We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Edmonton Marriott at River Cree Resort
Ranked #39 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 7 July 2010

We stayed overnight here for a quick trip to Edmonton, booking online at priceline using their bid system we didn't know where we were going to end up. It was a great surprise.
About 10 min drive to West Edmonton Mall, we found it a great location, exactly where we wanted to be. They have a good pool, great casino and a couple of hockey rinks attached that made it different. We only had a basic room but it was very comfortable.
The room service was also really good, when they forgot to bring us some silverware they offered a free dessert as compensation. All the staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful.
The only complaint I had was the weird fire alarm on the ceiling that kept blinking brightly all night. Other than that there was no complaints and I recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sir_Hayward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    150
    87
    30
    24
See reviews for
81
137
24
123
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
638 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2010

This is a tough review to write as the hotel is good but the casino influence creates some negatives. All staff in the hotel are extremely friendly and helpful. There is ample free parking and the rooms are well laid out. Although it appears the hotel is located in the middle of nowhere, it is actually a 10 minute drive from the West Edmonton Mall. The bathrooms are superb. I found the bed far too soft and only feather pillows (very soft) were available. My biggest complaint was the catering set-up as I was at the hotel for a three day conference. The serving staff were efficient and friendly and the dinner food quite good. The Continental breakfast, however, was terrible. The biggest problem was the bar system each night as you had to buy tickets that were of a wide variety of categories (at expensive prices); this translated into constant long line-ups with less than efficient staff. It was an unnecessary annoyance. Overall, the hotel is good and well staffed but there were "cheap" aspects to it that were an irritant.

Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Weerobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2010

I stayed here for a conference held at the hotel. While the property is nice enough and is still fairly new, there is little to commend it in light of the steep room rate that I paid there.

The Good

-Nice, clean, well appointed rooms with solid, quiet construction
-Big free parking lot with visible security presence (there is a casino, after all)
-Service is pleasant
-Nice convention facilities
-Pretty good pool and gym
-Decent selection of restaurants, bars and cafes

The Bad

-Pricey room rate. I paid nearly $200 a night, which is OK for a downtown location but seems a bit much for the middle of nowhere. Not good value for money in my books
-Not a lot to do nearby. There is a free shuttle to West Edmonton Mall, but you need to rent a car if you plan to go anyplace else.
-$16 a day for high speed internet, which is just stupid. And that isn't for 24 hours - if you stay for one night they ding you for two days. That was enough to keep me from coming back in the future.

There is also a casino on the property which can be a good or bad thing depending on your views on the subject.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patrolman_pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
1 review
Reviewed 6 March 2010

The staff could not be more amazing.
We didn't want for a thing!
Will definately recommend to all of my friends.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VictoriaSnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2010

I stayed at the Marriott to attend a huntingshow that was held there last week. Upon arrival i was great by a friendly older guy by the name of Richard i think, he was very pleasant always smiling and went out of his way to open the door at all time. While i was there i had the opportunity to meet with a wonderful petite lady from the front desk name is Renee she was always happy to help and in the right place at the right making sure we had every thing we need for our boot. A professional lady who understand what excellent service is all about. Renee is a great aset to this hotel and i look forward to the same level of service next time. Good job to the management for such great team.

Favia at the buffee was very helpful and the food was great.

Only bad thing smoking in the casino which affect hotel guest which should be 100% none smoking this is not accesptable.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyCustomerTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2010

We booked this hotel in April '08 on a leisure trip and it was fantastic! The staff were friendly and the hotel's decor is quite pleasing to the eye. We booked an "Escape Romance" package that included a king size room, which when we arrived had strawberries dipped in white and dark chocolate made to look like "tuxedos" and a bottle of chilled wine. A delicious hot buffet breakfast from the Kitchen Buffet and Bistro was also included and was amazing! The beds were really comfy, the room & bath were very clean, no complaints. We booked this hotel again in September '09 for the first leg of our Rockies trip for our anniversary.......Again, with the same package that we booked in April and again the stay was fantastic! We were upgraded to concierge and were welcomed again with the strawberries, wine, soft fluffy robes and slippers and access to the concierge lounge. I will stay here every time I have the chance when I'm in Edmonton.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShimmerCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2010

We went to this hotel for about 4 days it was good aside from being evicted out of our room because we were noisy and we had buissness ppl staying beside us so we got taken to another room down the hall. great restuarants but for hating smokers and the smell i hated the fact that their was a smoking section in the casino and we saw a couple ppl smoking outside the smokers area which was gross. great service everything was great except the smoke and the area is very isolated

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jellybean19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Courtyard Edmonton West
#2 of 93 in Edmonton
699 reviews
Place LaRue
Hampton Inn and Suites by Hilton Edmonton/West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairmont Hotel Macdonald
#11 of 93 in Edmonton
1,012 reviews
The Westin Edmonton
#20 of 93 in Edmonton
1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edmonton Marriott at River Cree Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edmonton Marriott at River Cree Resort

Property: Edmonton Marriott at River Cree Resort
Address: 300 East Lapotac Blvd | Enoch, Edmonton, Alberta T7X 3Y3, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Edmonton
#4 Luxury Hotel in Edmonton
#16 Romantic Hotel in Edmonton
#25 Business Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Edmonton Marriott at River Cree Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Edmonton Marriott at River Cree Resort is a top choice among hotels near West Edmonton Mall, the airport, and downtown Edmonton. Our Edmonton hotel's locations is ideal for business and leisure travellers, as it features meeting and conference rooms, a complimentary shuttle to West Edmonton Mall, 3 restaurants, a casino, 2 NHL-sized hockey rinks, an indoor pool, and a fitness centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Edmonton Marriott at River Cree Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edmonton Marriott At River Cree Hotel Edmonton
Marriott Edmonton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing