We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location was good, but...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Days Inn Edmonton Downtown
Ranked #71 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Location was good, but...”
Reviewed 31 July 2012

I stayed here in the summer after reading several good reviews online and in print for this location. The location is good, sandwiched between the government area and the commercial downtown area, which can be accessed via walking. Another nice feature was the free parking, although the parking garage itself can be tricky to manuever. As others have said, the hotel is an older hotel and the outside is dated. The hallways are dark and smell musty. The room was remodeled and quiet. When I arrived the elevator wasnt working. My room was on the 5th floor. The front desk clerk told someone else that there was a call into maintenance, but no direction was given on how to access the room. The stair layout is very odd. A combination of two sets of stairwars, both inside and outside for the garage and room and lobby get you where you need to be, but are inconvienent and not marked well. in addition, usually hotel staff are friendly and inviting. I found the staff here not that way- cold and lacking emotion. If I were to return to Edmonton, I do not believe I would stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tallcodude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaudiaO39, Management at Days Inn Edmonton Downtown, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
Please accept our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience you experienced with the elevator during your stay. The he elevator was temporarily out of service due to routine maintenance and we are pleased to announce that it is now fully operational.
We are concerned and shocked at your comments about our poor service. We will be scheduling a meeting to provide additional service-training to all staff to avoid similar observations from our valued guests. We do pride ourselves in providing exceptional service and we apologize for not meeting your expectations. We are hoping we will have another opportunity in the future to show your the hopitality Days Inn and the province of Alberta are known for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    81
    86
    34
    23
See reviews for
45
56
34
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012 via mobile

Ive stayed at this hotel a few times while working in the area. The only downsides are a sketchy elevator and slightly out dated decor in the halls. Other than that, the beds are great, pillows are plentiful, and the hotel is located well.

I'll continue to stay here, and look forward to my next visit

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Basque17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaudiaO39, Management at Days Inn Edmonton Downtown, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
It is always wonderful to hear from our guests, specially if we were able to satisfy their expectations. Thank you very much for your kind words and we look forward to accommodating you again, there is always something new to do in Edmonton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnaby
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

This is an older hotel but is clean and well maintained. Room was comfortable on the second floor but the air conditioner was quite loud.

Room Tip: Ask about the air conditioner. Rooms on the east side are away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick31Burnaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaudiaO39, Management at Days Inn Edmonton Downtown, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
We would like to thank-you for your stay at our property. We are happy to see that your enjoyed your stay and we hope to be of service to you sometime in the near future. I will forward your wonderful comments to our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

My wife and I stayed one night May 28th, in town for the Roger Water's concert. Check in was a breeze, front desk pleasant and efficient, up graded to king..... parking easy and close. The room, albeit dated was OK for us. Clean, smallish..... otherwise fine. Maybe we had no neighbours, or they where quiet, we did not get bothered by noise. Bed comfy. Breakfast at Alberto's was excellent, $6:50 for bacon and eggs, they even had 12 grain toast...
For $110 including all taxes, downtown Edmonton, minutes from Corona LRT, $3:00 each to Rexal................... Twas GREAT!

Room Tip: ..... The west facing where OK, little bit of traffic noise (with window open yet)...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riverviewpines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Management at Days Inn Edmonton Downtown, responded to this review, 30 June 2012
It is great to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our success depends on our guests having a pleasant stay and with such positive observations, we can only try to do even better. Thank you and we hope to see you on your next trip to Edmonton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012 via mobile

The room we stayed in was quite small, very old and outdated. The ceiling had obvious patch jobs on it, the bathtub was from the 70's, the beds were doubles and not queens like we asked for. We asked if this room was one of their low -end ones and they said it was one of their best ones. I would really hate to see their other ones in that case.
The walls were thin and every noise in the hall and nearby rooms were very noticeable and audible.
The parking really sucks, tiny stalls and cramped parking garage, hard to get in and out of it. Entering and exiting the hotel you have to wait for the vehicles in front of you to move out of the way, as there was no other way around them.
Oh yes, toilets were old style, slow weak flushing, the shower curtains were plastic (who has those nowadays?). A/C was not working. Just overall shabbiness and unappealing. Will never stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Figglewiggle43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaudiaO39, Management at Days Inn Edmonton Downtown, responded to this review, 9 June 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us as it will help us improve and serve you better the next time. We are genuinely surprised to see a long list of problems with your stay; all of our staff members are specifically trained to resolve any and all issues with guests’ stay to ensure their complete satisfaction with our property and it is our personal commitment as well. We would really appreciate a chance to discuss these matters with you in greater detail and to confirm that these comments were posted for the correct hotel. We can be reached at (780) 423 1925 during business hours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Edmonton hotels

Winnipeg, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

location is the best, walking distance to downtown, but not on the busy street. really quite at night, room not bad, everything in the room was really new, but the room is small, ithink it's because downtown, we stayed at 3rd floor, only complain is the hallway's fan or A/C really loud. and in the lobby they should have some travel guide or the maps, other than that, everything is good, checkin and checkout didn't take too long. ONE last thing is there's lady in the frontdesk, she look beautiful.....

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayc309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaudiaO39, Management at Days Inn Edmonton Downtown, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
It is great to hear that you were able to enjoy your stay. Many of our guests have complimented the ability to go almost anywhere within the city from our key downtown location. I can assure you that your observations will be looked into. We are happy to hear that your registration and billing processes went smoothly. Also, your last comment can certainly lift anyone’s spirit, Thank-you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Upon check in front desk staff were very unfriendly. The rooms are not sound proof at all. We were placed in a room beside 2 stairwells and the elevator. Asked to be moved, but were told it was fully booked. The walls are so thin that I could hear the people in the room next to us running water and zipping their coats. The doors from the stairwells slammed shut every time someone came through them. People were using them from 10pm until 8am about every 15 minutes. Didn't get a wink of sleep. Plus, there was a neon light that was illuminating the Day Inn sign, but it was aimed directly at our window, so it was really bright even with the curtains pulled. Sheets were clean at least. I will never stay at this property ever again. IT was supposed to be a nice, relaxing evening and due to the noise, it was anything but.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alberta83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaudiaO39, Management at Days Inn Edmonton Downtown, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
Our most sincere apologies if your stay was not up to the standards of Days Inn.
Our Front Desk Manager has already taken action by reviewing our customer care policies with all Frond Desk Agents making sure that all of our guests feel more than welcomed at our property. On this particular weekend, the city of Edmonton was having two major events in the downtown area where more than 20 thousand people were participating. Most of the arrivals had already taken place by early Friday night. Our Front Desk Agent did her best to work with the resources available at the time. You can be certain that if there had been any other options available, she would have offered them to you. I have forwarded your valuable observations to the appropriate departments. Thank you very much for your feedback; it is because of our guests’ feedback that we are able to continuously work towards reaching our goal of excellence in customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Comfort Inn & Suites
#59 of 93 in Edmonton
280 reviews
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown
Chateau Lacombe Hotel
#45 of 93 in Edmonton
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Edmonton Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Edmonton Downtown

Property: Days Inn Edmonton Downtown
Address: 10041 106 St NW, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 1G3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn Edmonton Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our downtown Edmonton hotel delivers on the Days Inn slogan of offering "The Best Value Under the Sun." We certainly offer the best value in Edmonton. Inside our award-winning Days Inn Downtown Edmonton Hotel, our ambiance will help you relax from the mayhem of business and travel. Our enthusiastic and friendly staff is eager to make your visit to Edmonton, Alberta a success. ***Please Note : Our Parking lot is undergoing renovations to improve our guest experience. We thank you for you understanding.*** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Days Inn Edmonton Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Downtown Edmonton Hotel Edmonton
Days Inn Edmonton
Edmonton Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing