We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“There are better choices”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Podollan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Podollan Inn
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Fort McMurray
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“There are better choices”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

I lived in McMurray for a number of years and am still back there regularly. On this visit I decided to forgo my usual hotel standbys in Gregoire for something downtown.

I stayed in the Inn, not the Rez.

The pluses for the Podollan include its location (getting on/off 63 is super convenient and there are lots of places to eat nearby), the underground parking (as much because of the 'hood as the winter weather), and the relatively new renovations. The staff is friendly and if you don't want to go far the restaurant is good. I suppose the view of the dealers and users behind BPs could be a plus or a minus--welcome to downtown McMurray.

Unfortunately the renovations were done on the cheap, and it shows. The soundproofing is poor. In my room you couldn't turn the shower on without water pouring out into the bathroom. The shower itself was a cheap Rona/Home Depot fibreglass pan which was not supported underneath and flexed under load (I weigh under 150 lbs) and was slippery as heck. The furniture in the room was the cheapest particle board stuff you could dream up, and there was no dresser in which to put clothes. I travel a lot and don't like to have to literally live out of my case.

The absolute deal breaker for me was the noise. I had a room above the entrance (with the big windows) and the street noise at night between the bars and the cars booming along Franklin was unbearable. The AC unit was also the loudest I've encountered. Even on low, with only the fan running, it was difficult to hear the TV. It did at least block out the street noise.

If you enjoy a good nights sleep this is not the place, unless you happen to have hearing damage.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SyunSeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevin c, General Manager at Podollan Inn, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you very much for your comments. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the convenience of our location, our friendly service, and the restaurant. You commented on our renovations and I just wanted to add that the renovations are not complete. The room you were staying has not been renovated as it will be one of the last ones due to the fact that there will be a hallway accessing the addition through the bathroom of that room. Therefore the customers will be enjoying an entirely new bathroom and the HVAC will be piped into that room getting rid of the air-conditioner. That dresser had been moved for repair and not put back and I apologize for this not being in your room. Thank you for your comments as it helps us to stay aware of any deficiencies and take action. It is unfortunate that your stay did not exceed your expectations and I ask that you contact me directly in the case that you give us another try. I would be happy to ensure that we redeem your approval and your accommodations do exceed your expectations as we strive forward.

Kind regards,

Kevin Cloutier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    52
    16
    10
    11
See reviews for
11
16
12
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

I stayed at the Podollan Inn during the spring Home Show. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff were helpful and courteous. Overall, good value and no problems. I would stay there again, no doubt.

Room Tip: There was some construction adjacent to my room (outside). Not sure what it was but it didn't re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Andrew_BX3488ES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevin c, General Manager at Podollan Inn, responded to this review, 30 October 2014
Thank you very much for the kind words. We appreciate your feedback and am glad that you enjoyed the property. We strive to provide service that exceeds your expectations.

Yes we are growing in popularity and therefore we are adding rooms. Unfortunately we are still in the construction phase and apologize for the construction view. We are anxious to open the new rooms to serve our valued customers better.

Looking forward to having you back.

Kindest regards,

Kevin Cloutier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leduc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Would recommend anyone to stay here!

The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Customer service at it's best!
The room was (let's just say) more than comfortable and very clean.
The Pub in the hotel was equally as good. Service was great and the food was amazing!!!! Looking forward to returning.

It will be the ONLY hotel we stay at when travelling to Ft. Mac!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PLenart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevin c, General Manager at Podollan Inn, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for your response. Your kind words are appreciated and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are proud of the condition of our rooms being clean and comfortable and strive to provide the best customer experience we can. Indeed our staff being helpful and courteous plays a large role in that and it nice to hear when it is recognized. We thank you for that. The construction is in it's last stages and we are eager to showcase these rooms and renovations to our customers once complete. Thanks again and looking forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

Kevin Cloutier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherwood Park, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

During the cold winters in McMurray its always a pleasure to get into a warm vehicle. I stayed at the Pollodan since it opened and always had an excellent experince, the owner pick me from the airport in his SUV. The service is always great the beds are perfect, they have a varity of pillows so you could choose what fits the best, just like sleeping at home. The food and service in the Pub is a good place to relax and enjoy a good meal.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevin c, General Manager at Podollan Inn, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words. We are pleased that you enjoy the heated underground parking and have experienced the owners passion for good customer service. Even though his driving foot is known to be a bit heavy at times, I trust the ride was comfortable. The beds and pillows were chosen for their comfort and we are glad that you enjoy them. The pub is a local hotspot for great food and service and we are proud when we hear customers give great feedback. Again, thank you and we are looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

The Podollan Inn is a perfect location to access the lower bench (old Downtown) and now very easy to get to the upper bench of Fort McMurray. The rooms are well kept but also extremely comfortable (bed and pillows are better than home!).

The amenities are also excellent. Food: the continental breakfast is a crisp way to start your day - fully stocked with whatever your palate desires. The Podlloan Pub has a wide variety of options and everything I had during my stay was stellar. It also boasts what several locals claimed was the best Steak Sandwich in town!

The Podollan Inn did not have a workout facility on-site but the staff will provide you a day pass to the MacDonald Island Park Recreation Centre (2 minute drive from the Hotel) - a relatively new state of the art facility that is family friendly with everything and anything you might need from a fitness or leisure perspective.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

Fort McMurray is a working town, not a vacation destination. That being said, the Podollan Inn is comfortable, clean, and employs friendly and helpful staff, exactly what one needs after a hard day's work. The rooms are well-appointed, have flat screen televisions, and the free internet is a rarity amongst business class hotels. The spa toiletries in the bathrooms are also a nice touch (subtle advertising for Podollan's luxury L-Spa in Grande Prairie). The Podollan Pub, located in the lobby, seems to be a centre of enjoyable nightlife for Fort McMurray and many locals frequent it (which is a good sign). It's also fantastic to see Podollan employ many new residents of Canada who are up north seeking a better life in the booming oil economy.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a kitchenette to make your stay more comfortable. The pub downstairs serves g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PRC1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

Was in town for a Xmas party in the Pub. Our company had the banquet room rented out for our party. I came here because it was obviously convenient but really enjoyed the stay. Checkin was quick and easy, clerk at front desk was helpful. We had a king room and it was great, very clean room, shower was huge, the beds were tough to leave as they so comfortable. There was kitchenette in room that I didn't need but nice to have. TV was good and clear. I can only talk positive , it was all good. Checkout was express. Was nice to have underground parking. . I'm a very pleased customer and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliechanot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort McMurray hotels
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sawridge Suites
1.7 mi away
Merit Hotel & Suites
Merit Hotel & Suites
#3 of 18 in Fort McMurray
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.1 mi away
Franklin Suite Hotel
Franklin Suite Hotel
#4 of 18 in Fort McMurray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Clearwater Suite Hotel
Clearwater Suite Hotel
#5 of 18 in Fort McMurray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
3.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Fort McMurray
1.4 mi away
Platinum Hotels
Platinum Hotels
#10 of 18 in Fort McMurray
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Podollan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Podollan Inn

Property: Podollan Inn
Address: 10131 Franklin Ave, Fort McMurray, Alberta T9H 2K8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Fort McMurray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Fort McMurray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Podollan Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Podollan Inn features 62 individually decorated guest suites, The Podollan Inn goes beyond the standards expected of a five-star facility. Onsite amenities include a bar/restaurant and dining room as well as fully licensed room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Podollan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Podollan Inn & Rez Hotel Fort Mcmurray
Podollan Inn And Rez
Podollan Inn Fort McMurray, Alberta, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing