We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome service”
Review of Mikado

Mikado
Reserve with OpenTable
Mikado is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #114 of 2,473 Restaurants in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$31
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 98 street
Transit: bus route 59 and 74
Edmonton
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome service”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

My friend and I dined there last Friday April 11, and had the Great Fortune of having Server "JOY " serving us. What a pleasant, courteous and competent young lady.
When we ever go back to dine there, it will only be if we have her as a server. The service was awesome.
We had a Bento Box and a 20 Mixed piece of Tempura, along with a bottle of wine.... It was one of the best meals we have had in a long time.
We applaud JOY for her soo Joyful and pleasant attitude along with a great sense of humour.
If I owned a business, I would want employees like Joy working for me. I hope management appreciate the Jewel that they have. Randy

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Randy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    29
    14
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Banff, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good food, good prices”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We had a good experience here- good food and reasonable prices. Forgotten by our server a couple times on a fairly busy Saturday afternoon, but otherwise good!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Banffperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent sushi and fantastic service”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

My friend had the foresight to book a booth....traditional japanese style....it was awesome....the food was fantastic, especially the dragons eye...service was the best I have had in a restaurant in Canada....waitress was very attentive and spot on !! Was a great place to come for sushi....I was very impressed and will be back again !

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“I gave them a chance . . .”
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Here is the text of an email that I sent to the management on Tuesday . . . It is now Friday and I haven't heard from them. Guess they don't care.

"I wanted to let you know that I had a very disappointing lunch experience on Tuesday this week. I ordered Bento A-1 with Sashimi. The salmon and tuna were dry and tough like it had been prepared the day or 2 before. I don’t think I have ever had dry sushi. The tempura was cold and limp. Isn’t tempura supposed to be crispy. The chicken tasted like pressed reconstituted chicken. I remember the old days when Mikado was on 116 street and an excellent place to eat.

So disappointing."

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelingmama51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great sashimi”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This is a great place for sashimi. The restaurant is nice, and the food is really fresh. The service could be quicker, but the food makes up for it.

Helpful?
Thank NilKor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mikado also viewed

 

Been to Mikado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing