We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was almost like staying with family.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Maria Country Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 29 Edmonton B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 6 July 2009

We stayed at the Villa Maria for 3 nights. The accommodations are clean and comfortable. The breakfasts are amazing and very filling. We appreciated how our hosts helped us with all the little details. We were travelling by plane with a small child and Mimi provided us with a highchair and playpen to use at no extra cost. They are currently working on a common room/dining room for their guest. This will be a great addition to the B & B. We had a small family reunion at this location. Also, it is very close to West Edmonton Mall (less than 10 minutes drive). I would highly recommend this Bed and Breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danelle79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 264 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2009

In February I stayed at the Villa Maria Country prior to an interview. I was made to feel extremely welcome from the moment I stepped out of the plane to the moment I returned to the airport. They personally came to pick me up from the airport and even rushed me back to catch my flight after my interview ran late.

Every second I was there, they made me feel like family. From drives to West Edmonton Mall to ensure that I had food to eat, a surprise freshly baked evening snack, to a breakfast made to your specifications.

If I come back to Edmonton I would definitely stay here again. They built the bed and breakfast themselves and it is perfect. With farmland surrounding the area, it is a peaceful oasis. Yet you are close enough to the city amenities to reach them quickly when needed.

The rooms are large, with your own bathrooms, and the bed is extremely comfortable. It is like having a home away from home.

Highly recommended to all in the area. You can tell this family runs this B&B from their heart and you will leave wanting to go back again soon.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vkm2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mimisteve, Owner at Villa Maria Country Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2009

We'd like to send our heartfelt thanks to all our guests who have taken the time to register with TripAdvisor and leave us a review. Your kind words have made what we already enjoy doing that much more fulfilling! We look forward to seeing you all again and thank you for giving us the opportunity to be your home away from home.
Warmest Regards,
Mimi and Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2009

When I booked a night in the Villa Maria Country Inn, I was just looking for a bed and breakfast in the northwestern part of Edmonton. This one suited the criteria and was also the first one which had rooms available. It seems like you are staying on the edge of Edmonton, but you are at the WEM in no time and also the city center is not too far away. Mimi and Stephane were two very pleasant hosts which made the stay very comfortable. They are interested in their guests and very kind to kids. Due to their openness, the atmosphere was very familial. I can only recommend this B&B and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Axl322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2009

This was my first experience at a bed and breakfast and my expectations were surpassed. The hosts, Mimi and Stephan, were amazing. It felt like we were staying with friends; much better than an impersonal hotel room. In the morning, we were served a great, made from scratch, breakfast and each night there was a sweet treat left in our room before bed. When we hit the road on our last day there, Mimi had cake left over from the night before and she sent it with us for our trip home.

The location was perfect! It was on the edge of town in an area that I think was zoned urban agricultural. Each time we returned to the inn, we were able to drive past the sheep, goat and horse, yet it was only 5 minutes from the West Edmonton Mall. On the day that we planned on going swimming at the Mall, Mimi gave us towels to take with us so we wouldn't have to rent them at the mall.

I have been raving about this country inn to all my friends! If you are planning on staying in Edmonton, I highly encourage you to stay at the Villa Maria!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amelenchuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2009

I have stayed at this property 4 times now and enjoy my stay every time. The hosts Maria and Stephan make you feel right at home and serve a great breakfast. The price is also a great value for what you get. 5 minutes to West Edmonton mall and the west end and a simple drive to the airport and I believe they offer shuttle services but you will have to contact them to make sure. Great place and I will be going back.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mitmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2009

We've stayed at the Villa Maria Country Inn on a number of occasions now, and the quality of service, food and room cleanliness has always been the very best! Stephan and Maria are wonderful people, and more than willing to make your stay peaceful and comfortable.

The Villa Maria Country Inn is in Edmonton's west end. Access is easy, and a trip downtown or to West Edmonton Mall is quick and easy.

The Villa Maria is no ordinary Bed & Breakfast. It was designed & built for Maria in order to provide the very best small country inn experience. The Villa is spacious, quiet and impeccably clean. The decor is eye catching and pleasing.

The food is mouthwateringly tasty! Both Stephan and Maria cook, and they're masters! You have to stay here just to enjoy their breakfasts!

The prices are very reasonable...especially given the quality of the inn, the service and the food. It is affordable to families who wish to experience the best a Bed & Breakfast has to offer.

After having stayed here a few times, we have come to be friends with the owners, making staying here so much more enjoyable than any hotel could hope to offer a client.

But don't believe me. Come stay with them and experience the best Bed & Breakfast Edmonton has to offer for yourself.

Kurt & Tamara B.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KurtandTamara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2009

The atmosphere was very inviting and warm when we came in. Meeting with Stephan and Maria was such a joy. They made you feel welcome as soon as you walked in the door! Our room was a one I think queen size bed?? We had our own bathroom/full shower. There was even a mini fridge to put beverages in and small food items if required. We came for a weekend of shopping at the West Edmonton Mall and also to the Galaxyland and Waterslides. The distance from the Villa to the Mall was no more than 10 minutes pending traffic. Maria and Stephan have maps to many places to see and do that are easy to follow. This B&B was nice and quiet away from noisy traffic and the hustle and bustle of city life. In the evening there was a night cap left for us - homemade cream puffs. We were asked what we would like for breakfast the next day and the choices were good and the food was so tasty and you were not hungry after. There was tea, coffee, and juice offered. We sat at your usual dining room setting but they were renovating while we were there so we are looking forward to see the exciting changes on our next weekend away! If we could have stayed longer it would not have been hard to stay and visit. Maria and Stephan - Thank you for an excellent memory and we are looking forward to visiting you again! I must add that the outside is adorned with beautiful flowers and shrubbery and Stephan is growing grapes too... the parking is in the front of the Villa and is concrete and nicely paved. If you had any doubts before you read this... I hope they are gone because it will be a very positive vacation away!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monique72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Place LaRue
Hampton Inn and Suites by Hilton Edmonton/West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Place LaRue
Holiday Inn Express & Suites West Edmonton-Mall Area
Place LaRue
Quality Inn West Edmonton
Quality Inn West Edmonton
#40 of 93 in Edmonton
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Maria Country Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Maria Country Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 9910 213 St NW, Edmonton, Alberta T5T 5X9, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Edmonton
Price Range: £53 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Maria Country Inn Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelling to Edmonton and area? Do you usually stay at a hotel or motel? If so, chances are you'll end up booking an over priced, ordinary room that will leave you second guessing your choice; why not consider staying with us instead? First off, you'll have to take any doubts or preconceived notions you may have about the B&B experience and throw them right out the window. No shared bathrooms here, no squeaky beds in the room next door, no one else's clutter in what's supposed to be "your" room, and no overzealous hosts to haunt your stay. From each suite's full bathroom, to our 1200 sq. ft. dining area, our restaurant quality kitchen where your hot breakfast is cooked to perfection, to our spacious and peaceful sitting areas, you'll find Villa Maria to be a most unique fusion between the elbow room of a hotel and warmth of a traditional B&B; truly the best of both worlds. Give Villa Maria Country Inn a try and you'll be pleasantly surprised at how close our B&B is to a more expensive and impersonal hotel or motel. We are located on 2 acres of land, well within the west end Edmonton neighborhood of Winterburn, offering our guests easy access to Downtown, Jasper & Whyte Avenues, Old Strathcona and the University of Alberta. The River Cree Casino, Snow Valley and Rabbit Hill ski areas are all within easy driving distance, as are several major highways, including the Anthony Henday Drive (direct route to and from Edmonton's International Airport) and, if all that wasn't enough to convince you, we’re only five minutes from the shopping and attractions of West Edmonton Mall! Headed farther west? Why not make Villa Maria the perfect stop-over your way to Jasper National Park and the majestic Canadian Rocky Mountains, only three and a half hours from our front door? ​Thanks to the satisfaction of our many guests, Tripadvisor reviewers voted us the #1 Bed & Breakfast in Edmonton not once, not twice, but 5 years in a row, earning us a spot in their Excellence Hall of Fame and giving you just one more reason to trust us with your accommodation needs. Bottom line, you will find our B&B hospitable, high in quality but not pretentious, warm but not overbearing, and always a great value. Book your stay with us and we're sure you'll agree that we are truly the best Bed & Breakfast in Edmonton. Safe travels and see you soon!! ​ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Villa Maria Country Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Edmonton
Edmonton Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing