We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly Surprised” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Merit Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Merit Hotel & Suites
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Fort McMurray
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasantly Surprised”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

I wasn't expecting much from the Merit Hotel because of the reviews I have read here. And it's in Fort McMurray! But I was pleasantly surprised with what I have experienced. Service at the Front Desk was really good. Check in was smooth, quick and efficient. Check out was a breeze. Room was nice and simple. Bed was comfortable. Free coffee and free bottle of water. Flat screen TV. Channel line up needs to be improved though but I am not much of a TV buff anyway. Wifi internet speed was good which was really important for me. And they ask you how many devices you use in the room to make sure all your devices can connect to the internet. Nice.

Staff were very friendly and gracious - from Front Desk to Housekeeping to the restaurant staff.

Room was a little expensive but so is everything in Fort McMurray.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunset_Chaser25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michel J, General Manager at Merit Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
We are delighted to read that you have truly enjoyed you stay at our hotel and were satisfied with the overall provided services.
For the TV channel line up, our cable provider is aware and should be able to correct it very soon.
Rest assured that your compliments have gladly been shared with the entire team and we do look forward to welcoming you soon again to our hotel.
Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    73
    20
    12
    3
See reviews for
17
14
12
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Drayton Valley, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

460 dollar deposit before I could even go to the room which is still on my card, hot water took forever on 4th floor, bed was comfy, but I booked 2 queen not 1 and 1 hide a bed which was gross, Clean your couch and move it to vacuum. Room was pretty clean. Never received guidance from front desk where to go etc. pool seemed dirty, hot tub broke, no towels in pool area had to trek across without towels would only deliver to room. Garage was nice but no signs to say where the elevator was. should have been explained needed to use room key for elevator. Was quite room, ac worked, tv out dated not a big deal. Too much furniture in room could hardly move around. Never found bugs! Maybe work on some signs and a map of hotel.

Room Tip: Ask questions and instead of booking online book over the phone. We stayed on floor 4 and it took a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michel J, General Manager at Merit Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Thank you for your comments. I am very sorry to hear you did not receive exceptional service and your guest room was as clean as it should have.I have shared your concerns with our Management Team, and I assure you we are working to ensure this is not repeated in the future.
We would like to apologize for the inconveniences you may have experienced concerning the pre-authorisation that we have taken on your credit card, it is a procedure that permit our guest to bill to their room for foods or beverages and the pre-authorisation is reversed when you check-out.
Thank you for your comments. We hope to see you again when your travels bring you to Fort McMurray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbotsford, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
128 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

A very nice, high class hotel. Part of a chain of 5 high end hotels in Fort McMurray. Location is not an issue. Nothing is more than a2 km away in the fort. Outside grounds are parking lots and streets. Not a lot of lawn here. Parking was tight. Everyone drives full size pickups and vans, Outside parking spaces are made for cars. Tough to open the doors. Underground parking is heated and secure, but 6ft 8in clearance means all these monster trucks cant fit.

Lobby and halls are clean, and nicely decorated. I was checking in on a Monday at 5pm, the lineup was huge. But the front desk staff was vey good. Fast, efficient. 5 minutes I had my key, and directions to the room. Well done.

I had a king suite, 4th floor. Beautiful room. Clean. Separate bedroom, sitting area. Fridge, microwave, coffee maker, sink. 2 TVs. These are the big older tvs, but they work well, good picture. Furniture is good quality, room was very quite, always hot water. High end bath robe, nice towels. Didn't see any bugs. There was a notice in the room from management asking clients to put the drain plugs in their sinks. They are aware of a problem, and they are working at it. Takes a lot of guts to tell your guests to watch for bugs. Good for them.

Housekeeping was good. But not quite perfect. Everything was clean and tight, but the bathroom and sink glasses were never replaced. Just left sitting where they were the day before. I started out with 3 washcloths in the bathroom. Fancy folds like a flower. Used one the 1st day. It wasn't replaced. Down to 2. Used one the 2nd day. No replacement. Down to one. Used it, and now I've got none. Hmmm.

So, for difficult parking, and lack of attention to detail, I have to take a notch off the perfection belt. Very nice, well worth the money, but not quite perfect. I will try again soon though. It is worth coming back to.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brenda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michel J, General Manager at Merit Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
We are delighted to read that you have truly enjoyed you stay at our hotel and were satisfied with the overall provided services.
For the bugs issues, it is more likely small insects that appear in June, being close to a river, it is a situation that all Fort McMurray's households and hotels experienced year after year. They are inoffensive and the reason we put these notes is to prevent people of mistaken them for other kind of bugs and in July they disappear !
You can be sure that your remarks on the other matters have been addressed with our Management Team in order to ensure the satisfaction of our guests.
Rest assured that your compliments have gladly been shared with the entire team and we do look forward to welcoming you soon again to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

Hi there. I stayed at your hotel two weeks ago with my girlfriend for job interviews. We first met Mike who welcomed us and made us feel like royalty or something. He even went out of his way to tell us about a couple of job fairs and leads in the area. We saw him a few times and every time we were stoked at how nice he is. I cant say the same for the short black guy who we cant understand and the same for the short chinese girl who said she was new. Staff could be a little more nicer.

Our room was very nice but sucked at the same time. Air Conditioner didnt work. We had the window open but someone from your housekeeping closed it almost every day making the room very unbearable to be in until it was cooled down again. We happened to tell mike that night who without any hesitation asked if we wanted to move to another room and he made sure the air conditioner worked. The rest of our stay in the room was awesome.

The restaurant was not open when you guys say it is. We went down a couple of times when it says open at 6 but doors were locked. Went to tim hortons and mcdonalds instead. We had dinner in your bar and it was great. Amanda served us and was always ready to get us another drink or whatever.

I writing this because this is my first time staying at a hotel. I really liked it and when we left we heard mike is not there anymore. if that is true then if there is some way you can tell him we say thank you for all his help that would be nice.

And finally please fix your curtains so they close all the way. thank you.

Room Tip: No free breakfast and their workout room is so tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J_Kowalchuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michel J, General Manager at Merit Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
First, we are very pleased that you have enjoyed your first experience in a hotel. I am very sorry to hear you did not receive exceptional service,
I have shared your concerns with our Management Team, and I assure you we are working to ensure this is not repeated in the future.
We would like to apologize for the inconveniences you may have experienced concerning the opening hours of the restaurant. You can be sure that this is a very important matter for us.
Finally, thank you for your comments and we hope to welcome you again on your next visit to Fort McMurray.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights and although the room in general was good we had one issue. In the last 2 days we found little black bugs crawling in the bath tub. The first time we found 2 of them at night and we killed them. Then in the morning we found another 3 of them.
There must have been some sort of infestation and they must have been coming up through the pipes since the rest of the room was very well cleaned.
We told them at the front desk and already emailed a manager but we did not receive any reply which makes us think they don't care about such an issue. This would definitely discourage us from staying here again.
I hope they get it cleaned up and nobody else gets unwanted visitors.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mona I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michel J, Manager at Merit Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 8 June 2013
Dear guest, here the response that we have emailed you on the 7th of June, sorry we did not deliver our response quicker.

We would like to express our deepest concerns regarding your email below. It is that time of the year when we get what are called “June Bugs”. We would appreciate your re-sending to us the pictures as we did not receive the ones you have sent with your email below so we may confirm if they are indeed June Bugs and take the necessary action. Nevertheless, we do apologize for this incident and we certainly hope you and your husband will give us another chance to serve you again in the future so we could make it up to you somehow.

We regret as well that we have not received the email sent by your husband. May we know to what email address it was sent so we may rectify this as well?

Once again, please accept our sincerest apologies for all inconvenience caused. We certainly hope that this isolated incident will not deter you or your husband from patronizing Merit Hotel and Suites again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

Staying here on several occasions, I can confidently say the staff are helpful, the hotel entry way, and hallways are kept clean in every way. The rooms are clean as well and many have fridges, etc. Having an elevator that requires your pass card adds security and a good thing in a "boom economy" city like Fort McMurray. The restaurant/lounge attached is convenient when needed. The one down side is that the gym equipment, although newer, obvioulsy was not a quality brand as they are often broken down and in my opinion need to be replaced with a better brand & product.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rjcdove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michel J, General Manager at Merit Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
We are delighted to read that you have truly enjoyed you stay at our hotel and were satisfied with the overall provided services. Rest assured that your compliments have gladly been shared with the entire team and we do look forward to welcoming you soon again to our hotel. For the Fitness center we appreciate your input and rest assure that we have shared your comments with our owners.
We do look forward to welcoming you soon again to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
133 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

One might imagine that spending about $250 a night would put you in an awesome room in one of Alberta's resorts. In Fort McMurray, that amount buys you a basic hotel room at a average hotel. Consider yourself lucky to get accommodation at any price because this town is booming and the hotels/motels (and everything else) are busy. The staff at the reception desk were both friendly and professional during our check in and out. The cleaning staff passed we in the hallways, also friendly. The hotel and our room were both very clean, remarkable considering how snowy/muddy Fort McMurray is in March. Both the room and bathroom were average in size and comfort. The indoor poor area provides a nice break, with warm water and lots of windows to look out at the blowing snow. During our visit, the hot tub had hot water but non working jets. Funny how awkward sitting in a small pool with a stranger feels. The attached Pantry restaurant is consistently inconsistent for both food and service.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank protravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michel J, General Manager at Merit Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 4 May 2013
Thank you for your comments,
We would like to apologize for the inconveniences you may have experienced concerning the hot tub and we advised our maintenance department to verify the problem.
For the cleaness of the room and the Front desk staff that you found both friendly and professional rest assured that your compliments have gladly been shared with the entire team and we do look forward to welcoming you soon again to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort McMurray hotels
5.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sawridge Suites
1.8 mi away
Franklin Suite Hotel
Franklin Suite Hotel
#4 of 19 in Fort McMurray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
2.0 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Fort McMurray
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Clearwater Suite Hotel
Clearwater Suite Hotel
#5 of 19 in Fort McMurray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
1.7 mi away
Podollan Inn
Podollan Inn
#6 of 19 in Fort McMurray
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.4 mi away
Platinum Hotels
Platinum Hotels
#11 of 19 in Fort McMurray
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merit Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merit Hotel & Suites

Property: Merit Hotel & Suites
Address: 8200 Franklin Ave, Fort McMurray, Alberta T9H 2H9, Canada (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Region: Canada > Alberta > Fort McMurray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Fort McMurray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Merit Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merit Hotel & Suites, Fort Murray full service downtown hotel offers comfort, convenience, style and always helpful service. EXTENDED stay suites available offering suites with kitchen and living room combinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Merit Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merit Hotel Fort Mcmurray
Merit Hotel & Suites Fort McMurray, Alberta, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing