We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel despite the construction”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton
Ranked #7 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Nice hotel despite the construction”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Despite it is being renovated (in the dead of winter?!?!), the rooms were perfect and the price is OK, considering that it is also quite close to the WEM and the nearby shopping area. Pity that it offers B&B at additional price...
Otherwise the staff is very kind and despite the snowy weather the hall was always cleaned up.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matteo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIGuestRelations, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Guest,

I wish to thank you for your kind words and review. We are excited to be undergoing a property wide refresh that when completed will showcase a new concept and look. We have to date completed renovations to over 60 guestrooms and reviews have been very positive. In the New Year we will open our new Garden Grille and Bar and a new venue The Backyard Lounge and Patio. I hope you have the chance to return to us to experience our new product.

Once again thank you for your kind review of us and for your patience during our renovations.

Cheers

Michael Sieger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    511
    269
    74
    14
    9
See reviews for
271
205
40
266
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Mcmurray
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Hotel was under construction and we were not notified when we booked. Very loud noise and entrance kept changing because of construction. Pool was under construction as well. We did not use the gym because it was to close to the construction and the noise was louder in that area. The check in also moved and you could not hear the conversation with the staff if you needed to.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
2 Thank Albert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIGuestRelations, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Guest,

I want to thank you for your candid review of us. We are completing a property wide refresh that is very exciting but no doubt has caused some grief along the way. I hope you will visit us again to see our new look and experience our western hospitality.

Once again we are sorry that you experienced some disruption during your stay.

Michael Sieger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We had to make a last minute change to our reservation before we arrived and the staff member Max was extremely helpful in doing that change for us. The hotel was all under renovation, so I felt that the price of the room should have been cheaper. Instead, it was more expensive than rooms at different hotels of the same calibre that weren't under construction. We got to use the pool, but its a good thing we used it when we did because the next day it was closed for construction. There was also no room service due to construction, and other things were closed. Our little family was quite happy in our room. It was quiet, and comfortable. For some reason the hotel bed pillows are so soft, that they feel like you aren't even using a pillow (that would be a bad thing)Everything was clean and all the hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We in particular liked chatting with our Filipino house keeper. We also enjoyed the company of your two ladies working at the breakfast buffet. They were so welcoming and good with our children. They spoiled them with lots of treats! We really appreciated them. One thing I also noticed was that the sidewalks were not shoveled so we had to trek in heaps of snow to get to our cars. That is not an easy feat with a 1 year old and a 4 year old. I just hope in the future, if something such as construction is going to be happening in the hotel, and services are effected, that there should be a noticeable discount for the inconvenience.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Devin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIGuestRelations, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Guest,

I want to thank you for your comments, despite our best efforts renovations can be challenging especially when the property remains a popular choice. I am glad that our service met your expectations and I will focus on the areas you mentioned so that we may learn for the future.

Once again thank you for taking the time to review us and we hope that you will return to see our exciting refresh to be completed by years end.

Michael Sieger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I would just like to say I had an Amazing stay here. all the staff especially kaitlin at the front desk. yulia and manny in the restaurant made my stay feel like home. they're are very accommodating and no matter how busy they are they always greet me when I enter and always ask how my day was and if there's anything they can do for me. I found kaitlin at the front desk especially amazing. she was very professional and personable at the same time. I would highly recommend staying at this establishment

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bradreay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIGuestRelations, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Guest,

I am so happy to see that your stay with us was a positive experience, I will share your kind words with those identified. We strive to make each and every guest feel at home when they stay with us.

Thank you for sharing your comments with us.

Michael Sieger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Great business hotel in a good location with friendly, efficient staff. Onsite parking, close to mall and other retail. Very good selection of restaurants within walking distance and more within a short drive. Staff are friendly and helpful and work quickly to get you settled when you arrive. Quick and efficient departure too with the room receipt slipped quietly under your door. Have stayed here in the past and would certainly do so again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIGuestRelations, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Guest,

I want to thank you for your kind review of us and for being patient with us during our exciting property renovations.

Cheers!

Michael Sieger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albera
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

DO NOT stay here. It is under construction which is very loud and dusty. It is located right next to a very busy fire station and staff are rude. Elevators are very slow because the contractors are using them.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy99Albera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIGuestRelations, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Please accept our sincere apologies for any hassle, frustration, or noise issues our current construction has caused you. We strive to inform every guest of our improvements and regret this was not outlined when you booked your stay. We hope you will return to see all the exciting changes we are making once our renovations are complete so we may show you the quality hospitality and accommodations you have come to expect from our family of hotels.

Thank you,


Michael Sieger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 15 November 2013

I enjoyed my stay. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Our meeting room was organized as requested and the staff was very helpful. I really like the pool and hot tub, nice to find a hot tub that is really hot. I am recommending this hotel to my friends, it is close to the West Edmonton Mall and many other tourist places.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Terry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIGuestRelations, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the management and staff of the Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton we thank you for taking the time to share a review of us. We strive to make each and every guest feel at home when they stay with us. Our current property renovations while exciting have been a challenge for some guests. Thanks for your patience and we hope to see you again soon.

Cheers

Michael Sieger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Place LaRue
Hampton Inn and Suites by Hilton Edmonton/West
Courtyard Edmonton West
#2 of 93 in Edmonton
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Place LaRue
Hyatt Place Edmonton-West
Hyatt Place Edmonton-West
#12 of 93 in Edmonton
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton

Property: Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton
Address: 17610 Stony Plain Rd NW, Edmonton, Alberta T5S 1A2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Edmonton
#7 Romantic Hotel in Edmonton
#8 Best Value Hotel in Edmonton
#9 Business Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton is 20 minutes away from Downtown Edmonton and only 5 minutes away from the West Edmonton Mall. It is located on 178th Street and Stony Plain Road. This vibrant hotel offers 160 beautifully appointed guest rooms, popular recreational facilities such as heated swimming pool and hot tub, reasonably priced casual dining service in the Garden Grille & Bar and newly openend Backyard Lounge & Patio, free Wi-Fi and local phone calls, only to list a few. The Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton is sure to cater to your needs whether it for business or a nice getaway, "We Speak Success!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn West Edmonton Hotel Edmonton
Hilton Garden Inn Edmonton
Edmonton Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Edmonton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing