We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Marriott in Canada”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Edmonton Marriott at River Cree Resort
Ranked #39 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Best Marriott in Canada”
Reviewed 4 August 2011

I used to stay at this hotel about a 5 days a month when I had business in Edmonton and always loved it. It my new position I no longer go to Edmonton every month, but instead to Toronto 2 weeks a month. The Edmonton River Cree is a night and day difference between any of the Marriotts Ive stayed at in Toronto (or across Canada for that matter). I was recently back at the River Cree and realized how much I missed the facility, the people, the excellent service and the attention to detail. Congrats to all of the staff, from the concierge lounge, to the front desk, to the cleaning staff - you continue to differentiate yourself from all others. Well done - Laudersmith

Room Tip: 9th Floor is the Top Floor & has the Concierge lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauder_Calgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    150
    87
    30
    24
See reviews for
81
137
24
123
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

I stayed here for four nights on business. I was extremely impressed by the cleanliness of the hotel and my room. The carpets, linens, walls, shower curtain, etc. were pristine. I noticed that other reviewers had commented on the smell of cigarette smoke in the hotel, but I could not smell anything until I entered the casino.

All of the meals served by the conference services were excellent; some of the best quality conference food I've ever had. I also ate once at the buffet, and once from the a la carte menu, and I thought the quality was quite good for the price.

I thought that the gym was very clean, modern and well equipped with cardio machines and free weights. The pool was on the smaller side, but also clean and big enough to do some laps if you're alone.

Probably one of the best perks is the free shuttle service that runs every half hour to West Edmonton Mall. This hotel is really in the middle of nowhere, so if you are here for several days, and not a gambler, you will be looking to get out... and the mall is really the only major attraction nearby. Parking is also free which is nice, as is wi-fi in the lobby. In-room wi-fi is around $15/day I believe, which I found a bit unreasonable. I did appreciate that they had a computer and printer in the lobby so that you can check-in and print your boarding pass before heading to the airport.

Overall, good hotel, good service, good food... but pretty isolated.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TropicalMeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alberta
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

This hotel was great. The rooms were clean and comfortable with lots of amenities. The hotel itself is attached to a casino, show room and ice skating facility. We went here for our staff Christmas party and had dinner, drinks and enjoyed the casino. For dinner we went to the buffet restaurant which I found a bit expensive for the level of food that was available. The restaurant was very busy and although the staff was pleasant, the service wasn't fabulous. I spoke to other patrons who had gone to the steak house and they gave it rave reviews.
The casino does allow smoking which bothered some of our party who are non smokers.
Overall, I found the staff extremely helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claudie187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Prairie, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2011

While the staff are friendly and the hotel inviting, it is not worth the money. Parties and gatherings in the hallway in the very early morning hours are plenty and you will not get any sleep! I don't know why, but calling the front desk with a promise of "it will be looked after" does not come with any positive result. Very surprised that there is not a small refrigerator in the room - would be very hand for a bottle of water, yogurt and fruit. If you want high speed internet access it will cost you over $16.00/day. I cannot think of any other hotel I have stayed at that did not offer free internet access.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aklak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lloydminster, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2011

River Cree has it all in one spot. Casino, restaurants, lounges...even an ice rink. The service in the buffet restaurant is awesome! A+++. Hotel desk staff really friendly. Not sure why we could not get any service in the main lounge area by anyone but the bartender? We watched hockey as well and played a bit in the Casino.

I really DO NOT LIKE THE SMOKE in the Casino. BLECK! Hopefully this changes for everyones health.

The rooms are awesome, the bed and linens are 5 star for sure.

The pool & whirlpool are ok.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RodeoFoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2011

This is a new clean and really nice hotel. There is an attached casino that allows smoking as the resort is on Native land. The restaurants are all inside the casino so there is no way to get away from the smoke. Fortunately our group had a dinner in one of the event rooms. We enjoyed a fantastic meal without the smoky flavour. The rooms were very nice with a very comfortable bed and linens. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The hotel is a tad isolated so unless you you have transportation it's awkward to get around.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MontyCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 December 2010

The Marriott has always been one of my favorite hotels to stay at. The staff was extra friendly and helpful. West Edmonton Mall is only a 10 minute car ride away which was really handy for us. Having a few restaurants and a starbucks in the hotel was perfect for when we didn't want to leave the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingfashi0nista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Courtyard Edmonton West
#2 of 93 in Edmonton
699 reviews
Place LaRue
Hampton Inn and Suites by Hilton Edmonton/West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairmont Hotel Macdonald
#11 of 93 in Edmonton
1,012 reviews
The Westin Edmonton
#20 of 93 in Edmonton
1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edmonton Marriott at River Cree Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edmonton Marriott at River Cree Resort

Property: Edmonton Marriott at River Cree Resort
Address: 300 East Lapotac Blvd | Enoch, Edmonton, Alberta T7X 3Y3, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Edmonton
#4 Luxury Hotel in Edmonton
#16 Romantic Hotel in Edmonton
#25 Business Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Edmonton Marriott at River Cree Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Edmonton Marriott at River Cree Resort is a top choice among hotels near West Edmonton Mall, the airport, and downtown Edmonton. Our Edmonton hotel's locations is ideal for business and leisure travellers, as it features meeting and conference rooms, a complimentary shuttle to West Edmonton Mall, 3 restaurants, a casino, 2 NHL-sized hockey rinks, an indoor pool, and a fitness centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Edmonton Marriott at River Cree Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edmonton Marriott At River Cree Hotel Edmonton
Marriott Edmonton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing