We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value for the money and location”
Review of Argyll Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Argyll Plaza Hotel
Ranked #70 of 91 Hotels in Edmonton
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Good location, close to South-gate and University of Alberta. The price was right and it has a good and economic restaurant that offer normal north american food. its internet price was lower than the prices quoted when I checked in directly. So, try to book online if possible.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aboluay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2012

After a wedding, we wanted a place to leave the city quickly in the morning plus wanted breakfast so didn't have to stop enroute home. Prices in the city were high last weekend and this was a good price. Friendly staff. Clean but dark and dated lobby and room. However, mattress was very good and nice pillows. The price was right for a one night stay in Edmonton - luxury no but
value yes.

Room Tip: No view from third floor but even with a thunderstorm it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karlowsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Very convenient location, very clean, spacious. Friendly staff. Good breakfast. We stayed on the third floor in a room with kitchenette.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CanadianMusafir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

We stayed one night during the week.

I booked by telephone and the booking was taken professionally and quickly.
We arrived and were greeted by the friendly reception staff. The reception area was clean and tidy with free copies of the Edmonton Sun available for guests.
Our room was on the third floor. The corridors were dimly lit, but comfortably so.
We did get a surprise with the size of the room. It was much larger than other more expensive hotels in Edmonton. We had a couch and two chairs, table, Fridge, Microwave, 2 double beds and small flatscreen TV. The bathroom was roomy and everything was well cleaned.
There was an air conditioning unit in the window that we didn't use, but we did test it and it is quite noisy which may be a problem in the summer. The windows are screwed shut.
The beds initially didn't feel that comfortable, but we had a good nights sleep.
There was no noise detectable from the neighboring rooms, only when someone walked past the door. Outside noise mainly came from the trains further down the road and a little bit of traffic noise as well.
I ordered food from the bar/restaurant downstairs. This is a separate establishment and although they will bring it to your room, you cannot charge the meal to the room, it has to be paid for at the time of delivery. There is a $1 delivery charge. The food was fine, nothing special but tasty enough.
The wireless internet worked up until around 12am then I couldn't reconnect to it again.
TV was normal cable. Some of the channels were fuzzy, but the majority of them were fine.
They lock the front door at 11pm which wasn't an issue for us, and will only allow people in if they have keys.
All in all, we were very happy with the hotel. Total price came to about $95 for the night and was well on par with a lot of the other hotels in the city that charge $20-30 more and in some cases better. Although it doesn't really have a central location, it is quite easy to get across the river to downtown or to get further north due to being so close to Gateway Boulevard and 99st.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cell3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Stayed here 3 week nights while visiting the city. Comfortable pillows and bed. Large, clean room - mini fridge, stove, micro wave. Good location - close to many conveniences. Front desk and room service staff very friendly. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LuvdaRockies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights as i just moved here from toronto. The rooms are at a affordable price.
The rooms are pretty big with lot of room inside compared to other hotels. The staff is very friendly and are really helpful. The rooms were very clean with comfortable beds. location is very convenient near to downtown and a couple of clubs. So overall it was an excellent stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank manan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2011

This was adequate for an overnight stay with minimal requirements & a reasonable price. Beds & pillows not very comfortable but everything was decently clean. Could have used extra blankets; amenities like lotions & emergency toothbrush were lacking. Decent location with lots of conveniences nearby but overall a little old & dated. Could use a facelift & some extra little perks to make it special.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wenda w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Calgary Trail North
Ramada Edmonton South
Ramada Edmonton South
#68 of 91 in Edmonton
365 reviews
Calgary Trail North
Travelodge Edmonton South
Travelodge Edmonton South
#52 of 91 in Edmonton
415 reviews
Rosslyn Inn and Suites
#69 of 91 in Edmonton
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Days Inn Edmonton South
#32 of 91 in Edmonton
384 reviews
Calgary Trail North
Delta Hotels by Marriott Edmonton South Conference Centre
Calgary Trail South
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Edmonton South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argyll Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argyll Plaza Hotel

Address: 9933 63 Ave NW, Edmonton, Alberta T6E 6C9, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 91 Hotels in Edmonton
Price Range: £46 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Argyll Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are visiting Edmonton for pleasure or business, Argyll Plaza Hotel is always the right choice for a comfortable and relaxing stay in our oversized suites of 450 sq/ft! Our rates include complimentary high speed internet access, HD cable TV with 4 complimentary movie channels, air-conditioning, microwave, fridge and coffee maker in each suite, business centre access, coin operated laundry facility, fitness centre with dry sauna and free parking. We offer free continental breakfast to our guests (complimentary gluten free options available as well). We are located in South Central Edmonton. Our hotel is conveniently located in a plaza which offers the following businesses: Argyll Ice Arena, Union Hall concert Hall (new concerts featured weekly), Convenience Store, Liquor Store, many Fast Food and sit down Restaurants plus more. Argyll Hotel is a close drive to Whyte Avenue which offers a vibrant scene including world class festivals, entertainment, live music and numerous restaurants, shops and bars. We are also minutes away from various landmarks such as University of Alberta Hospital, Stollery Children's Hospital, Downtown Edmonton and South Edmonton Common Shopping Centre. Contact us today and take advantage of any of our many special rates: Corporate, Hospital, Long-Term Stay, Military, Senior or any large party stay! Book the Argyll arena and ask for special hotel rates! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Argyll Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argyll Plaza Edmonton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing