We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful people - excellent service & food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Maria Country Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 29 Edmonton B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 13 September 2009

You will feel like in home. They are so nice (Mimi and Stephan)

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chileno09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 264 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2009

We are from Québec and we went to this place on our way to Jasper and it was great! Mimi and Stephan are the hosts and they welcomed us with smile and kindness; the room was clean and the beds and pillows were confortable; the breakfast was great! The location was just a few minutes from downtown Edmonton; Thank you!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QuebecCanada2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2009

We were a large group with teenagers who loved staying at this B&B. We have been going to this Inn since it opened. This was the first time we went with a large group and it was wonderful. Mimi and Stefan are the best host I've ever encountered and we have been many places in the world. We met some very nice people staying their also from other parts of the world and of Canada. This is a hidden paradise. It's close to the big mall and the city but is quiet and it's like being in some Euopean Inn. The breakfasts were amazing. We would and do recommend this to everyone. It's very clean, quiet, reasonable rates and great for families or for the single. You won't know there are other people around when your in your rooms. Its very quiet. Give it a try you won't be disappointed.
Dilia, Terrace, B.C.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diliaTerraceB_c_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Villa Maria for one night, and were very impressed with the B&B. We felt welcome from the moment we walked though the door. The room was spotless, and very comfortable. Our breakfast was more then filling, and delicious from start to finish. We would reccomend the Villa to everyone of our friends that would be taking a trip to Edmonton, and we will be sure to repeat our stay in the future.
Candace H.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kbenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2009

My husband and I have stayed at many Bed and Breakfasts, from Beaufort, South Carolina to Palacios on the Gulf Coast of Texas. I have to stay that the hospitality we experienced at Villa Maria was top notch. After reading the last review, I felt compelled to shed light on some of the "shadows" that might be lingering around this B and B due to that review. The reason we personally choose to stay at a bed and breakfast is for the hominess of the surroundings and the closeknit feeling we get from the hosts. Our take on this bed and breakfast is that the rooms were cozy and the in-room amenities, almost hotel-like. We had our own private bathroom right in the suite, which we loved because we've stayed at other inns where we've had to walk down the hall to shower (not fun). What we enjoyed most, outside of Mimi's generosity and genuine charm and wonderful cooking, was the fresh air and closeness to the Casino (Cree). The location was quite perfect for us. Thank you for having us- we'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rad65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2009

as B&B's go, this one leaves a lot to be desired. Yes, Stephan and Mimi are wonderful people, but we aren't reviewing people here, we're reviewing a B&B. The room we had was very minimalistic. The pillows were flat, the bed hard. We could hear everything in the house and felt as if everyone could hear us to. We stayed away as much as possible. Most B&B's have a common area where you can meet people, read their many books and make yourself a tea or coffee. There was none of this. The bathroom had reuseable containers for shampoo and conditioner with black labels to indicate which was which. Full marks for being green but not for the watered down products they contained.

As for the surroundings, I don't get the reviews. It is in a semi industrial quasi rural area. It is definitely not pretty and anyone who thinks so, needs to get out more. The pictures on the site depicting a lovely rural area are a joke.

Look around, I can't believe this is the best B&B in Edmonton. Trust me you can do much better. After seeing our room, we were going to decline and go to a hotel, but Mimi was so nice, we didn't think we could do it to her. This was a mistake I will never make again. Even the coat hangers were marked with magic marker and a number least someone be tempted to steal them.

If you are traveling on business or by yourself and just want a bed and a nice breakfast at a reasonable rate, then this will suffice. Otherwise do yourself a favour and shop around.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mauilover_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mimisteve, Owner at Villa Maria Country Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2009

We appreciate the time taken by our guests to rate our B&B and do our utmost to turn each review into an opportunity to improve our service and your guest experience. We most definitely do not rest on our laurels since, as is often the case, one should be able to use constructive feedback as a learning experience. That said, and keeping in mind that we cannot be all things to all people, we treat all of our guests with the dignity and respect we ourselves would expect, and we do not do this to elicit sympathy. We have have made it our signature to provide our guests, upon their arrival, with tea or coffee and impromptu, freshly baked treats, as described in other reviews. We do this free of charge and do not have one regret. The shampoo and conditioner bottles present in the rooms are not watered down rather, their viscosities seem to be such that some guests find them difficult to pour. In those cases, we realized some of the bottles were being watered down by our guests and appeared full upon inspection. We have since switched to pump dispensers so this should no longer be an issue. Our beds are top of the line Sealy Posturpedics purchased directly from the factory, some are even pillow-tops. Clearly everyone has their own preference as to the firmness they enjoy, but in the last 2 years we have been operating, we've recieved only compliments on the comfort of our beds. Again, although we'd love to, we simply cannot please everyone all of the time. Upon check-in, our guests are informed that should they require anything to make their stay more comfortable, be it a cup of tea before turning in or a softer/firmer pillow, all they need to do is ask and we will make every effort to oblige. The location of our B&B is not a secret to be revealed upon arrival. The vast majority of our guests appreciate our proximity to the highway and West Edmonton Mall. We are certainly located in a residential area and, as our name suggests there is a slight air of the country surrounding us due to the size of our property. As for the sound proofing of our home, it is improtant to understand that anywhere you stay, be it in a hotel or another B&B, the odds of hearing only the sounds you create are slim to none. Unfortunately, we cannot hermetically seal our rooms and if one has ever stayed in a hotel, one has surely heard the dings of elevators down the hall or the slamming of heavy doors, all of which, one won't experience at our B&B. Once again, we take this opportunity to thank all of our guests for their input and look forward to seeing them in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2009

We stayed at the Villa Maria for 3 nights. The accommodations are clean and comfortable. The breakfasts are amazing and very filling. We appreciated how our hosts helped us with all the little details. We were travelling by plane with a small child and Mimi provided us with a highchair and playpen to use at no extra cost. They are currently working on a common room/dining room for their guest. This will be a great addition to the B & B. We had a small family reunion at this location. Also, it is very close to West Edmonton Mall (less than 10 minutes drive). I would highly recommend this Bed and Breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danelle79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
La Boheme
#3 of 29 in Edmonton
32 reviews
Days Inn Edmonton Downtown
#67 of 91 in Edmonton
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairmont Hotel Macdonald
#13 of 91 in Edmonton
1,100 reviews
Place LaRue
Hampton Inn and Suites by Hilton Edmonton/West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Maria Country Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Maria Country Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 9910 213 St NW, Edmonton, Alberta T5T 5X9, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Edmonton
Price Range: £52 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Maria Country Inn Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelling to Edmonton and area? Do you usually stay at a hotel or motel? If so, chances are you'll end up booking an over priced, ordinary room that will leave you second guessing your choice; why not consider staying with us instead? First off, you'll have to take any doubts or preconceived notions you may have about the B&B experience and throw them right out the window. No shared bathrooms here, no squeaky beds in the room next door, no one else's clutter in what's supposed to be "your" room, and no overzealous hosts to haunt your stay. From each suite's full bathroom, to our 1200 sq. ft. dining area, our restaurant quality kitchen where your hot breakfast is cooked to perfection, to our spacious and peaceful sitting areas, you'll find Villa Maria to be a most unique fusion between the elbow room of a hotel and warmth of a traditional B&B; truly the best of both worlds. Give Villa Maria Country Inn a try and you'll be pleasantly surprised at how close our B&B is to a more expensive and impersonal hotel or motel. We are located on 2 acres of land, well within the west end Edmonton neighborhood of Winterburn, offering our guests easy access to Downtown, Jasper & Whyte Avenues, Old Strathcona and the University of Alberta. The River Cree Casino, Snow Valley and Rabbit Hill ski areas are all within easy driving distance, as are several major highways, including the Anthony Henday Drive (direct route to and from Edmonton's International Airport) and, if all that wasn't enough to convince you, we’re only five minutes from the shopping and attractions of West Edmonton Mall! Headed farther west? Why not make Villa Maria the perfect stop-over your way to Jasper National Park and the majestic Canadian Rocky Mountains, only three and a half hours from our front door? ​Thanks to the satisfaction of our many guests, Tripadvisor reviewers voted us the #1 Bed & Breakfast in Edmonton not once, not twice, but 5 years in a row, earning us a spot in their Excellence Hall of Fame and giving you just one more reason to trust us with your accommodation needs. Bottom line, you will find our B&B hospitable, high in quality but not pretentious, warm but not overbearing, and always a great value. Book your stay with us and we're sure you'll agree that we are truly the best Bed & Breakfast in Edmonton. Safe travels and see you soon!! ​ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Villa Maria Country Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Edmonton
Edmonton Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing