We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,238)
Filter reviews
1,238 results
Traveller rating
550
425
154
64
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
550
425
154
64
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshuttle servicesteam roomdowntown locationunderground parkinghockey gamebreakfast buffetfront desk staffwould stay againrooms are cleanhot tubnice roombed was comfortablebusiness tripenjoyed my staycoffee makermini fridgehome away from home
Filter
Updating list...
946 - 951 of 1,238 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2014

180 excellent and very good reviews in balance with 97 average/poor or terrible means mathematically you have a 50% chance of liking this hotel.

At the time of writing my experience there are many disappointed reviews commenting on the fact that this hotel needs a renovation. Edmonton is an oil boom town forecast to enjoy many prosperous years of economic activity forecast to be above the norm. The real estate owner of this hotel should allow the current franchise operator Coast to renovate this hotel.

Training Issue/Opportunity
Sadly a mediocre ‘just another guest’ type of check in. It’s staff shift change time, front desk staff needlessly look bored, offering a highly repeated forgettable check in process. Interesting to note that front desk advise upon request that feather pillows are a limited supply item and will probably have gone already – a true glass is half full communication.

Observations by direct experience
This hotel has an open hotel lobby, where people go outside on the street to smoke cigarettes. Rooms are clean, lower ceiling type. I request a quiet one and proactively receive a room located at the end of the corridor that is super quiet. $ 18.00 for parking seems pricey for location in comparison to nearby options.

Repair issue/opportunity
This is one of those 1980’s downtown aging hotels. Check out the photo posted of my bathroom door. Upon check in it’s cover is peeling away.

Awesome Staff members being Willy, JP & Mar
JP, one of this hotel’s engineering team members is a superb fellow. JP is super friendly and highly capable at taking care of this bathroom door problem. Mar just returned with a warm smile and a new door to replace the older broken one. This bathroom door problem was taken care of quickly and efficiently by the engineering team – kudos JP & Mar.

The other redeeming aspects to this hotel is their smiling houseman Willy who quickly brings me some extra pillows . . . including 2 feather ones. Thanks Willy.

Room Tip: ask for rooms away from the elevators and ice machines
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canadian175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I stayed here for a conference with some co workers. The front desk staff were friendly and check in was quick. There is an $18 parking fee per night. Our room was older and and dated decor but was fairly clean. It was non smoking room, but you can tell that in the past it was a smoking room due to the stale smoke smell.
We used the hot tub and pool area, which was ok. The decor is old and the pool has a liner inside instead of tiles and was very cold but the hot tub was nice.
I have stayed in a lot nicer hotels in downtown Edmonton in the past but for the conference it was fine for a nights stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenna_12Alberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We arrived at the hotel quite early and expected to leave our luggage and come back later, however we were given an early check in with a smile and at no additional cost. Our room on the sixth floor was quiet, had a nicely appointed bathroom, and was very comfortable. I also appreciated the in-room desk the free Wi-Fi, and early morning coffee service in the lobby. The location is excellent - right downtown and within close proximity to a huge variety of restaurants. Additionally there is a café and a bar located within the hotel. The breakfast buffet at the café carried a truly amazing variety of food, and is well priced. For those travelling on a budget, there is also a Sobeys just a couple of small blocks away that caters to downtown living with a tremendous variety of single serving foods both hot and cold. We'll be back in Edmonton next month and have already booked our stay.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank breathingtheair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We were advised by family to stay there and we were not disappointed. The front desk staff made sure we had answers to our questions and made us feel like we were wanted there.it is close to the LRT and lots of shopping close by

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We called to get the heat on while we were gone for supper, returned to 30 degrees. They finally sent maintenance and he was very pleasant and fixed the problem with a lot of difficulty.
The message light was flashing on our arrival but we had no messages. We called several times to have it turned off and it never happened. We covered both telephones so that we could get to sleep. There was no shuttle available either day of my convention.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bazingamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews