We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go with good friends to enjoy a sharing evening”
Review of Rge RD

Rge RD
Ranked #15 of 2,405 Restaurants in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
St. Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
188 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Go with good friends to enjoy a sharing evening”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We started with the appetizers and never stopped. Our waiter was very helpful in assisting our selections. We spent over 3 hours and never made it to the entrees. The food is well prepared. It is nice to eat locally sourced food. The selection of food lends to sharing, so the more good friends you take the better the experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kenn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    55
    18
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
80 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Cool dining experience! Foodies rejoice.”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

This is one of those new age restaurants with fresh food and unique menu options. It's a smaller spot with a more modern interior. I loved how the dishes were recommended to be shared and the family style dining experience... It was a tad pricey but it's all about the food!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Reneewiseone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“My best dining experience to date!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Had a fantastic dining experience! The service was fast, professional and the wait staff knows their food inside and out. For a modest price, the chef puts together a 6 course meal that isn't on the menu and is a complete surprise. I had: Thinly sliced dry cured smoked sausage on asparagus woth beurre blanc, pan seared cod cheeks on stinging nettle niochi with pancetta, cooked barley mixed with various bits of liver and other organs served on home made porchetta slices, a basil sorbet palet cleanser, a seared chicken leg beside a bacon wrapped asparagus terrine, nouveau beef (just slightly too old to be called veal)on wild mushrooms with a pork stuffed morrel mushroom and a honey parfait for desert topped with Saskatoon berry compote!

Helpful?
Thank Chris_Hickson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
154 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Range Road Really Good Place to Eat”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We ate at the hot new restaurant Range Road that is in the same building that another good restaurant called the Blue Pear used to be in. It's a small room and the decor was noticeably country. The ingredients from the dishes are from local farmers. Our waiter spoke very quickly & was charismatic. We started with scallops on a little sphere of apple that had a nice late citrusy taste. Next were gnocchi and cod tongues that were decidedly delicious. It was my favourite of the night. There is another treat that was one of the most unique tasty things I've ever experienced a basal sorbet that was very refreshing and was absolutely amazing. We did the five-course meal and since I'm a pescatarian and while others had the pork they brought me out the perogies that were very good but when isn't a perogy amazing? I had potato square drizzled with tomato broth. The others had potato with the beef. The dessert was a honey frozen pudding. All in all a really good experience & a nice place to eat but I still wouldn’t put it in Edmonton’s Top 10 restaurants, Top 15-20 maybe

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CMacDRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta,Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, amazing food”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Came here for my wife's birthday and we were not disappointed. Atmosphere is rustic with some touches of modern. Service was quick, friendly, and unobtrusive. We ordered the perogies, and mussels for starters. Both were excellent!!! Mains were the Icelandic Cod and Bison. Both dishes were cooked to perfection and very tasty. Had the scorched honey pudding with pop rocks for dessert. Loved it. Mixed drinks were top notch. To top off the evening while we were waiting for our cab we were given two complimentary glasses of sparkling wine. If you like good food, this is the place to go. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank Mitmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rge RD also viewed

 
Edmonton, Alberta
 

Been to Rge RD? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing