We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weed smell everywhere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites
Ranked #58 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Weed smell everywhere”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I have stayed all across canada and this was probably the worst. There was a smell of weed on the entire floor, i asked the girl at the front desk MULTIPLE times to fix the problem.... talk to the guests that were smoking it..... and she didnt, i felt very unsafe sleeping in my room but got sick of complaining so just tried to get as much sleep as possible... i will never stay here again and i want everyone to know that besides not fixing the weed problem the room was disgustingly dirty .. for 135 dollars a night ill stay else where

Room Tip: dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Homa V, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Ashley P,
At Comfort Inn we do our best to make our guests comfortable, that is why we still have Smoking option floor. I understand you chose a smoking room, and expected smelling cigarette only. We totally agree, and we do have a high penalty for those who break the rule. I am awfully sorry for the inconvenience and annoyance this incident caused.
Hope your next visit to our chain yields a more positive experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    81
    58
    32
    36
See reviews for
50
66
44
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Alberta Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We've stayed here many times and are always satisfied with the hotel and service. The front desk staff were very helpful and friendly. The on-site Chinese restaurant was also very nice. Note: the restaurant can't do room service or charge to the room. It's a completely separate business.
We were able to check-in a few hours early. I knew the room would have a refrigerator, but I was a little surprised to see the microwave and just how big the room was. It was a standard king room.
The selection at the complimentary breakfast is very good and includes hot items. I don't think the juice machine was working well because the juice wasn't cold.
The only thing I'd recommend to management would be to look at replacing windows. They seem old and allow some street noise in.
Bonus: free parking and allow dogs in certain rooms.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank micbou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Homa V, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Micbou,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your comments. This was a great boost for all of us at Comfort Inn to try even harder providing our guests with a very pleasant stay.
On behalf of all our staff I send you our sincere gratitude
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrace, BC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

The hotel was fine. The breakfast was free and was pretty unimpressive. Free parking was nice. We booked on priceline and got a very good deal for the location. Bed was comfy and the TV was nice. We went for a run and you can get to the river in about 6 minutes. They let us leave some luggage with them after we checked out. The luggage storage was in the manager's office and can only accommodate small bags. I found the mini-fridge in the room to be pretty loud (but I'm sensitive).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Homa V, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Jacob H

I greatly appreciate your taking the time to write your comments. You have very valid points, and we will definatley consider them in our future decision making.
Thank you so much for your time, and hope to be your host again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I stayed here for a business trip. My employer booked the room with her credit card but aparently that was only to hold the room so when I went to check in they would not let me check in. My boss had to come down and present her credit card again. They would not send a third party credit form or anything. And to top it all off the resturant will not do room service or charge to your room. I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilred558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Homa V, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Karly Rae,

I agree these days saftey and security protocols creat a lot of hassles, however it is for our own peace of mind. To avoid back charges, and identity theft, we have no choice but to double check all transactions. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience you had to endure. We will do our best to ease up the procedures.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Edmonton hotels

Fort Saint John, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This past August I traveled across Canada, straight from Nova Scotia. I chose Choice Hotels for my stays along the way. By the time I arrived to Edmonton it was rather late, I had been driving for 16 hours and I wanted nothing but my King suit I booked online that morning. When I arrived I was treated with poor service, they told me I never booked the suit and to top it off I had to pay for it AGAIN at the front counter. I am 19... and so far traveled five provinces and three hotels by myself and never had a problem.
I booked the room online with my parents credit card number and they wanted to see the card which I didn't have on me but had a photo copy version, that wasn't going to slide for them... So according to them the room wasn't booked but I HAD to stay in it otherwise I would be charged as a no show. Like if your going to charge it as a no show why can't you charge the credit card for me to stay?
Anyway, along with being treated with absolutely no respect I paid with my debit card. The following morning I awoke to a receipt slid under the door saying my current charges were 756.00$ !! That was so much fun to deal with at the front desk with the exact same lady.
Needless to say if you are traveling and want a comfortable, easy going place to stay this is sadly not the place as it caused me more stress than anything I had encountered on my journey.
The complimentary breakfast on the other hand was delicious :)

Room Tip: I recommend if you can book a cheap King suit DO IT. It's totally worth it and accommodated all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarlyRaeK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2013

A friend and I stayed here for 2 weeks. We have just moved to Canada so had quite a bit of luggage with us. On arrival we knew we were likely too early to check-in but asked if they could store our luggage. The check-in clerk was quite rude and made it clear he was not happy with us -despite us repeatedly thanking him - but reluctantly allowed us to store our bags in what looked like an office.

Fast forward 3 hours to check-in. We had to provide a credit card as a damage deposit yet despite the machine receipt saying "Approved" - the clerk insisted the transaction had failed and wanted a different card. We provided one and the problem was sorted. Suspicious.

The lifts were often out of order - as in every day - which even required the use of a filthy back stairs on one occasion with the exit into the back of the car park.

We're new to Canada, and possibly it's customary for maids here to ask you whether you require your room to be cleaned, but when I'm paying decent money to stay in this hotel I don't expect to be asked that question on a daily basis. It seemed like the cleaners were trying to pressurise us into giving them one less room to attend to - they also came at completely random times throughout the 2 weeks which made it hard to keep a routine.

Our key cards worked about 70% of the time - normally having to get them reprogrammed by an always grumpy looking old man who works at reception, while the noise from the neighbouring Dockside Bar made sleep an ambitious task regardless of how tired we were.

The complimentary wifi internet was constantly either slow or not working at all. It also required acceptance of the hotels terms and conditions which popped up and disabled browsing far too frequently - think 7-8 times per hour.

Perhaps my biggest gripe with this hotel is that we stayed there for 2 weeks, and on the day before we left I needed a sheet printed. I asked the guys at reception could I get a single sheet printed. Sure they said. It'll cost you $10. That's right, they charged me $10 for 30 mins computer access so I could sit down for 1 minute and print something from a USB stick. Pathetic.

The only positives for this hotel are the free good quality breakfast, and it's excellent central location.

Avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Hotel is easy to get to, and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room was very clean and comfortable and surprisingly quiet for a down town hotel.

Workout room was tiny and the hours were not great as it locked up after 10pm. The pool is quite small and is suitable for a dip but not rally for swimming more than a stroke or 2. The hot tub was nice.

Breakfast was more than we expected, there was a lot of variety to choose from including hot food and eggs cooked to order.

We would stay here again the location is good and the price was fair.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janamik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown
Days Inn Edmonton Downtown
#71 of 93 in Edmonton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel
#13 of 93 in Edmonton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chateau Lacombe Hotel
#44 of 93 in Edmonton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Matrix Hotel
#10 of 93 in Edmonton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites
Address: 10425 100th Ave. | Downtown Edmonton, Edmonton, Alberta T6T 1G3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Downtown Edmonton, The Comfort Inn & Suites provides great location with affordable pricing. The hotel features 108 rooms with many options including Family Suites, Jacuzzi Suites, and smoking rooms are available. While staying with us enjoy On Site Parking(Surcharge$10/night), Free Wi-Fi access, Free Continental Breakfast, morning paper, a Pool, Sauna, Gym, and many other services to make your stay more enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Edmonton
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Inn Edmonton
Edmonton Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing