We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious”
Review of Nature Cafe - CLOSED

Nature Cafe
Price range: US$25 - US$40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 99 Street and 102A Avenue
Description: Café Nature is located in the Canadian Museum of Nature and offers an array of signature sandwiches and soups, tantalizing desserts and food items that are sure to excite your palate.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Zinc offers delicious meals. The food is rather expensive and the service at times in not great. Upon arriving on my most recent visit I was told that because we didn't have a reservation we could not get a table. When we asked if we could at least get a drink at the bar, we were told we were not able to do that either as they had a new bartender and they didn't want to overwhelm him. In the end, we ended up leaving incredibly dissatisfied.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TaraM88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    17
    9
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Tastebuds Danced”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Our group of 4 had a reservation here last Saturday for brunch after attending a morning concert with the Edmonton Symphony Orchestra. I'm sure glad we made the reservation weeks before as this place was full. The ambiance is always great with the windows and decor. There was a 3 course brunch offered, however, we all chose the single dish. Lobster benedicts and grilled cheese sandwiches were on order. The brunch arrived hot and delicious. The only thing really lacking was the service. Our server disappeared for long periods of time, even after the restaurant had emptied out, and forgot some things we had ordered in regard to our beverages. We did indulge in supper a previous time which was delicious. I love this place and will definitely return.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank teeth-on-fork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We took friends here for dinner before the theatre, having had a previous excellent experience. Unfortunately the special (lobster ravioli) had a bland and tasteless filling with little lobster and the pasta was undercooked. The appetizer scallops were excellent, as were the main course pork and tenderloin. The idea of being able to order small servings to allow you to try a variety of appetizers and entrees is excellent, but unfortunately the experience wasn't what it has been in the past.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton AB
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very disappointing...”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

The atmosphere is very nice, however the food was horrible. Looking at the menu for the breakfast brunch I was disappointed that there wasn't much of a choice. But thought the food must be good if the prices are so high. I ordered the lobster benedict thinking how could you go wrong with that, well it was very disgusting. The corn bread was dry, and the hollandaise sauce didn't exist.... very dry and boring. I would not recommend this restaurant, and I will never go there again that is for sure. Also for such a high priced restaurant and elegant atmosphere you would expect better, even when I ordered a coffee with cream they didn't have cream all they had is milk.... really you have the nerve to charge people those prices and you don't have cream for their coffee???? The only good thing about this place was the service...

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Edm0nt0n_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chantal b, General Manager at Nature Cafe, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to write about your most recent visit with us. We are truly sorry about the inconveniences that you have experienced. Your detailed comments will be forwarded to our management team for immediate action. Thank you for allowing us to improve on our services. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Zinc is in the zealous pursuit of a dining experience”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Why do you go out to eat? To be engorged? To be overwhelmed with people? To be saturated with loud sounds? To be inebriated? If thats what you want don't go to Zinc. It is a restaurant that gives you room, the sounds are subtle, the food has been babied, the drinks are smooth, the service is low-key. We had a variety of appetizers and main courses (they actually let you order 3rds of main courses) from Halibut, beef and lamb shank. Not sure if it was because we had a birthday but we were offered a variety of bites, home-made ice cream and drinking chocolate. Very nice, thanks

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chaperoneguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nature Cafe also viewed

 
Edmonton, Alberta
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing