We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sad to see the decline of one of Edmonton's best places to eat”
Review of The Harvest Room

The Harvest Room
Reserve with OpenTable
The Harvest Room is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #30 of 2,441 Restaurants in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$39
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Cross street: Jasper Avenue
Description: The Harvest Room beckons with a warm and vibrant atmosphere, enhanced by a magnificent view of the North Saskatchewan River Valley. Diners enjoy award-winning cuisine featuring regional specialties such as Alberta beef, game, freshwater fish, and local produce. Our wine list features international labels, specifically chosen to balance our menus. Our concept is LOCAL. SEASONAL. SUSTAINABLE. The restaurant is open daily for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. We also offer weekend Royal Tea and Tour as well as Week day High tea ( Monday - Wednesday)
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Sad to see the decline of one of Edmonton's best places to eat”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This was one of Edmonton’s best restaurants for dining out on a regular basis or for special occasions and indeed our favourite. The food and its presentation, the service and the ambience were always so classy. Over the last thirty years or so, we had taken our friends from Europe and other places who were ever so impressed.
We went back after a fairly long gap and were disappointed to say the least. The quality of the ingredients have deteriorated – it includes frozen vegetables – peas for instance! The meat is of lower quality even if the portions are much larger than before. My steak looked less than appetising resting on a lumpy bed of mashed potato and the chimichurri sauce suffered from what looked like an accidental spill of olive oil. The waiter didn’t present the bottle of wine before pouring what looked like a half-measure!! He also asked us to pick our dessert selection along with our order for the first two courses and seemed to be in much hurry!! The desserts were fortunately still the highlight.
All in all, it seems we have lost one of Edmonton’s prides.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Atan59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    57
    27
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barbados
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good Hotel Fare”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

While I don't always eat in the hotels I'm staying at, I thought I'd take it easy and not venture out. I was not disappointed. The Harvest Room is a classic but the room could use a little pick up as it is quite 'tired'. The restaurant overlooks the North Saskatchewan River so has some nice views. The menu was good and had some good wine pairing suggestions with the main courses - well done Harvest Room - more restaurants should do this. I only ordered one course - the Beef Tenderloin, which was was good with excellent accompaniments but was over-cooked. This may have been my fault in ordering as I waivered between medium and medium rare. In any event it was still good. The Malbec wine pairing made up for the well done meat. So with the benefit of the doubt, I'll score this as Very Good. One last point - it is not inexpensive. 1 cocktail, 2 glasses of wine and 1 main with tip - $111.18.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ByrenToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
898 reviews
433 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
“One of Edmonton's best”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

The view of the river valley from the restaurant and hotel is beautiful. The service and food is fantastic. The staff acknowledge me by my Mr at least 10 times during our meal. The meal came with a buffalo ceviche which was fantastic. I had the strip loin which was perfectly prepared and my wife had the lamb. We had the lemon tart for dessert with a shortbread crust, it was delicious. The service at the Hotel MacDonald is always great and the ambience of the hotel, patio and Harvest Room is nice. Compared to other high end restaurants in Edmonton, this is one of my favourite and the cost is reflected in food quality and service.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank haileythegolden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Edmonton's best River Valley View on the Patio”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We treat ourselves every now and then to a meal at the Mac. Such a beautiful spot to relax and eat a casual meal with your family. Every meal we've had has been awesome. My daughter orders from the kids menu and she is always happy. Sitting on the patio I always feel like I'm on holidays. Wish we could go more often. The service is great and atmosphere can't be beat.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
1,291 reviews
738 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 523 helpful votes
“Excellent Patio Dining Experience”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We enjoyed the views of our wonderful river valley while having lunch at the Harvest Room and Confederation Lounge Patio. Service and good were excellent as were the beautiful flowers on display in the adjoining garden. They have one menu for the Harvest Room patio and a different menu for the Confederation Lounge patio - both offering spectacular views and nice seating arrangements. We went on a Thursday for a late lunch and were seated without reservations. The pitcher of Sangria was delicious as were the salads, chips and salsa and burger.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kpatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Harvest Room also viewed

 
Edmonton, Alberta
 
Edmonton, Alberta
 

Been to The Harvest Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing