We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, but...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Metterra Hotel on Whyte
Ranked #7 of 91 Hotels in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Updated place right in the thick of things. Friendly, helpful staff and nice benefits (eg evening wine and cheese, and a continental breakfast). Parking included too. But I got Room 410 - right by the HVAC. Avoid this room - is really noisy. As a last to go room, they should really discount it.

Stayed: May 2014
4  Thank Blythesville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn L, General Manager at Metterra Hotel on Whyte, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Blythesville,

Thank you for your review! We are so happy that you were able to take advantage of some of our many amenities and that you enjoyed your stay.
We apologize that you found your room to be disrupted by the HVAC system. We will look into solutions for this issue for our guest’s comfort.

We appreciate your business and hope you will return soon!

Sincerely,

Dawn Li
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,541)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,265 - 1,271 of 1,541 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2014

Recently spent a night here. Large high ceiling room, nice big bed, plenty of pillows and very comfortable. Can turn off air conditioning and room didn't get stuffy. Huge bathroom and tub. Absolutely loved the free breakfast the next day.

Room Tip: Get room facing away from Whyte.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Junkaholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn L, General Manager at Metterra Hotel on Whyte, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Junkaholic,

Thank you for your kind words about our hotel! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,

Dawn Li
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Great people, excellent breakfast. Good central location. This is a "cute" privately owned boutique hotel that has good amenities, rooms are small but functional. As a frequent traveler, this hotel isn't convenient for the business traveler, Valet parking is available however takes time to get your car. The biggest drawback is the noise from Whyte ave. I asked and received a room located away from the street. Still was rather noisy from the motorcycles, trucks and buses accelerating. Of course located at the back of the hotel meant garbage trucks collecting trash early in the morning. The earplugs they provide shows that management is aware of the noise problem. If you're a light sleeper or just enjoy a peaceful night's sleep this hotel may not be for you. This may be a good hotel for weekend getaways!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Habsexpos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn L, General Manager at Metterra Hotel on Whyte, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Habsexpos,

Thank you for your review! We are pleased you were able to enjoy some of our many amenities that we offer!
We apologize that you found our valet service to not be efficient for you. We are aware that the timing on having your vehicle brought around may not be convenient for some during our busy hours so we also offer the option of self parking at one of our 2 convenient parking lots for more guest flexibility.

We are aware that, given the vibrant neighbourhood, the noise can be disruptive to some and the ear plugs are our current solution to that. We continuously keep looking for additional opportunities to make our guests’s stay more comfortable and enjoyable.

Thank you again for your review. If you wish to discuss your stay further, please contact me directly. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Dawn Li
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We usually visit Edmonton once or twice a year, and always stay at this hotel. The location is very convenient, and the hotel offers many nice amenities (i.e.: free breakfast, wine hour...)

While usually very good, we noticed an increase of professionalism by the staff overall, and, while
usually very clean, our room and the hotel in general were positively spotless this time.

Over our three night stay in room 306, our room was so clean that I asked to speak to management to pass on how happy we were, and also to ask who was responsible- It turns
out it was Judith. Thanks, Judith!

Breakfast offered a good selection, the wine tasting was quite nice (we went once), beds were comfy, and the hotel was pretty quiet (we requested and were given a room not facing Whyte Ave), though ear plugs were provided, just in case.

Would absolutely stay here again. Location is fantastic, and overall, the hotel is very comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing Whyte Ave if staying over a weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cubabound2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn L, General Manager at Metterra Hotel on Whyte, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear cubabound2008,

Thank you for your kind review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to partake in many of our additional amenities. Thank you for your praise for Judith! We will certainly pass along the message!

Thank you for staying with us, we hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Dawn Li
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The Metterra Hotel is located in the midst of Whyte Avenue, Edmonton. There are lots of interesting shops, fast food establishments and restaurants - all within walking distance of the hotel. I made reservations on Metterra's website ( with sister hotels Varscona and Matrix also included) and had no surprises. The room prices online were cheaper than found through Expedia and Hotels.com. This was encouraging and I liked the fact that hotel management was endeavoring to not be undersold.

The check-in process was swift and professional. We checked in with two dogs - and found the room to be above par. We are used to travelling with pets and sometimes get relegated to sub-par accommodations - but not in this case. The room was spacious with modern furniture. The towels were plush and the linens luxurious. The mattress was also very comfortable and there was a wide selection of pillow firmness to pick from. It was also a nice touch to have an iphone charging station at the bedside.

The TV reception was superb but there is only a choice of cable channels. If you want to watch new release movie you will have to go across the street to the theatre!

The biggest treat for us at Metterra was their excellent breakfast and endless options. From eggs and bacon to freshly made waffles - we have never experienced such a well-crafted complimentary meal. There is also a daily wine and cheese hour which was well attended during our stay.

The valet parking was reliable and we did not experience any problems finding a place to park in front of the hotel. Keep in mind that you will need to give the front desk at least 30 minutes to bring your car around.

We stayed during a weekend and did not have any concerns with noise. There were also guests in rooms on both sides of us and we did not hear a sound.

What more can I say? We intended to stay one night but ended up staying for three instead and wished it could have been more.

Room Tip: Ask for a "corner room". they are bigger than the standard rooms. The next time we stay we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacksmom_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn L, General Manager at Metterra Hotel on Whyte, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear Jacksmom_9,

Thank you for your kind review! We are so pleased you (and your pups) enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for choosing the Metterra Hotel! We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Dawn Li
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Excellent! Valet parking a must on Whyte Avenue. Walking distance to lots of unique shopping and dining experiences. Common areas and fitness rooms are well appointed. Loved the continental breakfast. The room itself was clean and comfortable. No noise complaints to speak of.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn L, General Manager at Metterra Hotel on Whyte, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Chris B,

Thank you for your lovely review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Dawn Li
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Hotel is ideally located in Whyte ave within walking distance from several restaurants, clubs shops, etc. We've stayed here a few times and we've never had issues with service or rooms. The only bad thing is the fact that it is slightly more loud, you do hear noise from the streets. But the rooms come with earplugs :)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happyann3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn L, General Manager at Metterra Hotel on Whyte, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear happyann3,

Thank you for your review! We are so happy that you found your stay with us to be a pleasant one. We love our lively neighbourhood but know it can be disruptive while sleeping. We hope you were able to take advantage of our "Whyte Noise" ear plugs and have a sound sleep.

Thank you so much for staying with us, we hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Dawn Li
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Fairmont Hotel Macdonald
#13 of 91 in Edmonton
1,132 reviews
Matrix Hotel
#10 of 91 in Edmonton
2,840 reviews
Varscona Hotel on Whyte
#5 of 91 in Edmonton
1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Bank Inn
#28 of 91 in Edmonton
357 reviews
Calgary Trail North
Radisson Edmonton South
Radisson Edmonton South
#22 of 91 in Edmonton
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metterra Hotel on Whyte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metterra Hotel on Whyte

Address: 10454 82 Ave NW, Edmonton, Alberta T6E 4Z7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Edmonton
#2 Romantic Hotel in Edmonton
#3 Family Hotel in Edmonton
#8 Green Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range: £97 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Metterra Hotel on Whyte 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savor a complimentary and extensive breakfast buffet each morning in our Hospitality Suite. Guests can choose from an array of both hot and cold breakfast items, prepared by our in-house chef; including piping hot oatmeal, home cooked egg dish and accompanying meat for those who appreciate a hearty breakfast to start their day. On the lighter side we offer a cold selection of cereals, yogurt, fruit, pastries and juices. Touch of a button barista worthy cappuccinos, espressos and lattes along with a variety of specialty teas are available all day. To end the day, complimentary wine tasting and assortment of appetizers are offered between 17:30 and 18:30. Also complimentary to our guests is parking, Wi-Fi and bicycle rentals. Metterra provides a contemporary hospitality experience on Edmonton’s trendy Whyte Avenue to travelers who appreciate accessible luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Metterra Hotel on Whyte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metterra Hotel Edmonton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing