We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Freezing, Noisy, and Dirty”
Review of Coliseum Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coliseum Inn
Ranked #42 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Langdon, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Freezing, Noisy, and Dirty”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We had planned on staying for two nights in this hotel because it was right across the street from Rexall Place to see a lacrosse game. We arrived to find that our room was cold, so we turned up the heat and stepped out. We arrived 4 hours later to find that the room was just as cold as when we had left. We went down to the front desk, reported the problem, and were moved to another room. This room was also cold, so we turned up the heat and went to bed. This is when we discovered that we could hear the music from the bar SEVEN FLOORS BELOW us quite clearly. The music didn't stop until almost 3 AM - meanwhile the heat never came on so we got to freeze our butts off while being kept awake by horrible music. Between the noise from elsewhere in the hotel, the noise outside, and simply freezing, we managed to get a whopping two hours of sleep. We checked out the next morning and found a much better place for the same price down town; well worth the 10 minute drive or train ride. The place was supposedly refurbished in the past year but it's hard to tell from looking at it. Both of the rooms we had were dirty, had cracked furniture, marked walls, and showers that looked like they had never been cleaned. I'll never set foot in this disaster again.

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crystal v, Manager at Coliseum Inn, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and although it was not a great one we do truly appreciate your honesty and would like to take the time to ensure you that this is not how we want your experience to be. I would like you to reach out to our General Manager by email with a contact number so we could address your concerns directly please contact gm@colieuminn.ca.
We want our guests to have a very enjoyable stay and would like to make this up to you kindly contact us or myself at crystal@coliseuminn.ca and rectify this for you. Again we are sorry and we
want to show you a memorable time at the Coliseum Inn.

We look forward to hearing from you
Sincerely
Crystal
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    173
    109
    54
    72
See reviews for
129
122
51
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Mcmurray
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Chose the Coliseum because of its proximity to the Rexall Place. Was pleasantly surprised at the friendly and professional service. The room could not have been cleaner or more comfortable. Will be staying at the Coliseum Inn on my future trips to Edmonton.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Paula P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crystal v, Manager at Coliseum Inn, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review we are very happy you had such a great stay and that your room met all of your needs. We look forward to seeing in the near future.


Sincerely
Crystal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kindersley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

A family trip to watch an Oilers game and the several different kinds of second hand smoke was awful! The rooms are not the cleanest either! The lounge is a great idea in the hotel but not a great idea when you have kids!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Carla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crystal v, Manager at Coliseum Inn, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review I want to apologize on behalf of the coliseum Inn. We definately wanted you to enjoy your stay as we have many families that stay with us always. We would like you to reach out to our gm@coliseuminn.ca so that he can handle this matter directly.
We would like you to return so that we can show you that our guests definately are very important to us and we want you to have a memorable stay.

Sincerely
Crystal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rovaniemi, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We went to Edmonton to see a hockey game. For that, the location was perfect, we saw the station from our window, really easy to get there. The rooms decor was nice and the washroom was good size. But there was couple thing we didn't like. There is a bar downstairs and we could hear everything, even women screaming (there were male entertainers that night). The staff were okay, not the most smiley ones. The worst thing was the cleaning. We left in the morning to the West Edmonton Mall (were you have to take first a train and then change to a bus, not the easiest). When we got back, no one had cleaned the room. But we knew that a cleaner had been there, because they took our towels. But they didn't left new ones. We had to go and get them downstairs and they just said that they are training cleaners. In my mind, that is the easiest thing for the cleaners to do, leave new towels. I wouldn't say that this is the worst hotel ever, I could go again, it wasn't that expensive.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor and we still could hear the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hennala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crystal v, Manager at Coliseum Inn, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your honest review I will be bringing it directly to the General Manager so that
he can assure you that when you return you will receive the very best customer service. Our goal at the Coliseum Inn is to have our guests feel comfortable and leave with an absolute wonderful
experience.
We apologize that housekeeping fell between the cracks on your towels but thankful you brought this to our attention.

Sincerely
Crystal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peace River
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Very comfortable bed! Received lots of reminders that I had a reservation. The front desk were very friendly and helpful. You can see they have put in lots of renovations to this hotel. It is an excellent hotel to attend events at Rexall!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crystal v, Manager at Coliseum Inn, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear Guest,

We definitely appreciated your review and thank you for letting us know that our service level
on reminders is working well for guests staying with us. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay
and find our beds very comfortable.
We look forward to seeing you return to the Coliseum Inn.


Sincerely
Crystal
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Colisium motel a few weeks ago when we came in for an oilers game. We are from Ft Mac and stayed two nights. Its a decent place to stay if your in town for a game etc. The food at flow bar wascok, and the servuce from Kristy and Dale at the front desk was really good. Dale went out of his way to grab me extra coffee late in the evening. And Leah with house keeping was great.
We will stay there again.

Room Tip: Good value for Oilers fans..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crystal v, Manager at Coliseum Inn, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and yes we are definitely located directly across the street from Rexall which makes us a great choice for all games and concerts when coming to Edmonton, We are happy that the Coliseum Inn Staff gave you exceptional service. Thank you again and we look forward
to seeing you return.


Sincerely
Crystal
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Running away from Red Deer hotels, but this was different, it was clean and rooms were nice and
enjoyed. The front desk was fabulous and friendly, so were their cleaning staff and sure will come
back again.

Room Tip: Good motel, good to stay, though little things here and there messy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lissette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crystal v, Manager at Coliseum Inn, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and letting us know that the staff at the Coliseum Inn gave you excellent service We look forward to seeing you return in the future.



Sincerely
Crystal
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
0.2 mi away
Eastglen Inn
Eastglen Inn
#76 of 93 in Edmonton
75 reviews
5.2 mi away
Yellowhead Inn
Yellowhead Inn
#32 of 93 in Edmonton
348 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus City Centre Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Travelodge Edmonton East
Travelodge Edmonton East
#80 of 93 in Edmonton
188 reviews
1.5 mi away
Century Casino and Hotel Edmonton
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Edmonton / Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coliseum Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coliseum Inn

Property: Coliseum Inn
Address: 11845 Wayne Gretzky Drive Southbound NW, Edmonton, Alberta T5B 4R4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Coliseum Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coliseum Inn is located directly across from Northlands Coliseum and the Expo Center. Only 10 minutes from the heart of Downtown Edmonton, we are pleased to offer a Hot Deluxe Breakfast included when you book directly with us as well as complimentary parking and Free Wi-Fi access for every room. Local calls are always free. The Coliseum Inn is pleased to feature Global Buffet, open late and available for lunch and dinner everyday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Coliseum Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coliseum Hotel Edmonton
Coliseum Motel Edmonton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing