We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service not up to par”
Review of Rosso

Rosso
Reserve with OpenTable
Rosso is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #70 of 2,416 Restaurants in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Service not up to par”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

This is our fourth trip to Rosso. We arrived at 10:15 pm and were promptly seated, and given menus right away. We ordered drinks and it took forever for them to arrive, while the staff laughed and danced behind the counter. Glad they were having a good time. We waited so long to have our order taken that we had to call over another staff member to take the order. The food arrived and was very good. We asked to order dessert and were told the kitchen was closed (11:15 pm). Really? After waiting so long for service we could not have a full meal? We should have been told of this when we arrived. Asked to speak to the manger and were told "the owner is sitting over there (eating) with his friends - you can go up to his table and speak to him." Yikes.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RiderGirl48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    23
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Simply Amazing Pizza”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

I absolutely loved this place. The food is extremely good. The pizzas are substantial and beautifully prepared and presented. The coffee is streets and streets ahead of most other coffee joints in either Edmonton or Calgary. The service was efficient and friendly. I would wholeheartedly recommend this place to anyone who wants a great pizza at a decent price. Heading back there in a few weeks!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anderses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
142 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Good friendly place”
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

This is a friendly place that combines good food and pleasant surroundings. Located near u of a. I had the prawn and scallop appetizer that was outstanding.

I forgot my credit card at the restaurant. With help from my server who recalled a few details from our conversation the owner tracked me down to get the card back to me. I was really impressed

Helpful?
Thank OldFart06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“simple & delicious”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

This restaurant has beautiful decor, classic vibe and great food. The menu brought back fond memories of childhood where we ate rapini & homemade sausage 4 or 5 nights a week. I love it. Price is right, service is non-instrusive. No BS or gimmicks here.

Will be back.. many times. Hats off Rosso... hats off!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BodumBiscuits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolfville, Canada
Level Contributor
744 reviews
360 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Yummy bruschetta, pizza and gelato!”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

What a fun place. A colleague and I were staying in the area and looked up options on Trip Advisor, and this one fit the bill. We had to wait about 10 minutes for a table, which wasn't bad at all. We started off by sharing a three-type bruschetta appetizer, and then had a pizza with potato, gorgonzola cheese and rosemary. And who could resist the gelato, especially since we were sitting directly across from it. Try the tiramisu (that would be gelato) if you want a tasty treat! The only downside is that Rosso's is noisy, which does add to the ambiance, just not when you are trying to carry on a conversation. The coffee is just so-so. The service was great.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ToTravelIsBrilliant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rosso also viewed

Edmonton, Alberta
Edmonton, Alberta
 
Edmonton, Alberta
 

Been to Rosso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing