We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clearwater Suite Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Clearwater Suite Hotel
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Fort McMurray
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
“Excellent Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Very nice suites and beautiful rooms with your own balcony and very comfortable bed. Staff are friendly especially Front desk, very accommodating staff especially in the morning and well greeted by my name. Location is good if you forgot something mall and superstore is just across the building. Definitely worth staying.

Room Tip: Room facing the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 820Lauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Marc G, General Manager at Clearwater Suite Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Dear Guest. Thank you very much for your most positive comments on your recent stay in our property. We are extremely grateful of our great hospitable Team. Rest assured we will pass on these remarks to all concerned. Indeed our prime location and amenities makes our hotel one of the most popular accommodation in Fort McMurray but we are most proud of our great service oriented Team! Hope to see you back in the most foreseeable future. Jean-Marc Guillamot General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    47
    14
    5
    5
See reviews for
12
10
10
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

This is a classy hotel and has all the amenities one could ask for. The apartment style suites make it feel more like a home rather than a hotel room. The staff were very accommodating and friendly. As a woman travelling alone, it was a great choice for security purposes and it was one of the most quiet hotels I have stayed in - I never heard any noise from other suites at all. There are cheaper hotel choices in Ft McMurray but you get what you pay for when it comes to crews partying all night in a cheaper hotel! I will be more than happy to stay here again in the future. Thanks!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the opposite side of the highway, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Marc G, General Manager at Clearwater Suite Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Guest; We are most appreciative of your positive comments on your last visit in our property. Rest assured we pass on these encouragements to our Team who takes great pride in achieving a continuous high level of Hospitality. Rest assured we do not take this for granted and we will continue to encourage our Team to be at their best at all times. I hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in the most foreseeable future and we sincerely thank you for your wonderful support. Jean-Marc Guillamot General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

The high demand for suites in the area causes some hotels to confuse the services they provide. When I booked two nights in one of their suites earlier this week, I was expecting the type of service you would get at any regular hotel. Instead, I was surprised to find out that I was expected to was my own coffee mug, and empty and clean my rooms coffee maker. At more than $250 a shot, you would figure they could at least treat you like a regular hotel guest... Some managers don't understand the difference between corporate guests and people that stay at a hotel for extended periods of time (sometimes months) because they are working in the area. A hotel just a block away was offering a similar room for $100 less...
Albeit, the room was very comfortable and the underground parking ($7 extra per day) kept my car from getting the outdoor parking lot's mud.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jorge A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Marc G, General Manager at Clearwater Suite Hotel, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Dear Guest. Thank you for bringing to my attention the "tidying up" of your room. All our rooms are equipped with its own dishwashers and our maids do load the dishwasher as they see dirty dishes left in the sink. This was a pure in attention on our part and I apologize! I am glad otherwise the comfort of our rooms and practicality of a heated underground parking helped this unfortunate situation. We do hope you will still consider our hotel as your choice of accommodation when next
travelling in our city. Jean-Marc Guillamot General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

great location. room are really nice and clean. Very comfortable beds with washer and dryer in the room and kitchen.. Front desk are friendly and helpful. They always call me by my name.Breakfast is serve in the morning but if you stay there for long you will have the same menu but there are nearby shops like tim hortons and smyttys. I will definitely come back in this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank P A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Marc G, General Manager at Clearwater Suite Hotel, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Dear Guest. Thank you for your most positive comments and I will pass on your comments to our entire team especially the Front Desk. We like to think we are your home away from home and we are glad you found our amenities to your expectations.rest assured we will continue to improve our service and product. We hope to see you back in the most foreseeable future! Jean-Marc Guillamot-General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

I have stayed in Fort Mcmurray for work and it was my first time. I had to do some work and have to visit my parents. I would say that I had a wonderful stay. Staff are friendly and very helpful. All frontdesk staff are excellent. Room are nice with laundry and dryer in the room. I love the balcony because atleast I do not have to go down all the way to the lobby just to have fresh air. Breakfast is complimentary. I just wish that the hot tub will be open by the time I will be back. But overall it is a great stay. Will definitely comeback.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Marc G, General Manager at Clearwater Suite Hotel, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Dear Guest. Thank you so mcuh for taking time to pass on your comments on your most recent stay with us. We will certainly pass these to our next Team meeting and rest assured they are taking these with great pride. The Hot Tub has been an on going concern with us. During these last months we demolished the old area, expended the Fitness centre but our exisiting system to balance the Chlorine and alkanality of the hot tub water does not meet our full confidence in allowing our guests to use it. Consequently we are going to replace the entire Pump systems and water treatment to a more contemporaty safe and consistent system which will improve tremendously the water softness and its safe chemical balance. Rest assure this is already on going and we should be up and running shortly.
We certainly hope to see you again if not before this year end, cerainly in the next year. Thank you for your wonderful support! Jean-Marc Guillamot- General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

I stayed at the Clearwater over a 6 week period flying into and out of Fort McMurray for work. I was impressed with how comfortable the beds were and I had a great sleep every night. Colin was one of the friendliest and most professional hotel employees I have ever had the pleasure of meeting. Always very polite and welcoming. It is unfortunate that Hwy 63 is always so busy, as the sounds of traffic and vehicle back-up alarms were quite noticeable well into the night. But such is the nature of Fort McMurray and it is nothing a pair of ear plugs won't fix. The Clearwater is right next door to a Superstore which makes grabbing some groceries and making use of the in-room kitchenettes very easy. One thing to note is that at least in the rooms I was in, there is a stove top, microwave, and toaster but no oven. Just something to keep in mind before buying something like a frozen pizza to take back. In summary, I would definitely choose the Clearwater if I once again find myself in Fort McMurray.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyler W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Marc G, General Manager at Clearwater Suite Hotel, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Dear Guest. We are extremely grateful to you for taking the time to write up this review and rest assured the entire Team and of course Collin will all receive a well deserved "pat on the back" for a job well done! We are indeed in the heart of one of the most economically active Town working day and night and I appreciate your advice on helping future guests in providing travelling tips on curbing possible noise from this activity. Our Front desk do have these "noise blockers" for light sleepers. As for full oven facility, we greatly value this comment and will monitor further similar requests and possibly look at upgrading our cooking facilities. We are looking forward to your next extended stay with us when next sojourning in our region. Jean-Marc Guillamot- General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort McMurray, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

Work has brought me to Fort McMurray at least twice a month for the past 6 months and I have been staying at other hotels in the city for my previous visits. Lately though the company booked me to stay at this hotel. The room I stayed in was very comfortable. It's got it's own kitchen and washer and dryer which would be ideal for long stays and it's close to everything downtown be it the casino, the grocery store or restaurants which are all within walking distance. The rooms are clean as well as the hallways and the staff are great too although during mornings it's a bit noisy as the room I stayed in was close to an office and the free breakfast isn't that good. Overall I'm still happy for the comfort I had staying at this hotel during my previous trip which is why I would definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Marc G, General Manager at Clearwater Suite Hotel, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Dear Guest. Thank you so much for your most valuable feedback on you recent stay with us. Our guests do greatly appreciate the proximity of our property closed to downtown amenities and I am glad our entire Team contributed to your home away from home travel experience. We are looking forward to your next visit and will even work more diligently in keeping our standards of service and cleanliness. Jean-Marc Guillamot General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort McMurray hotels
4.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sawridge Suites
1.3 mi away
Merit Hotel & Suites
Merit Hotel & Suites
#3 of 19 in Fort McMurray
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.6 mi away
Franklin Suite Hotel
Franklin Suite Hotel
#4 of 19 in Fort McMurray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Fort McMurray
0.5 mi away
Podollan Inn
Podollan Inn
#6 of 19 in Fort McMurray
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.9 mi away
Platinum Hotels
Platinum Hotels
#11 of 19 in Fort McMurray
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clearwater Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clearwater Suite Hotel

Property: Clearwater Suite Hotel
Address: 4 Haineault St, Fort McMurray, Alberta T9H 1R7, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Fort McMurray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Fort McMurray
#2 Green Hotel in Fort McMurray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Clearwater Suite Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the midst of downtown's business sector, Clearwater Suite Hotel is Fort McMurray's most beloved full service, all-suite hotel. Stay for a day, a week or as long as you like in a spacious hotel suite featuring all the comforts you need including a kitchen and free wireless hi-speed internet. Enjoy the fitness centre, whirlpool, or relax with a massage at Stillbrook Spa. Guests enjoy heated underground parking and a Fully Licensed Lounge. Consider having your next meeting at Clearwater Suite Hotel. The largest shopping centre in the area and the excitement of Boomtown Casino are all within easy walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelClick and Agoda so you can book your Clearwater Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clearwater Suite Hotel Fort McMurray, Alberta, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing