We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“YUM” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Star Restaurant

Golden Star Restaurant
Ranked #41 of 196 Restaurants in Grande Prairie
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
299 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“YUM”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

Very good chinese, some things are best in town. Fast and courteous service. A little pricey but so worth it.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank baxter932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    15
    7
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
132 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“It was ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

This review is for delivery only, we did not dine in and the review is based on delivery and food quality only. The food was average, but the price was high; overall a average experience. Delivery took just over a hour, everything was hot but just average for quality.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank savesomeoneelse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Always great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

A friend and I went for lunch and we both ordered individual items off the lunch menu. We also had the curried beef egg roll each. The food came out hot, tasty and quickly. Cannot go wrong here.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary8781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great for families”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2012

This restaurant has been in Grande Prairie forever, I really like it for getting together with family and friends. Little ones love the fish pond- sometimes it can be a pain because the kids just want to keep going to the pond but in the end the adults love the food! I really enjoy going for lunch there also because the food is served quick! Good for lunch meetings

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hovorka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops
Level Contributor
41 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Chinese Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

The Deep Fried Prawns and Fried Pork Dumplings from this place are incredible. I grew up in Grande Prairie, and this is the best Chinese food in town. Every time I go back, I make sure to incorporate a trip to the Golden Star in my trip. Shady location, but worth it.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GPiz1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Golden Star Restaurant also viewed

Grande Prairie, Alberta
 
Grande Prairie, Alberta
Grande Prairie, Alberta
 
Grande Prairie, Alberta
 

Been to Golden Star Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing