We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“vancouver”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sandman Signature Edmonton South Hotel
Ranked #38 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“vancouver”
Reviewed 21 May 2012

I stayed this hotel for one night.
The interior and exterior is ok but the room is not good. Specially, pillow and bed.
If they charge over $159 per night, should be prepared better quality.
Also need more insulation for the wall. too noisy.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maple121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    82
    45
    13
    14
See reviews for
50
40
9
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

This hotel is quite new, so has some of the comforts that come along with that. The room was comforable--beds and bedding were great. Good toiletries in the bathroom and lots of towels for a family of 4. Staff were friendly and accomodating. Our only complaint was that the hotel is not very sound proof--we were awakened by footsteps above us and noise from the hallway. It is in good proximity to restaurants and shopping on Edmonton's south end. Our room had a balcony overlooking the parking lot, but not all rooms have this feature.

Room Tip: Room 317 is far from elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThorCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for the first time for business in Wetaskiwin and Leduc. It's location worked well for me. The hotel is new, clean and I had no problems with service. There are two restaurants on the premises and a small store with travel supplies for sale. I enjoyed my stay and would definately consider this hotel again.

Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank diefladermaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yellowknife, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Had a quick stay on a business trip to Edmonton. Hotel is very attractive and decor is modern and classy. Single king room was nice and the bed was very comfortable.
Location was conveniently close to the airport and less than 5 minutes to great shopping in South Common.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benji S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
109 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

On a previous visit the internet was useless, happily, it worked very well this trip at a fast 11MBPS. Still, the rooms are dark, apparently somebody thinks dark is synonymous with quality---kinda like overpriced dark restaurants. Walls are thin, I could hear the goof next door cheering and groaning during the hockey game. Seemed clean but then again, it's pretty dark in those rooms. Tub wouldn't drain very well---A shower became an ankle deep bath. The pub is fine, restaurant is too pricey for me.

It's okay, but not as special as the room rates tend to suggest.

Room Tip: Ask for one with decent lighting. That will stump them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calgaryal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
regina, Sk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

I booked my stay at this hotel through Expedia 12 days prior to the date of my reservation. I received no less than three confirmations of my booking. However, on arriving I was told by the front desk staff that the hotel was in an overbooked situation and that me and my girlfriends were being moved to rooms in an another hotel. They said the cost of the rooms were being looked after and that the online booking service would be refunding my $$. When I contacted the customer service department of the online booking service they had never been notified of the overbooked situation and when they attempted to contact the Sandman there was no Manager on Duty for them to speak with. The hotel that the Sandman put us in was old, dirty and a significant down grade, I would NEVER have booked rooms in this hotel if I were given the choice, and would definitely never pay what I had been already charged for the night at the Sandman. The next day I went back to the Sandman to try and speak to a manager on duty - she (Shannon) told me that they would not be refunding my money, and that I was lucky that they had arranged for us to stay anywhere else, that I was "lucky we didn't just let you show up and tell you we don't have a room available." She went on to tell me that overbooking isn't really that uncommon and she doesn't understand why I am so upset - "in fact, we are overbooked tonight too and I am going to have to move several guests into other hotels" She repeatedly apologized for the inconvenience but refused to accept any responsibility for the situation. Expedia graciously refunded the cost of the room even though the manage on duty admitted that they had only alerted Expedia to the overbooked situation the day AFTER our reservation. I would be extremely hesitant to stay at this hotel again, even though it looks like a beautiful hotel, because I have no confidence in the management or in the fact that there would actually be a room available for me to stay in.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carla h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We had a very pleasant stay and the staff was very friendly and helpful. After reading some of the negative reviews, it's hard to believe that this is the same hotel. We experienced none of the issues in those reviews. Our room was very clean and we had no problems navigating the elevator.
One huge problem in hotels is that teams congregate in one room and create a problem for the other guests, like noise, and drunken behavior so the staff is forced to deal repeatedly with complaints.
Perhaps the Sandman separates teams and makes it hard for them to socialize in the rooms to prevent problems. If that's the case, we appreciate the effort.

We stayed in March 2012 and had a great quiet stay. Thank you

Room Tip: Although the proximity of the hotel is near busy roads, our room was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Calgary Trail South
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Signature Edmonton South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Signature Edmonton South Hotel

Property: Sandman Signature Edmonton South Hotel
Address: 10111 Ellerslie Rd SW, Edmonton, Alberta T6X 0J3, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Edmonton
#26 Business Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandman Signature Edmonton South Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by wide-open prairie skies, this gem is just a 15-minute drive from Edmonton’s city center and Edmonton International Airport (YEG). Featuring a distinctive combination of elegant furnishings and impressive amenities, Sandman Signature Edmonton South Hotel is four-star hospitality at its best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandman Signature Edmonton South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Signature Hotel And Suites Edmonton South

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing