We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor room and not sorry for it lol”
Review of Matrix Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Matrix Hotel
Ranked #10 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Belleville, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Poor room and not sorry for it lol”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

stayed overnight and had a terrible room which was beside the elevators…complained to front desk in the morning and no regret expressed from the front desk lol…I've stayed at this hotel 3 times in total now in the last year and this last time tore it lol. I won't be staying there again. incidentally I'm not impressed with the breakfast either as the eggs have had cheese on them every time I'm there and being unapologetic about not liking cheese I never get eggs or bacon there. I've always enjoyed the Sutton and have stayed there many many times over the years so I won't be letting the crazy lady of the house talk me into the Matrix again :)
one last thing worth mentioning is the city of Edmonton is deplorable about removing snow from the streets rendering the access from the side street a non option however the wonderful taxi drivers (2) both let us out in the snowbank instead of driving into the lobby parking due to inability to get back out on the street lol

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WarrenCWade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olaf M, General Manager at Matrix Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Warren W,
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that you found your room next to the elevator disruptive. If you choose to stay with us again, we will be sure to put you in a room away from the elevators to ensure your comfort.

We are sorry that you felt the level of service from Front Desk did not meet your expectations. We pride ourselves in having staff that do everything possible to create an exceptional experience for our guests.

Our focus with the complimentary breakfast buffet is to offer house-made, nutritious and unique dishes, which our chef changes throughout the week for variety. We are truly sorry that you did not find anything to suit you during your stay with us.

We appreciate the feedback as it allows us to improve our products and services. Thank you for choosing the Matrix Hotel for your stay. Please contact us directly if you would like to discuss your stay further or let us know what we can do your faith in us.

Warm Regards,

Olaf Miede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,434
    844
    187
    50
    36
See reviews for
323
667
124
1,222
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cochrane, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I had high expectations for the Matrix Hotel, based upon Tripadvisor comments. I suppose this might have been a bit of a trendy hotel when it was first converted from a shabby old downtown hotel or apartment building, but the old bones are still there and now everything is beginning to wear and fall apart. Walls and furnishings are scratched, scrapped and pot-marked. The bedside lamps hung like decapitated fixtures, barely still clinging to the headboard. I found the hallways dark and dingy and parking is a bit of a mess on a cold winter's night. Breakfast was no big whup, unless you like cheap pork sausage, slices of mealy looking bacon, pig, pig and more cheap pig - not even hash browns or potatoes of any sort. I just found the place to be pretentious and run down. Perhaps it has seen better days, but I was looking for an accommodation that cared about the details… this is not it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrittyMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olaf M, General Manager at Matrix Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear GrittyMan,

We appreciate your feedback on your stay with us. I am sorry you did not find our property to be the high quality establishment that we strive it to be. Having been open for five years we found it necessary to execute a refreshment plan, which includes guest room painting, carpet replacement and woodwork touch ups. In 2013 we replaced all guest room televisions, upgraded our Wi-Fi service and started a bed replacement program.

We are surprised to hear that you did not find the complimentary breakfast suitable as it we often get great feedback from our guests. Our goal is to provide guests with a variety of nutritious and tasty items all made in-house by our chef who rotates the menu throughout the week.

We thank you for choosing the Matrix Hotel for your stay and apologize again for the shortfalls in product/service that you encountered. Please contact me directly if you would like to discuss this further or if there is anything we can do to restore your faith in us.

Warm Regards,

Olaf Miede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

When we were deciding where to go for a few days vacation, the moment I suggested coming back to The Matrix, my wife's eyes lit up! While some aspects of the hotel are starting to show a bit of wear, it is still one of my favourite hotels in ANY city. TVs have been changed to a bit more user friendly cable box, showing that the hotel listens to its guests who had difficulties with the old system (never had a problem personally). Breakfasts are still spectacular, Sterling Suites are still an amazing suite, especially if you are here for more than 1-2 nights. Located right by the elevators on all floors might be a noise issue for some, but if you can work around it, the rooms themselves are great! If you happen to overhear a conversation at another table during breakfast, good chance you will hear someone else praising the hotel. Had a few service requests that were very promptly handled except for one. When we called a second time, the front desk totally owned up to dropping the ball, and got the call handled immediately. Sometimes someone makes a mistake, which is easily forgiven when they are honest about it and fix it right away. Keep up the amazing work, Matrix! I'm already trying to figure out a reason to come back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dutchpirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Last year I stayed at another hotel closeby and it was excellent. The Matrix was even better! The staff was very friendly and efficient. From checkin to checkout it was first class experience. One particular aspect that stood out was the free breakfast. At most hotel free breakfast are at best so so. But this breakfast was really good with nice variety and quality of food. Room was nice. Most of the time a room is a room. But the room/bathroom had a few nice touches, was very clean and cosy. All staff was really nice (reception, room service, breakfast etc.).

I do not usually stay at very expensive hotel. But I occasionally have (like the Paris Hilton for example) so I can recognize an exceptional hotel. Considering the relatively modest cost of the Matrix, it had the feel of a much more expensive hotel. Great value for the money. I would not hesitate to recommend the Matrix to family and friends.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claude_Gar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edmonton
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Recently enjoyed a very relaxing and pleasant 'staycation' at the Matrix Hotel. Everything about the experience was excellent. The staff were all friendly, pleasant, and helpful. The wine and cheese in the evening was a nice touch. The breakfast buffet was definitely a pleasant surprise particularly the eggs Benedict - the Hollandaise had a lovely rich colour and was nicely spiced, the English muffin crisp rather than soggy, and the yolk had just a nice amount of runniness to it. The surprise was that they were served in the usual buffet metal warmers and yet still were so good. The location is handy to some nice restaurants nearby as well as the rest of downtown. Overall - an excellent and relaxing staycation and a place that I will recommend to anyone looking for a quality stay in downtown Edmonton.

Room Tip: 1515 - corner room so only 1 room beside it and good views from the floor to ceiling windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edmondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed here on a business trip at the beginning of November and absolutely loved it.

The staff were really friendly when I checked in and out.

My room was on the 15th floor. The bath tub was deep which made it feel more like a jacuzzi than an average hotel tub. My favourite part was the floor to ceiling windows in my room!

I was very impressed with the breakfast! I walked into the dining room on my first day to find eggs Benedict and fruit kabobs! During my three night stay the hot breakfast changed each morning which was a nice touch. There was a section of pastries and one morning I had a freshly baked chocolate chip muffin.

I used the gym, it was small, but has all the basics. There was a water cooler, towels and flat screen TV's in the room.

The location is good for wandering around downtown. Starbucks is next to the hotel.

I felt like a princess at this hotel and now find myself comparing all other hotels too it. I will definitely stay here again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank elka_e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Good location downtown, clean and modern room. My baseboard heater made loud clicking noises regularly during the night, keeping me awake. It was frustrating! I eventually shut the heat down all together and it seemed to alleviate the problem. The front desk staff were helpful with recommending local places to eat and directions to get where I needed to be.

The breakfast was well-stocked with hot and cold options, although I didn't like that the servers/table cleaners (who did no serving or coffee-bringing) gave a receipt with a gratuity line to fill in. I didn't attend the wine/cheese hour, but it did seem like a nice pre-dinner option.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank floatie43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olaf M, General Manager at Matrix Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear floatie43,

Thank you for your comments. All feedback is taken seriously to help us improve our products and service.

We are sorry that your room heater was disruptive. If you would be so kind as to let us know what room you were in, we would be happy to have Maintenance have a look and fix the issue.

The receipts at the complimentary breakfast are to put the room number in so we can ensure we are not charging guests of the hotel but outside patrons are being charged appropriately for the breakfast.

We are glad the Front Desk staff was so helpful. We pride ourselves in having a knowledgeable and friendly staff so we are happy they made an impression.

Thank you again for your feedback. If you would like to discuss this further, please contact me directly or make any additional suggestions, please contact me directly.

Warm Regards

Olaf Miede
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
1.4 mi away
Metterra Hotel on Whyte
Metterra Hotel on Whyte
#5 of 93 in Edmonton
1,386 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairmont Hotel Macdonald
Fairmont Hotel Macdonald
#11 of 93 in Edmonton
992 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel by APA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Varscona Hotel on Whyte
Varscona Hotel on Whyte
#4 of 93 in Edmonton
1,105 reviews
4.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites West Edmonton
0.5 mi away
Union Bank Inn
Union Bank Inn
#25 of 93 in Edmonton
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matrix Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matrix Hotel

Property: Matrix Hotel
Address: 10640 100 Ave NW | 107th Street NW, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 3N8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Edmonton
#5 Business Hotel in Edmonton
#10 Family Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Matrix Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We believe all travelers deserve exceptional value, service and an unsurpassed downtown Edmonton hotel experience. We offer guests a complimentary and extensive breakfast buffet each morning in our Hospitality Suite. Guests can choose from an array of both hot and cold breakfast items, prepared by our in-house chef. Piping hot oatmeal, home cooked egg dish and accompanying meat and potatoes for those who appreciate a hearty breakfast to start their day. On the lighter side we offer a cold selection of cereals, yogurt, fruit, pastries and juices. Touch of a button barista worthy cappuccinos, espressos and lattes along with a variety of specialty teas are available all day. To end the day, complimentary wine tasting and assortment of appetizers are offered between 17:30 and 18:30. Also complimentary to our guests is parking, downtown Lexus Town Car Service, Wi-Fi and bicycle rentals. Matrix Hotel provides a sophisticated hospitality experience to travelers who appreciate great design and need convenient access to the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Matrix Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matrix Hotel Edmonton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing