We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvelous for Fort Edmonton Viewing”
Review of Hotel Selkirk

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Selkirk
Ranked #59 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Reviewed 4 July 2014

If staying at the Hotel Selkirk is part of your experiencing Fort Edmonton, there is no better way to do it. If you're just looking for a place to stay, you'll want a different hotel. For us, it was almost perfect. We had a suite just above the hotel doors, therefore a fantastic view of 1905 Street and part of 1920 Street. Having the opportunity to walk around the park after hours when it was quiet was also a big plus. The two rooms themselves were nice with a bit of a 1920's feel. No TV - which was a huge blessing. Instead of a shower, we had a tub. It took longer to bathe, but gave a nice feel. Even the telephones were made with a 1920's look. It would have been nice to have a small fridge - maybe they could have labeled it as "icebox"! Our room also was named after a well known Edmontonian family and they actually had information about the family in a book in the room. Overall, a very good experience.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bertram S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

My husband and I just spent a night at Hotel Selkirk down at Fort Edmonton Park. What a beautiful setting for a hotel-surrounded by authentic original and replicated historic buildings. You feel like you're staying in a beautiful pioneer Alberta town with the Saskatchewan river running through. The hotel itself is basic-rooms are more retro rather than original turn of the century however I liked the fact that there are no Tv;s in the room. Everything is reasonably new there -furniture and bathrooms appear to have not been worn in yet. We went at a very quite time-on a Tuesday,so the restaurant was hankering for guests to go to dinner. We had plans for dinner however went for breakfast in the hotel and had a lovely Eggs Benedict and Blueberry brioche french toast. The staff were friendly..loved the housekeeping in original maid clothing.
I know this would be a great place for a group getaways, couples or for families. Get those kids turning off the electronics and TV and walk about learning history. The John Jansen nature centre is close by so another opportunity to take in local programming and enjoy the trails close by. As an Albertan I enjoyed tapping into a little Edmonton history. What a treat to stay at a place like this instead of at your generic hotel. I look forward to going again some time. Check it out!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Britgirl63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

bed was saggy in middle, shower didn't work in the suite,toilet paper cheapest ever used, no shampoo and conditioner in room,toilet flooded and no tv! I just felt the room was put together cheap and it was no way in any way old fashioned to show the times.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zzzzzzzz663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzzette M, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Selkirk, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Good afternoon,

Thank you so much for the feedback. We really appreciate it. We are very sorry to hear about your experience and will look for ways to improve quality and service.

Have a great day,

Fort Edmonton Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We were booked here for one night during our short roadtrip to Edmonton from Calgary. I had booked this hotel because it seemed like an interesting concept, and we had wanted to visit the park anyways so the fact that the park admission was included was a nice bonus.

I booked the hotel over two weeks in advance of our stay and when we arrived, we learnt that it was AMA day, where 6000 school children were visiting the park with their schools. It would have been nice to have been informed that this was occurring during our stay but it wasn't awful. It was hectic and slightly frustrating to have young children running wild inside the park but we could deal with this.

While we walked around the park, we went into the hotel to ask about instructions of how we could enter the hotel later that evening. We were greeted first by the AMA volunteers who informed us the hotel was closed the afternoon for a private function. We told them we had reservations at the hotel so they let us through. We were then greeted by a gentleman not dressed in uniform and was rather rude. When we asked him for directions for access to the hotel after hours, he was short and impatient with his answers.

We returned later in the afternoon for check in. Getting back in was no issue, and the staff at the gate was quite nice. Check-in staff seemed uninterested and didn't even bother to stand up to speak to us. We went to our room which was small (expected), but seemed cozy.

The reason I rated this hotel poorly in addition to some service issues:
1) The sheets were AWFUL. They were scratchy and stiff and absolutely uncomfortable to sleep in.
2) The walls were paper thin. There were a few families that stayed that night and a few groups as well. I know this, despite not seeing anyone else in the hallway, because we could hear every conversation and footstep that went past our room. This included ladies chatting away late in the night, and kids running up and down the corridor early the next morning.

Overall, I think the idea is nice. It was kind of exciting to be inside a theme park during off hours and see it completely empty. It was also great price-wise considering two adult admissions were included. However, we would not recommend this hotel to our friends because we had an awful night's sleep which was not ideal for a 2-day roadtrip.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzzette M, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Selkirk, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Good morning,

Thank you for the feedback. We are very sorry to hear about your experience. Our Guest Services staff should have informed you about the event at the time of booking. We are speaking with all departments involved to make sure this does not happen again.

We will also look into improving sheet quality in the Hotel Selkirk guest rooms.

If you have any other concerns, please do not hesitate to contact us at 780-496-7381.

Regards,

Fort Edmonton Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The Hotel Selkirk is a wonder place to take your significant other for a romantic getaway. Have a nice dinner at the Johnson Cafe, a drink in the Mahogany Bar. The rooms are nice, the atmosphere is wonderful, the staff is terrific. I ordered ice, and room service showed up in period clothes with a towel over his arm.

Best of all...no TV in the room. ;-)

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BrWayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel the night before EPF half marathon for the convenience for me to be able to shower right after. The hotel was still not officially opened, but did for the race. Because of being too early (season normally starts May long weekend) the restaurant was not open yet but the booking included breakfast. The manager went out of his way to get his chef to make pastries and set up a mini continental breakfast. Wow :) The manager mentioned to us he is trying to have the hotel open year round and operate it like a normal hotel.
The hotel is very clean and the staff friendly. We stayed on the 3rd floor overlooking the park and it felt like we were in early 1900 Edmonton. The rooms are modern but still feel like you are in the right period with the lack of TV, just a radio. Bed was very comfortable 9even though I did not sleep well due to noise from a private wedding party that night and pre-race jitters).
My wife and I definately plan on staying there again in the future for next years' race and maybe even once in the summer to enjoy the park a little longer.
A few years ago we did have lunch in the hotel restaurant while visiting the park and the food was top quality.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wylde-p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Attended the 2013 New Year's Party at the Hotel Selkirk and spent the night. This is a comfortable property run in the best of the European tradition. Thomas - the General Manager - and staff go out of their way to ensure that guests are comfortable and well cared for. A wonderful experience - plus the food was outstanding. Well done folks.

Room Tip: The deluxe suites are worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank farrider58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Matrix Hotel
#10 of 93 in Edmonton
2,710 reviews
Union Bank Inn
#28 of 93 in Edmonton
347 reviews
Metterra Hotel on Whyte
#6 of 93 in Edmonton
1,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairmont Hotel Macdonald
#12 of 93 in Edmonton
1,068 reviews
Calgary Trail North
Delta Hotels by Marriott Edmonton South Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Selkirk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Selkirk

Address: 1920 Street | Fort Edmonton Park, Edmonton, Alberta T6H 4P3, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Price Range: £103 - £311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Selkirk 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Selkirk is located in Fort Edmonton Park and is a reconstruction of an 1920's hotel that was originally located on Jasper Avenue. Hotel Selkirk plays a vital part of the Park and is a fully functioning modern hotel with guest rooms available from May 20th - September 2012. All guest rooms have WiFi, En-Suite, desk, coffee machine and some rooms overlooking the 1920's streets.A complimentary admission to Fort Edmonton Park is included with your night's accommodation. You can go back in time and ride the stream train, walk amongst the local villagers making bannock, sample fresh baked goods and fudge at the Jasper House Bakery, from only a few steps from your hotel room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Selkirk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Selkirk Hotel Edmonton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing