We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay, very nice people”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jasper National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Becker's Roaring River Chalets
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My wife and I stayed in chalet number 94 which is a one bedroom unit with full kitchen living room and small porch. It was very roomy and everything was clean and well equipped. The location is about 5 KM out of downtown Jasper which was fine. They are right on the river which makes it so lovely and you are close (100 KM) to the ice fields glacier adventure and the glacier skywalk which can be done in a day. We found it perfect. They also have a very good restaurant. We were there in June and we think that's a perfect time to good. The crowds are smaller, you can still see snow, the roads aren't to busy either.

Room Tip: They do have smaller cabins along side the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (823)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

392 - 398 of 823 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

We had cottage 37 right in front of the roaring Athabasca River, and it was simply perfect. Very reasonable for the cottage (chalet) we had whhich was fully serviced - kitchenette, coffee maker with coffee, all utensils, cooking needs and cutlery, you don't lack for anything. It is serene being there, sitting by the river watching the colours on the mountains change as the day goes on; rafters float by and wave on the river. It is very clean, comfortable, and the restaurant is very good as well. It is only five minutes from Jasper and so much better to stay here than some hotel on the "strip" of Jasper. Do yourself a favour and stay here...it is an experience you probably need as much as we did!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ScottyMontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

There are a raft of accommodation options in Jasper town and nearby but as with any tourist town the rates are a bit on the high side. However, although still high at $200 a night (river chalet) in high season its good value compared to some options 5km west in jasper town. For the same cost as some of the mid range and rather dull looking motels at the edge of town here you get lovely cabin to yourself, a beautiful setting on the river and all the facilities needed. Including a lovely comfy bed, my only criticism would be the bathroom, the shower enclosure was very small with a slightly 'rustic' shower head and curtain rather than glass enclosure, but it still did the job! The only other negative is the cabins are quite close together but still far better in our opinion than some of the hotel options in town. The staff were friendly and helpful. Would most definitely consider returning here.

Room Tip: River chalets offer the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slskinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I stayed at this chalet in June 2014 with my mother, grandmother and baby son. The chalet we had was kind of a duplex: one side was our and the other was for another suite. This chalet offered two bedrooms and a pull out couch. The main room with the kitchenette were quite large and offered couch and chair with a full sized dining set. The fireplace was beautiful and the beds were quite comfortable. Overall it was very clean and comfortable. There was also a nice patio with chairs, although it looked out onto a common green area and not the river. I didn't really care for having the second suite next to us, as we could hear our neighbours for most of the night. Either log cabins need more soundproofing, or our neighbours were just exceptionally loud, I don't know. We could also smell the fire from their fireplace. it was really smelly and ashy and kept me awake for a few hours in the middle of the night. There was a restaurant on the property, although we found it kind of expensive. This property is a few minutes drive from jasper, not within walking distance. I would stay at this property again, however, only if I could get one of the single chalets on the riverfront.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emilie728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Becker's Cabins, as we knew in the 40's and 50's, still exists in Jasper in updated cottages and grounds. Beautiful setting on the river. Our Tucson cousins loved it too. It is cool in summer, but that is part of the experience. Travel from Banff to Jasper with a windbreaker jacket and you'll enjoy July and August. The cabins are not luxurious but give you an authentic woods experience.

Room Tip: You can choose single cottages for couples and larger chalets for groups up to six, I believe. Chec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

My wife and I spent 3 days hiking and camping in a tent along the Icefields Parkway, and our 3rd and last night we spent at one if Beckers chalet cabins. The cabins are cute and very comfortable. We had one of the smaller ones but it still had a fully functional kitchen and bathroom/shower. The cabins are located next to highway 93 along the Athabasca river. Cabins in the woods they are not, with a very urban feel - i.e. paved streets, a diner, playground and manicured lawns etc. However, they are a much more interesting option to a hotel in Jasper or Banff, and we felt a better bang for your buck.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank CLandrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

ARRIVAL: Check in was quick and efficient and helpful.

CHALET: The chalet we reserved, (the riverside view log cabin chalet for two), did not resemble the smart clean photos shown on Trip Advisor. The whole bathroom area resembled the inside of an old small caravan with flimsy plastic fittings! The living room/kitchen and bedroom were a little better but still looked cheap. However on a positive note, after complaining the receptionist moved us to another chalet which was much better. In conclusion if the chalet you reserved disappoints you ask to be moved they are approachable.

TIP: If you intend hiking or looking for wild life then go to Maligne Lake, we did and saw 3 bears, 3 mountain goats, 1 Bald Eagle, and 1 Moose...Quite a turnout for any trip! Just follow Maligne Lake rd......Simple!

Room Tip: Ask to be moved if you are not satisfied with your chalet they are approachable. Go to Maligne Lake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoyandSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper National Park hotels
3.8 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
454 reviews
4.2 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
984 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Pyramid Lake Resort
Pyramid Lake Resort
#10 of 17 in Jasper
635 reviews
1.4 mi away
Jasper House Bungalows
Jasper House Bungalows
#14 of 22 in Jasper National Park
439 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
1,651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Becker's Roaring River Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Becker's Roaring River Chalets

Address: Icefields Parkway Highway 93S, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Jasper National Park
Price Range: £44 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Becker's Roaring River Chalets 3.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Also Known As:
Becker`s Roaring River Chalets Hotel Jasper National Park
Beckers Roaring River Chalets Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing