We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for business/solo - close to LRT”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel by APA
Ranked #16 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 23 January 2014

I usually stay at the Delta Edmonton Centre Suite Hotel as it's in the City Centre Mall and as I travel alone for work I find it convenient, safe and I can always catch a movie at night as opposed to sitting in my hotel room. The Delta was full so I opted for the Coast Edmonton Plaza. It is in a good location, central, and a very good value. My room was $139/night and it was a large, clean room at the end of the hallway (1017). It had a king bed, couch, coffee table, desk, large bathroom with lots of towels and a TV armoir, small fridge (bonus!) and two large windows. It was very clean. The lobby is nothing to look at but it has a convenience store, restaurant and lounge. I was a bit early but was checked in right away. I was given a coupon for 25% off dinner and drinks at the restaurant which is good until the end of the year. I was attending a hockey game at Rexall (alone) and took the LRT. The Bay/Enterprise station is just a short walk from the hotel -maybe a block in total. I wouldn't have taken the LRT back from the game if I didn't feel safe at night but it was fine - both ways. I had a good sleep and there is Starbucks coffee and to-go cups in the room. I had the breakfast buffet and it was fine, lots of selection and the waitress was good with frequent coffee refills. I would stay again and try out the spa and the lounge next time. And if I intended to catch another hockey game I'd definately choose to stay at the Coast for its close proximity to the LRT.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BoomChickaCUBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,050)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

772 - 778 of 1,050 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014

Sometimes it is nice to get away in your own city. On a recent cold weekend we stayed at the Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel. It was a wonderful retreat. I couldn't believe how spacious the rooms were. They were wonderfully appointed, very clean and the beds and linens were awesome.
We went for massages at the Adara Spa which is conveniently located in the hotel.
We can't wait to stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CosmoEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Our rooms was spacious and clean, but the most impressive part of our stay was the Mgr. and his staff. They couldn't have been any more accommodating. We were there for a wedding New Years eve, my mother needed a wheel chair, not only was her room ideal, but the Mgr. went to see how we would best unload her at the Venue we were going to then called us back on my cell> Great Job, all of the crew at the Coast Plaza. Good breakfast, nice Gym. All good!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I came to Edmonton on Saturday Dec 28, for a hockey game, the Harry potter Exhibition at the Telus world of science, and shopping over the weekend. I found the hotel to be clean, very nice and welcoming. I recieved an early check-in which was great after being up and traveling since 4am.

The room (a King bed), was comfortable, well decorated and I was happy to stay here. The only things i found difficult at first were operating the elevator (it's by room key only, so make sure you always have your key with you), The shower was finicky and took awhile to heat up. When I turned it on the pipes made a bit of noise, but it wasnt super disruptive. Also, the heater/fan in my room made a fair bit of noise (a friend that came and visited me also mentioned the heater seemed loud).

I had breakfast my first morning at the restaurant and it was good service, quick food that was tasty.

I understand this place has a pool and gym, though I did not use it. And as I was there on a weekend I was not able to go to the spa attached as it is closed on Mondays.

I found this to be a good central location. I went to Kingsway mall for a 10$ cab ride each way, and walked to the city center mall and it was not an uncomfortable distance. A walk to the (Corona stop for the) LRT to Hexall Arena for the hockey game was only a very short distance.

Staff was polite, and kind, and one Front Desk gentleman that worked the evening of the 28th was super helpful in getting me a map, and helping me figure out bus routes and showing me places to go.

All in all, I would certainly stay here again and reccomend it to everyone.

Room Tip: Ask for a microwave and if available they will have one placed in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

This hotel was very friendly and the kids love it as per usual. They are greated warmly when they arrive and the restaurant staff interacts and makes them feel very welcomed. Great pool, clean rooms, walking distance from Sobeys which is a great grocery store to get food for kids when travelling. The pillows and duvets are amazing. Thank you to the staff who made our staff wonderful as always.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TnT8116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

I was In and out for business on an over nighter. I got good service at desk. The room was clean and everything looked to be in order. Parking was a bit of a trick but they got me taken care of eventually.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank HFTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We enjoyed our stay here, from the concierge's great sunny attitude to the other staff's smiles and guidance in finding our way around. The room was more than adequate, neat, clean and suitably cleaned on a daily basis. We were here for close to a week. The hotel is well located to peruse downtown, find restaurants, the Art Gallery, shopping, banking and just to walk around. The pool is not grand but hey it is wet and clean. Never took advantage of the Spa but wish we had. The lobby includes a small convenience store and the bar serve some fine delicacies and good beer - all with a smile. The dining area is comfortable and service is efficient and cordial.
Yes, we would, and will, stay here again when next we visit family and friends in Edmonton.

Room Tip: The hotel was renovating the dining area during part of our stay so it may be even better than when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Matrix Hotel
#10 of 93 in Edmonton
2,707 reviews
Fairmont Hotel Macdonald
#12 of 93 in Edmonton
1,067 reviews
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Bank Inn
#27 of 93 in Edmonton
347 reviews
The Westin Edmonton
#20 of 93 in Edmonton
1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel by APA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel by APA

Address: 10155 105 St NW, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 1E2, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Edmonton
#5 Green Hotel in Edmonton
#18 Romantic Hotel in Edmonton
#27 Business Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range: £77 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel by APA 3*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If it’s an amazing location you’re looking for, ours is pretty tough to beat. Right in the heart of Edmonton, we’re walking distance from an array of arts, dining, and entertainment including Rogers Place. But it’s not just our location that keeps guests coming back: It’s our hotel’s warm, hospitable atmosphere. Call us traditional, but our friendly, accommodating staff like to go out of their way to make your stay comfortable. They’ll be your guides not only to our facility, but to the many wonderful treasures Edmonton has to offer. The Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel is a completely full-service hotel—meaning if you want it we probably have it. That begins with well-appointed, and newly renovated, rooms that include Electric Bidet Seat (TOTO® Washlet), 55” flat screen TVs and traditional welcoming origami cranes, a symbol of hospitality. These high quality amenities are signature features of APA Hotel in Japan and unique to APA’s Urban Style Hotel concept. Looking for the perfect space for a meeting, event, or wedding? Allow us to help. Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel by APA offers impressive meeting and event facilities, one great restaurant, and—if you feel like relaxing away from it all—exceptional room service. Did we mention our luxurious day spa or fitness facility with whirlpool hot tub, steam room, and a salt-water pool? Plus, we’re close to public transportation and provide guests with complimentary shuttle service downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel by APA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing