We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but could be better” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Becker's Roaring River Chalets

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jasper National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Becker's Roaring River Chalets
Certificate of Excellence
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good but could be better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Fabulous location. Views over the river and of the mountains.
Chalet was very well appointed.
Very spacious.
Lovely gas fire.
Very clean.
The site seems very well managed and clean.
Price a bit on the high side for two people.
WiFi quite poor.
We only stayed one night. If we come back to Jasper we will probably look for somewhere else to stay.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    286
    97
    30
    29
See reviews for
268
258
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed in a 2 bedroomed chalet near the entrance whilst visiting family and what a beautiful setting. The river is gorgeous and the view of the snow capped mountains, uninterrupted (for us at least). There are chairs on the lawn for afternoon enjoyment of the view, and a restaurant and shop (vending machines, ice and ice buckets) for convenience. It's just outside Jasper but you would need to drive in.The chalet is cosy. We had to rearrange the chairs each night to open the doors to the rooms, but the chairs are on wheels, so it wasn't difficult. The kitchen could do with more surfaces for food preparation, dishing up etc. The chalet was very (too) warm at night and there weren't any fans available for the first night. I think it would be better if each chalet had 1 fan per bedroom, and it would also be useful if there was a plug in the bedroom(s). The wifi (Free..) wasn't very good, we could get on, but you couldn't browse anything. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2xsjgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We booked two units at the Chalets: one double room with kitchen, and one 2-bedroom cabin. The double room was OK, not renovated but overall nice. The 2-bedroom cabin was very old, with spider webs in the corners and a shower my husband could barely fit into, it was so small. The bedrooms had no doors, just curtains that eliminated any chance of privacy. But the worst thing was that it smelled like ELK POOP. When we complained, they sent someone with a refreshener, but it took about 5-6 HOURS for the smell to become bearable. The nerve they had to let people book the cabin like that is overwhelming.

The place itself looks very nice, by the riverside, with nice public areas and a good dining room (we had breakfast there). I'm sure that if I had booked the double room alove, it wouldn't have been that bad. So go for the renovated rooms and do not get the two-bedroom cabin.

Room Tip: Go for renovated cabins
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maayan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
151 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

We have stayed here a number of times over the years but I guess as we get older we have higher expectations. It has an ideal location on the Athabasca River – especially the wooden cottages by the river. They are very cosy with reasonably appointed kitchens. The only problem are the old, tiny bathrooms. I can’t remember last time I was in a small tin-sided shower with no indication of which tap was hot or cold. My knees touched the wall when seated on the toilet. One would expect that by now, a more modern bathroom would be in place, especially for the price being paid – apparently the newer condo-like units away from the river are better. There is WiFi in the cabins but it is very slow and frustrating for anything but email.

The dining room is pleasant with a view of the river from a few of the tables. The service was very good as was the food though the tenderloin came medium+ when rare was ordered. Complimentary dessert was provided in lieu of preparing another steak which was offered.

There is no air conditioning but with windows on three sides there should be some cross draft. It has nice heat, including a gas fireplace, which we used since it was a cool and rainy 12 degrees the day we were there.

It is not in town so be prepared to get back on the highway if going to eat in Jasper itself.

Room Tip: If WiFi is important ask which rooms have a stronger signal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank djp789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
337 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

We have been to Becker's four times, there is something magical about sitting, drink in hand, by the Athabasca river looking at the distant Mount Edith Cavell. The cabins are described as "Heritage", some would say dated, but the beds are really comfortable. There is no worktop at all for food prep, but not a problem for us as we tend to eat out. There is an on-site restaurant and the town is about 5km drive away, but if you don't want to take your car, cabs are available for $20 each way. We will use again, as it ticks most of our boxes.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank MrMrsW50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed for one night with family. Great location, right by the river and very close to town. Staff was very friendly and accommodations are basic, small but clean. Great for a short stay. Only complaint, walls are thin here ppl, so if you plan a longer stay, upgrade(we did the $130 room) get one that doesn't have direct neighbors. Our chalet room had both walls shared and you could hear everything in the adjoining rooms.

Advice to Becker's - Change your dark, stained dated carpet. It makes your chalet look dirty when based on linen, bathroom, etc. it's not.

Angelica

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank angelmar_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed here recently on a trip with family over on a visit. Ideal location, cabins was very clean, only downside was the extremely uncomfortable sofa bed but the second night we just took the mattress off and slept on the floor. Great location, Tried out the restaurant and had a wonderful meal, very friendly staff. Would definitely stay again, our 2nd time and still not disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kazzaCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper National Park hotels
3.8 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#2 of 16 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
4.2 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#5 of 16 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#4 of 16 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
6.2 mi away
Pyramid Lake Resort
Pyramid Lake Resort
#7 of 16 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
4.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Jasper Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Becker's Roaring River Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Becker's Roaring River Chalets

Property: Becker's Roaring River Chalets
Address: Icefields Parkway Highway 93S, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Jasper National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 118
Also Known As:
Becker`s Roaring River Chalets Hotel Jasper National Park
Beckers Roaring River Chalets Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing