We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Probably the best Indian restaurant in Canada!”
Review of Narayanni's

Narayanni's
Ranked #709 of 2,407 Restaurants in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w_UyM9KmLLM Please email me to submit a review. :)
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
289 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Probably the best Indian restaurant in Canada!”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We are regulars at Narayannis and we think it's probably the best Indian restaurant in North America! It's run by a family from South Africa with Indian heritage, and that is obvious in the flavours you will find at this restaurant. To top it off, Mama is the one who does all the cooking and you can certainly feel the love that comes with home cooked food in all their dishes. Unlike other Indian restaurants, their menu doesnt feature the regulars like butter chicken and dal makhni, and that's where this restaurant is a notch above other such establishments. The items on their menu are unique and they have a great variety of vegetarian options. Their butternut squash is outstanding! They do a dinner only buffet, which costs $25 on friday and saturday, $20 rest of the week and they also have a special vegan buffet on tuesdays for $15. The service might be on the slower side, but we don't mind that. Overall, an excellent restaurant!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aarij B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    15
    5
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Lovely room, food and service”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Our group of four women choose different restaurants to visit every month - and we were very impressed with Narayanni's. The room sets a mood of comfort, tastefully decorated and softly lit without being dark. I'm not usually a fan of buffets, but their choices were carefully edited to avoid excess and not all taste the same. There was a nice range of spice and heat. Naan was brought fresh to our table. I'm not sure how often they offer it, but all South African wines were half price of their regular $30, so an excellent value. Service was attentive, and I believe it was the owner who asked if this was my first visit. I said 'yes', but it won't be my last.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leslie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
“Not enough Stars in the firmament to rate this trove of Delights.”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Far from Decadence but definitely the ultimate in titilation of Taste Buds !
Scrumptious food and elegant Decor meted out by courteous and hospitable Servers who welcome the pleasure that their fare induces.
This is an immaculately clean, and tastefully appointed facility that could quite easily be categorised as an Emporium of Gourmet Cuisine. It is housed within a delightfully appointed and tastefully decorated space.
This is a Diner's Dream that has materialised into an endless selection of edibles. The buffet is heavily-laden with a large variety of scrumptious foods, salads, and deserts.
Each of the items on offer is a veritable Work of Art.
And the rich in-house Coffee is truly its Crowning Glory.
Such gustatory gems evoke such terminology as "Scrumptious and Superlative".
Narayanni's has no equal on this planet and the mediocrity of other restaurants leaves the discriminating Diner with a stark sense of difference between "Cooked food" and Gourmet Cuisine".
There simply are not enough Stars in our Heavens to Rate this " Art Gallery of Comestibles " accurately !
I will be back.......and Wild Horses will not be able to stop me ! ,

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dharma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Horrible food and service, exorbitant prices”
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

Went as a group.

Pros: location , traditional decor

Cons: officially my worst food in North America in 12 years, complete lack of service - more so with group service charge being applied

The items in the starters were all low cost and vegetarian. Main course was limited and the lentils were no good either. How can anyone spoil lentils? The mutton had not been roasted properly before putting into the curry. The salmon egg combo had only eggs visible.

Pepto saved me from any unintended, unplanned defecation during that night.

Helpful?
3 Thank JungleeToofaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lumsden, SK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Always delicious and affordable!”
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is really, really excellent. The food is consistently fabulous, the service consistently friendly and the price consistently very reasonable. Would recommend this place to anyone who enjoys authentic Indian cuisine. Definitely worth a visit. We'll be back!!
PS. Their chai tea is THE BEST!

Helpful?
2 Thank Jan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Narayanni's also viewed

 

Been to Narayanni's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing