We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bug Bites”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandman Hotel Edmonton West
Ranked #76 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Edmonton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bug Bites”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I stayed in this hotel for two nights. It was not a bad hotel friendly staff but after being there two nights i woke up the second morning and had what appeared to be bed bug bites on my body. I will not stay in a Sandman hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Whitney N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Sandman, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Edmonton West, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your comments in regards to your recent stay. We appreciate your feedback and we make it part of our continuous efforts to provide our guests a pleasant and memorable experience.

I would like to take this opportunity to inform you that our hotel has in place a preventive pest control program, in order to ensure a pest free environment. The program consists of staff training and awareness, visual inspections and regular preventive visits by a pest control company.

I'm sure you are aware that bed bugs are a worldwide concern and are regularly introduced into hotels by hotel guests who have unknowingly provided transportation in their luggage, clothing and other articles.

In the unlike event of a report for bed bugs there is an extensive action plan in place that includes multiple treatments and continuous inspections to ensure that any activity has been eliminated.

Although we are not aware on which room you stayed so we can investigate further, we do appreciate you providing us with the opportunity to address your concerns and if you would like to discuss these concerns further, you are invited to contact me directly.


Theodore Stoubos
General Manager - Sandman Edmonton West
email : gm_edmonton@sandman.ca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    36
    39
    43
    56
See reviews for
67
33
14
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Maracaibo, Venezuela
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Booked this hotel because of the rate and also because I was spending one night on my way back home. Has an excellent location at West Edmonton, close to the mall, a lot of dining options around. Has a Denny's and a Chop Steakhouse. The lobby looks very good but once you get to the rooms is a very old hotel, the bed was small, the room had an odor like a very bad perfume never disappeared. Old Tv, and the AC didn't work quite well. I think that this hotel needs some serious renovations. I moved one of the beds so my baby could sleep more safe and behind the bed were a lot of dirt and old food, you can tell that the staff never move the bed when cleaning.

Room Tip: Go to other place
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaimeborjas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Room was relatively clean and fairly new. Pool did not open until 9 am so it was a disappointment for the kids as morning was the only time we would have had time to use it. There were very loud guests who decided to most likely have a smoke outside of our windows, so I couldn't sleep till very late.

Easy to book was a real disappointment though as I tried to cancel the hotel within the cancelation period and I was not able to be directed to the cancellation websites and neither of the phone numbers worked. In addition I thought they claimed that we had a free cancellation but only later I found out that there was a cancellation period. I will not book with them again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank 4Magpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

This hotel was literally 3 minutes from the West Ed Mall, it was very convenient for us. The room was quite clean and very quiet. I'm not sure why this palce has bad reviews. There is Denny's attached to the hotel as well as an upscale steakhouse called Chop which was wonderful. I found the hotel very pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Our family spent the weekend in this hotel. Do not be fooled by the picture of the nice lobby and poolside. The rooms can quite disappoint. OUr carpets in the room were dirty, literally. It badly needs shampooing and steam clean. I had to tell my kids to wear SLIPPERS inside the room!
Staff was friendly, asked for an extra pillow, it was immediately brought up. beds look ok 2 double beds (not queen).
Overall, I probably would not go back to this hotel even if it is priced less than $100. And I definitely would not recommend this to any of my friends.
BUT if you are not choosy, then this may be the place for you.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agajean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Sandman for one night and it was very good. We checked in and the front desk was very quick and efficient. We had a ground floor room that opened up to the pool so that was very convenient! The beds were comfortable and it was fairly spacious for a standard hotel room. I had 2 small inconveniences with there not being any towels left at the pool nor a menu for room service. I mentioned the room service menu issue to the front desk upon checkout and the lady said it may have been in a drawer. I had checked the top 2 drawers and it wasn't there so I guess I didn't dig deep enough...but then again I don't think I should have to do search the entire room for a menu! Overall I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorialexn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince George, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

I spent the May long weekend here for a sports tournament with my son. The location is good, very close to West Edmonton Mall, plenty of other malls, and restaurants. A large grocery store is within walking distance to the east (handy when you're tired of restaurant food). There is construction at the southeast corner of the hotel, reducing the available parking in the back lot. The remaining spaces are all tight -- awkward if you drive a wider vehicle. The wings of the hotel surround the central swimming pool. The ground-floor rooms (we had one) have sliding patio doors opening onto the swimming pool area -- very convenient when it's time to cut the kid(s) loose. The mattress on my bed was a bit worn on the side closer to the TV. Housekeeping did a very good job. All in all, an acceptable room. The only significant drawback is the always-present group of smokers congregating outside the main front doors to the hotel, forcing us to run the gauntlet of second-hand smoke when entering and leaving the hotel. It's an unfortunate consequence of the rules against smoking indoors, and it's perhaps unrealistic to banish the smokers to some far corner of the parking lot, but it doesn't make it any more pleasant for the rest of us.

Room Tip: If you are not travelling with children, ask for a room on the outside walls (not facing onto the po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Place LaRue
Comfort Inn Edmonton West
Comfort Inn Edmonton West
#59 of 93 in Edmonton
203 reviews
Place LaRue
Executive Royal Hotel Edmonton
Place LaRue
Quality Inn West Edmonton
Quality Inn West Edmonton
#43 of 93 in Edmonton
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ramada Edmonton West
#57 of 93 in Edmonton
241 reviews
Place LaRue
Best Western Plus Westwood Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Hotel Edmonton West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Hotel Edmonton West

Property: Sandman Hotel Edmonton West
Address: 17635 Stony Plain Rd NW, Edmonton, Alberta T5S 1E3, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman Hotel Edmonton West 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comfortably furnished hotel with easy access to all major highways, Sandman Hotel Edmonton West is perfectly situated near all major attractions such as West Edmonton Mall and the West Edmonton business district, making it the ideal place for your next stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sandman Hotel Edmonton West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Inn Edmonton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing