We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome for vegans and vegetarians!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Padmanadi

Padmanadi
Ranked #3 of 2,376 Restaurants in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Central McDougall
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awesome for vegans and vegetarians!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

This little gem was great for us. Our daughter (5) didn't like it as much as we did, but we loaded up on food we normally can't eat at restaurants. The desserts were heavenly!
A must-do if you are in Edmonton and don't want to face the challenge of eating vegan in a traditional restaurant.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank canuck_chick_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    256
    99
    26
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent fake meat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Usually I find it hard to find halal meat so when I travel I become vegan. Loved the chicken strips and ginger beef! Flavourful. The eggplant was also great-the one cooked in coconut. Forgot the name. You won't be disappointed!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Min N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious vegan fare”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

I love Padmanadi so much. My partner and I often visit a few times a month, and we're never disappointed. Staff are lovely, and the quality of the food doesn't waver. The portions are really generous. Huge fan of the spicy eggplant! The desserts are decadent - how great is it to have the option of vegan cheesecake?

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Grace C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
164 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Never disapointed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

My daughter, who is a vegetarian, chose Padmanadi as her birthday dinner location as it is by far and wide her favourite place for food. The staff are always polite and proficient and the food, as usual was excellent. Each time I go I choose a different entree as I know that the chances of getting something I don't like are very slim. The atmosphere is calming and I like the Thai jungle decor. About the only minor downside t the location is that parking is not always easy to come by but a short walk is a very small price to pay for the excellent food.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Awesome restaurant and great service!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Padmanadi is a hidden gem. Apparantly it has been around for 12 years and I had never heard of it before.

This is a pure vegetarian restaurant that recreates asian dishes with tofu of different flavor and texture. We tried a "chicken", "beef", "pork" and "fish." The sauces and flavors were delicious! I highly reccommend eating here even if you are a meat eater.

The service here is wonderful - fast and efficient and checking up to see if we were enjoying everything. The decor is nice too. They have pictures of their regulars and employees up on their walls which is unique.

I don't particularly like its location but that is a minor complaint.

I can't wait to go back here!.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank anuinVAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Padmanadi also viewed

Edmonton, Alberta
 
Edmonton, Alberta
 

Been to Padmanadi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing