We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good place to stay at. ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel
Ranked #12 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Really good place to stay at. ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Plus
+ God service
+ Large rooms
+ Swimming pool, sauna and whirlpool!
+ Nice gym
+ breakfast buffet

Minus
- breakfast not included
- large pillows

I stayed at the hotel for five days and because it is downtown it's close to everything. It's really easy to take a bus to the West Edmonton Mall or to other places

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mats L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    372
    325
    127
    51
    41
See reviews for
152
149
68
423
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bonnyville, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

The location of the hotel and coffee were great! The staff were friendly and accommodating. The beds were comfortable but the room was not consistently clean. The gym had most equipment but is located at the far side of the pool so it gets very hot, especially if numerous people are using the facility.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aesmith88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Booked three nights online because of the price (C$83) although I had not used this chain or stayed in Edmonton before. Turned out to be a large, downtown hotel which is clean and well managed. Rooms had the same range of facilities/furnishing that one expects from the larger (better known?) chains although there is a few small signs of wear/age - maybe this was part of a larger franchise once.
Colleagues were staying in another downtown hotel so had the chance to compare. The Coast was better value. There is a restaurant and gift shop which I didn't use but did have the buffet breakfast in the café - good range and very good service. Price seemed a bit high (C$15.95) but that seemed in line with Alberta similar.
Hotel parking at C$19 compared well with street ($3.75 ph, 2 hr max) and $5 ph in the lot opposite.
Front desk was efficient and readily produced information and maps. No problem with reservations. Airport shuttle is available. I didn't see (or need) a computer available for guests.
I have recommended the hotel for the next group booking and would certainly look at staying there again - both dependent on price.

Room Tip: Quietest rooms are at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RockBear1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

very good value for a 6 day stay. I really appreciated the green initiative to save the planet. Parking for large sized vehicles was directly across the street. only the towels that are used are replaced. Starbucks in the room and pillow top mattresses were a bonus.

Room Tip: I have a truck that would not have fit in the parking but there was parking across the street if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels

Helpful?
Thank jeremewatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We had booked this hotel online for 3 adults and decided to select their hot breakfast buffet. After accepting the price online and confirming it was for 3 adults I booked the reservation. Arriving at the hotel, I went to check in and was told by woman working at the front desk that my reservation was for one. I informed her that it was for 3 and she proceed to tell me she had to charge me extra for the 3rd person. Arguing with her, I showed her my confirmation which clearly said 3 adults. Initially she stuck to her guns but finally she agreed to wave the 'extra charge' for the 3rd person. Everything seemed to be going well at this point until she handed me the breakfast vouchers, two of them. Again I explained there were 3 of us to which she said that the breakfast only includes two people and if I wanted a 3rd, "well your friend will just have to pay for breakfast themselves."

On to the room. So the first thing I noticed about the room was the lack of lighting. While the two big windows are great for light during the day, they had no overhead lights and just a handful of lamps which really didn't provide adequate light and required us to make our way across a dark room to turn them on. The bed itself was extremely hard and didn't provide a very comfortable sleep. On a plus the temperature controls were really easy to use which was important as the fan isn't controlled by the thermostat and required manual intervention when the room plunged to almost freezing as it pumped cold air into the room in the middle of a cool night.

The biggest issue with the room was the bathroom. While I am fairly use to tiny-sized bathrooms in hotels, however the lack of an extractor fan meant that if someone used the washroom, the entire room would quickly smell. The location of the toilet paper takes a few minutes to figure out, as it is piratically on the floor under the counter. The reserve toilet paper is across the room on the far wall, also on the floor. Which led to some interesting thinking like "what purpose does it serve over there, to get to it I'd have to crawl across the room."

The biggest plus on this hotel is the location. Being centrally located it makes for easy access to downtown Edmonton.

Finally it is worth noting the condition of the elevators. If you get nervous about elevators that lurch, shake, make odd noises, open doors too early, open doors too late, suddenly drop 2 inches when the door opens or otherwise acts in a way that makes you worry about what they will do next, then I suggest requesting a room on a lower floor so you can take the stairs because these elevators do all that and more. I am not sure if its just age or poor maintenance, and honestly I'd rather not find out. I don't believe they are unsafe but they certainly don't make you feel confident using them.

Pros:
- Centrally Located
- Secure Parking
- Decent Hotel Restaurant

Cons:
- Scary as hell elevators
- Hidden costs not indicated when booking (3rd adult) \ lack of breakfast voucher for 3rd person
- No extractor fan in washrooms
- Poor lighting
- Hard beds

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Roscoe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

I have to say that this was the first time I was disappointed in staying at this hotel. Service wasn't up to its usual standard. I had a friend coming up the next morning, I even wrote the name on the registration card just like front desk asked, when they came to the front desk the next morning they looked in the computer and couldn't find it. They were too lazy to actually walk the three feet to the reg card box and look, the front desk agent basically shrugged their shoulders and said nothing that they could do. That same morning I was walking back to my room after breakfast and told the room attendant I was going to leave the do not disturb sign on my door so she didn't have to do my room. That lead to the attendant telling me that because of that she would loose hours and money because she didn't have enough rooms to do, it was almost like how dare I make her lose money. Now..if you are paying your staff so poorly they have to cry to your guests about hours and can't afford to lose rooms, perhaps you won't keep good staff. I have to say after this experience I think it is time (after a few years) that I will be looking for a new hotel in downtown Edmonton.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

I searched for a while to find a hotel in Edmonton that was a good price and near the city, and the Coast Edmonton Plaza delivered! The staff are friendly and very knowledgeable about the city, as well as willing to give advice. They complied with all of my requests and the room had a refrigerator and was very quiet. Obviously there are fewer amenities/luxuries than in a "high end" resort type hotel but if you are looking for value than it's a strong contender. I had to take off one star because the fitness room only opens at 6:00AM, it seems unreasonable, because in most hotels it is 24H!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room on the top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HONESTYPOLICE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Matrix Hotel
#9 of 93 in Edmonton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,366 reviews
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Edmonton
#22 of 93 in Edmonton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
Chateau Lacombe Hotel
#40 of 93 in Edmonton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel

Property: Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel
Address: 10155 105th St, Edmonton, Alberta AB T5J 1E2, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Downtown Hotel convenient to Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing