We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always Disappointed”
Review of Spring Moon

Spring Moon
Ranked #23 of 133 Restaurants in Fort McMurray
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Always Disappointed”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I've probably eaten here 10 times (the timberlea location) and only once was I satisfied. I've sat waiting for half an hour just to order drinks. They have a hard time understanding english so I've gotten the wrong food a few times. Waitress' aren't personable, and are rather rude. It's disappointing that the experience is always bad but the food is usually really good.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jymm22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    14
    8
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good Japanese cuisine”
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

Chef "John" is knowledgeable and his preparation of the meals is noticeable amongst the other chefs. I loved my visits to the restaurant and enjoy their take-out. Food is fresh and prepared carefully. I found it was cold in the restaurant despite the numerous guests and active kitchen! Very welcoming ambiance and staff.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Mcmurray
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Downtown Location”
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

We have been to both locations in Fort McMurray, food is great at both locations. Atmosphere and ambience definitely better downtown. Timberlea location is more like a pub.

Helpful?
Thank thomas2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lacking Compared to Downtown Location”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Average food, average service, average everything. Have tried Spring Moon Timberlea quite a few times and the food is fine, nothing to rave about. I do find the fish and seafood does not always taste very fresh. The atmosphere is lacking, the premises is too small packed with people eating, people waiting to eat and people waiting for takeout. On the other hand Spring Moon Downtown should have its own review page they are 5/5, I have loved every meal, we are regulars so we are treated great by the staff. The sushi and food is great and fresh. I have throughly enjoyed every meal. Downtown is my pick for sure

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Krystal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“A Japanese Experience”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

I tried two Japanese restaurants while in Fort McMurray. Spring Moon is much better than Fuji restaurant and more authentic. Spring Moon is located outside of the downtown area in Timberlea. Bento box at Spring Moon is very reasonably priced and filling. It is a modern restaurant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Skyla12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spring Moon also viewed

Fort McMurray, Alberta
 
Fort McMurray, Alberta
 
Fort McMurray, Alberta
 

Been to Spring Moon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing