We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A HIDDEN GEM - WITH GREAT BEER” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wood Buffalo Brewing Co

Wood Buffalo Brewing Co
Ranked #7 of 132 Restaurants in Fort McMurray
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A HIDDEN GEM - WITH GREAT BEER”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Had the pleasure to enjoy several crafted beers at this pub. As a first timer, I was impressed. I even received a tour of their micro brewery. I was like a kid in a candy store!!!

These guys even have a still on premises were they are making their own whisky - NEVER seen that before... I am exicted to come back some time to try out the first batch.

It was a unique environment with friendly staff. The food was good and the service was great.

I will return, for the beer, the beer, and the beer, not to mention great service and decent food!!!

Lots of TV's to watch the game and a darn good sound system too.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank JDWILLIAMSESQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    62
    24
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
161 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Wait staff was super friendly & prompt. My cocktail was strong & tasty. The food was served incredibly fast. Unfortunately 2 out of 3 dishes had zero flavour ;( would go again for drinks but avoid the food.

Helpful?
Thank QueenFreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Homerun!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

It is the only place to eat when coming to Fort McMurray. The hamburgers are freaking amazing!!! And the fish in ships perfecto, especially with our homemade tartar sauce.

Helpful?
Thank Brentt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food and Brewery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

The location has a great menu and brews their own beer. They still have other beers you can purchase unlike some other breweries. The waitresses are good at their job and no unpleasant to look at either, especially for Fort McMurray. I have never had to wait long for service or my food. I have had many different items from the menu but how can you pass on bacon wrapped meatloaf? Meat wrapped with meat = Amazing

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Portray29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Food is amazing! It gets way too busy on weekends which causes the service to be a little slower and the wait for a table can be outrageous. The Saturday night dj is awesome however I find there really isn't enough space for the dance floor and tables. It's very hard to move around.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lindseyanne22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wood Buffalo Brewing Co also viewed

Fort McMurray, Alberta
 

Been to Wood Buffalo Brewing Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing