We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is key!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel
Ranked #14 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Location is key!”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Booked on Hotwire and never stayed at this hotel before. For me, it's a place to sleep and shower in the morning as I travel to the city for football games. Access to LRT is important to me which is why I stay downtown. This hotel is near a grocery store should you need it as well.

Loved the room. Had a great sleep. The shower is very low flow. That would be my only beef about the place. Staff were awesome at check-in and check-out. Parking in parkade is $20, easy access from the lobby.

Nothing negative about this place and I would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    386
    335
    133
    53
    41
See reviews for
158
152
72
438
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
pontypool
Level Contributor
75 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

stayed here for 6 nights with no complaints except for noise (continous ) from ice making machine-asked to move to a different room which we did immediately.the room was large,bed comfy,big fluffy towels and robe,easy to use door key and super speedy coffee maker,staff were friendly and helpful-we had no food here so cannot comment on that,room was on floor 18 so had good views.location was fairly central and transport system is great for getting around,many tourist attractions within walking distance.would use coast hotels again.

Room Tip: ask for room not near ice maker,higher the floor, better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PontypoolSophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
114 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I understand not all the rooms have been renovated. I understand some of the reviews on this page are a little low -- and some are baffled at the inconsistency of reviews. I would attribute this to the fact that certain floors have been renovated. I can say that if you stay on the 14th floor, you will not be disappointed.

These suites have newly appointed kitchenettes (though no stove), with a microwave, a fridge, and generous counter space, and a sink. There are tall bar stools for the counter. The living room is large and spacious with couches and a large center footrest that can double as a coffee table. There is a small desk and a flat screen television. The bedroom is smaller, with its own TV as well. The washroom is medium sized and the water pressure remarkably good. There are air conditioners in each room.

I always appreciate a hotel that has provisions for when one forgets his/her toothbrush and toothpaste. You can see a hotel's attention to quality by what they provide when this happens. A travel sized toothpaste can be picked up at the front desk as well as a disposal toothbrush.

Complaints: The bed is not the most comfortable. I am not a picky sleeper, but I had trouble sleeping and getting comfortable one of the nights.

The second complaint is that the two elevators available are almost unacceptably slow.

The service was terrific however: Friendly, helpful staff.

Room Tip: Very important to get on a higher floor, like the 14th. Lower floors may not yet be renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OutOfTheCase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
95 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

A large group of family and friends (in town for a wedding) stayed here in a variety of room types, and I heard no complaints from anyone about their accommodations. I saw inside a variety of rooms, and all seemed good. Staff seemed friendly. Housekeeping was good. The downtown location is convenient (although beware of night-time activities in the park next door). Parking was an extra charge, but at least it was secure. Overall, no complaints. The breakfast buffet was good, hot , tasty, and of average price.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brammatothreeboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

I not a big fan of Edmonton city, but staying in this hotel brings in some joy and this time I can say that I had some good flavour of the surroundings. The hotel is clean, tidy and room service is superb. the parking slots are available all the time. I have not had the chance to try the in house spa etc as I was busy conducting some business in the city, but I am sure facilities here are up to the business and satisfactory. Food is good and they cater a variety of foods. The only problem from my perspective is the transport system in the city. If you want more freedom in movement and to explore the city, although nothing much in Edmonton, then I will advice hiring a car. The location of this hotel is another bonus, as it's located in the heart of Edmonton downtown. There few restaurants around and if you have special dietary requirement then you have to make extra effort to get to the nearby specialty restaurants as in my case and your car would be very essential. All in all it was positive experience staying in this place and I would recommend it without reservation. One last thing, air-condition was absolutely brilliant especially in summer time. Edmonton in summer can be sticky hot sometimes. I don't advice anyone to come in and visit Edmonton in winter time.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Taghi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Was up in Edmonton to meet a new client and took a suite at the Coast Plaza, and was not disappointed. The Check-in and check-out was fast and friendly. The room on the 21st floor was clean, Spacious, and very comfortable. The food at the bar and in the restaurant was very good but a bit overpriced for the portion size, by about 10 to 15% In my Option. the inside parking was safe and Secure but again overpriced at $18.95 per night. The base rate for the Suite was $291.00 but that did include 2 free buffet breakfast's. that were very good. and lots of selection including eggs Benedict juice milk coffee fruit. two other types of eggs etc. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Including the trainee at the reception whose name escapes me. I would defiantly stay here again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels

Helpful?
Thank JR B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights in a queen suite. I have mixed reviews for this hotel. We had a few issues, like a dirty duvet which I had to ask be replaced. It shouldn't have been put on the bed in the first place. Everything appears clean but if you look closely, you'll find someone else's hair on the bathroom floor, dirty bed skirts etc.

Pros:
¤ Friendly staff
¤ Comfortable beds
¤ Quick to address issues
¤ Spacious room
¤ Quiet, even on a weekend

Cons:
¤ $20 daily parking fee
¤ Dirty pool area with no towels (had to call 3x to get towels brought)

¤ Bathroom not properly cleaned (hair behind door, dusty fan)


I would recommend this hotel if you can get a good deal ie: don't pay $120/night! It's dated, needs updating (bathroom especially).
Convenient location overall.
Subway, Boston pizza & tim's within a block.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank andy_melanie00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Matrix Hotel
#10 of 93 in Edmonton
2,487 reviews
Chateau Lacombe Hotel
#45 of 93 in Edmonton
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Edmonton
#20 of 93 in Edmonton
1,184 reviews
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel

Property: Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel
Address: 10155 105 St NW, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 1E2, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Downtown Hotel convenient to Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing