We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I've no real complaints but there's nothing special about this either”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Days Inn Edmonton South
Ranked #33 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“I've no real complaints but there's nothing special about this either”
Reviewed 15 June 2011

I spent one night here in June of 2011 while attending a conference at the U of A. It was a convenient location for somebody unfamiliar with Edmonton as it is close to Highway 2. The room was clean and your basic chain hotel fare in terms of furniture. The air conditioning worked fine. The view from the window was ugly, looking out onto what looked like an old auto body shop as there were clunkers in various stages of being stripped in the back yard. I didn't eat in the restaurant so can't comment on the quality of the food. However there's an excellent Chinese restaurant about 50 metres from the hotel, which is where I ate. There are several bars and restaurants not far away as Strathcona (the name of the area where the hotel is located) has a lot of university students so all in all, once you get away from the old industrial area the hotel sits in, it's a pretty cool area. The staff was friendly and helpful. There is a business centre with a fax machine and free Internet. If you want a clean place close to downtown where you can get a good sleep, then this is your kind of place. However do not expect much more than a standard chain hotel experience.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brianseaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysInnS-GM, General Manager at Days Inn Edmonton South, responded to this review, 8 August 2011
Thank you Brianseaman for taking the time to write down your thoughts on our property, all comments are important.

I'm glad Days Inn Edmonton south was comfortable for your stay during your U of A conference. We hope you choose us again in the future and hope that you may have a chance to try out our continental breakfast.

Sincerely, Zelia Silva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    144
    45
    16
    8
See reviews for
132
75
22
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Creston, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2010

We've stayed here a few times a year for the past couple of years. We keep coming back to this hotel because the rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable. We've found that not all but the majority of the staff are friendly and courteous. The hotel is fairly new and is located a couple of blocks off of Whyte Ave and is not far from the university. There's a complimentary breakfast bar which is simple but good. There's also a Tim Horton's and a McDonald's within a short walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dnpmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysInnS-GM, General Manager at Days Inn Edmonton South, responded to this review, 20 April 2011
Thank you for the comments, I appreciate that you took the time to rate our property.
Sincerely,
Zelia Silva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 December 2010

Very clean-Comfortable bed-Very Quiet-Decent continental breakfast-Staff friendly-Everything we needed and more!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandymc58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysInnS-GM, General Manager at Days Inn Edmonton South, responded to this review, 20 April 2011
Thank you for taking the time to evaluate the Days Inn Edmonton South. Your Comments are appreciated and we hope that you visit us again.
Sincerely,
Zelia Silva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2010

My friend and I took a quick trip to Edmonton to do some shopping on the Remembrance Day weekend. Arrived on Thursday afternoon. Check-in was super quick and the desk staff was very friendly. I redeemed Wyndham reward points, so the stay was free.
We were given a queen double on the ground floor - just off the lobby. It was fairly noisy until 10:00 and then was quiet for the rest of the night. Room had a fridge and microwave. The fridge we used for drinks. Beds were comfortable. Internet connection in the room was decent as well.
Had breakfast the next morning and it was fairly good. They did offer sausage and egg patties to go with English muffins. They also had the usual juice, coffee, tea, muffins, yogurt, cereal and fruit available. Breakfast room was clean and well attended.
Checkout was very quick and efficient and the front desk staff were again very friendly.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Can_Cancun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2010

It's a very clean hotel and the staffs're very freiendly. The room was enough for 5 of my family with two queens and was also clean. I enjoyed the breakfast very much, which was not fantastic, but simple and good to eat. I was also much satisfied with the resonable price
for the clean, comfortable and friendly hotel. I will come back when I have opportunity to come to Edmonton.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HeavyRain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaysInnS-GM, General Manager at Days Inn Edmonton South, responded to this review, 20 April 2011
Thank you for you kind comments.
Sincerely,
Zelia Silva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lethbridge, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2010

We stayed for one night at this hotel when we were in Edmonton for our daughter's wedding. We didn't spend alot of time at the hotel but the time that we were there was perfect for us. We wanted a clean, quiet place with a fridge and that is exactely what we got. It was a reasonable price. The front desk staff were amazing, so courteous, helpful and kind. There was a continental breakfast which we didn't partake of but heard from other members of out families that is was very good. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daisy7889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2010

Stayed here 4 days and for the price thought it was great. The rooms were nice and the bed was very comfortable. The staff at this hotel are some of the best hotel staff I have come across in my travels, always very friendly and willing to help out, Veronica was especially good at her job. I would recommend this hotel and there is a great sushi spot next to save on foods. The only down side to the hotel is the view but for the price it's still an excellent choice.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NZBrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Metterra Hotel on Whyte
#6 of 93 in Edmonton
1,422 reviews
Calgary Trail South
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campus Tower Suite Hotel
#3 of 93 in Edmonton
442 reviews
Varscona Hotel on Whyte
#4 of 93 in Edmonton
1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Edmonton South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Edmonton South

Property: Days Inn Edmonton South
Address: 10333 University Ave NW, Edmonton, Alberta T6E 6N3, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Edmonton South 2*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Days Inn Edmonton South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Edmonton South Hotel Edmonton
Edmonton Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing