adjoining rooms....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KentM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Thank you for your comments, we consider all and any feedback a gift from someone who really cares. We are very pleased you enjoyed the bed and the view from your room, you must have been facing the River Valley and the view from the higher floor can be spectacular. We agree with you that our breakfast bar staff are the best and appreciate your thanks for our room attendant service.
Usually our Front Desk agents have been given excellent reviews for customer service, it is unfortunate you did not experience the same.
Unfortunately, we were sold out for the night of your arrival, but we have placed a preference in your profile for “No adjoining rooms” for your future stays. During our hotel refresh, coming soon, we will be installing kick plates to each guestroom door to tone down the noise from the hallways. We do have overflow parking in case the parking next to the building is tight or full. We feel the rate for our guestrooms are quite competitive as to the downtown core, and it is unfortunate that you feel you did not receive the value you paid. As far as the coffee maker and dust behind the fridge, we did notify our housekeeping and maintenance departments and are just waiting to hear back with the follow up.
Once again, thank you for your recent stay with us and I look forward to your try us again to see the improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

This is a great hotel in a great Location. The rooms are very clean, updated and very quiet. I was here for 4 nights on business and for the first time in a long time slept well while.
From the minute I stepped foot into this location I was greeted at the door and immediately helped at the checking desk. The clerk was very helpful and kind.
I was invited to a PC members cocktail hour that was happening one evening during my stay but unfortunately could not make it.
Room was updated with large flat screen TV, new sofa, extremely comfortable bed and new carpets ( well they looked new )
Breakfast was up to Holiday Inn standards. Assortment of breads, pastries, fruit, pancakes, yogurt, scrambled eggs and either sausages or bacon.
The breakfast room was well staffed and always attentive to cleaning up.
Great pool / hot tub area and fitness centre for this hotel. My only complaint is that the Steam Room just is not as hot as expected and could use more steam.

Will definately stay here again!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fredandterry0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KentM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Thank you for taking your time to write such a great review. I will ensure all departments share your kind words. We are so pleased you had our standard excellent customer service at our Front Desk and that you were invited to our Weekly Reception every Wednesday night as we would have appreciated meeting you.
We are very pleased you enjoyed your guestroom , breakfast and exercise room and we have reported your concern about the steam room temperature to our maintenance department.
We look forward to seeing you in the near future and we again thank you for your feedback as we consider all and any a gift from someone who cares.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Helpful staff, nice hotel, comfortable room.

The 2nd day, the room keeper did not left me any towels. The front desk people got me towels right away.

Hot complimentary breakfast was OK.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dav2z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KentM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Thank you for taking your time to write a great review about our hotel. We are very pleased you had a great experience with our staff, guestroom and breakfast. We are very pleased that your request for towels was met in a expedient manner from our Front Desk.
We look forward to seeing you in the near future during your next trip to Edmonton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawson Creek, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

When my second stay started with a glitch with online booking the front desk staff bent over backwards to be more than accommodating. Thanks especially to Andrea and David but all the staff at the desk, housekeeping, pool and breakfast were really nice and helpful. As voiced at the time my only complaint would be that the pool stays open past 10:00 pm. Kids love the pool and parents love the hot tub. After a busy day with shops closing down at 9:00 and other activities it would be nice to not have to race through town just to dip in for 10 minutes. Oh, and not thrilled with distance for overflow parking, especially with a truck that doesn't fit any of the tiny spots left, but thankful the attendant walked me to and from for safety so could live with it. Overall a big thanks for a clean, comfortable, affordable hotel.

Room Tip: If you want adjoining rooms they only come 2 queens one side and 1 king on the other. Helpful to kn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank moncheri12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KentM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Thank you for taking you valuable time to write such a lovely comment after your recent stay with us. We are so pleased you had named Andrea and David who looked after you so well during your check in time, they strive to make every check in experience a great one. We are very thankful to have the great staff that we do including housekeeping and our breakfast bar. I will ensure these comments are passed along to these hard working employees. We do have parking which is next to our hotel, however, with the “first come, first serve” policy, we do resort to our overflow parking areas not far from the hotel. We do escort our guests if there is a need to and are pleased that the attendant took their time to accommodate you to your vehicle.
We look forward to seeing you on your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
233 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We were in town for a sporting event and this hotel was closest to the venue so we chose it. However we learned quickly that parking fills up fast which means your second choice is a lot a block away in a not-so-nice looking dark spot. You pay $10/night for parking so this was disappointing. As well, our room was right by the elevator and ice machine so sleep was hard to come by as both were quite noisy. It offers the basics but I am always turned off by the coffee machine or any food service in the bathroom as this location has in their basic room (coffee machine in bathroom area). If you are looking for affordable then this will do - there is a complimentary breakfast so that maybe balances out the negatives.

Room Tip: Don't take a room with a low # (ie 303 or 304) as you are near the elevators and ice machine on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paixful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KentM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Thank you for your recent stay with us in March and for your very important feedback. We do have parking which is next to our hotel, however with the “first come, first serve” policy, we do resort to our overflow parking area’s not far from the hotel. Our parking fee of $ 10.00 per day is the lowest parking fee in the downtown core, this helps defroy the costs of fencing security, maintenance and video security. Our coffee makers in the washrooms is for the convenience of water supply, however, we will take your comment under consideration. Thank you for the “Room Tip” of the rooms closest to the ice machines. As in the case of all hotels with ice machines on guestroom floors, during busier times there may be some disturbances. I appreciate your feedback as this helps us to improve services and amenities.
We look forward to your next stay with us .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#58 of 93 in Edmonton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel
Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel
#13 of 93 in Edmonton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Edmonton Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus City Centre Inn
0.2 mi away
Matrix Hotel
Matrix Hotel
#10 of 93 in Edmonton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,425 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chateau Lacombe Hotel
Chateau Lacombe Hotel
#44 of 93 in Edmonton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown
Address: 10010 104 Street, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 0Z1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smoke Free Downtown Edmonton Hotel's Location is IdealThe Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown offers unparalleled service & amenities for your next visit to Edmonton, Alberta. Our hotel's staff will make your stay memorable.Guests of our renovated Edmonton hotel know our location, in the heart of downtown, means they can walk to the Alberta legislature, TELUS Field or the Citadel Theatre. There are so many things to do in Edmonton, from the 30 annual festivals, events at Rexall Place and the wonders of the West Edmonton Mall, that only a downtown Edmonton hotel's location will do.Corporate travelers know that a hotel's location in Edmonton can help them and our downtown location means easy access to the University of Alberta and the Shaw Conference Centre. We know what business travelers want when they travel, so we have free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access throughout the hotel. There's a 24-hour Business Centre and meeting rooms that can seat up to 200 people and we'll even handle your catering needs.Our guests know that the Holiday Inn Express Edmonton hotel's amenities add value to their stay. There's the free breakfast buffet each morning and easy access to the Free Press Bistro in the hotel. 90% of our rooms feature a balcony as well as a pillowtop mattress. You can relax in the indoor pool, whirlpool or the steam room after a workout in the Fitness Centre. Stay Smart at our Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, IHG, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown Hotel Edmonton
Edmonton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing