We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beckers Chalets Are the BEST”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jasper National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Becker's Roaring River Chalets
Certificate of Excellence
ottawa
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Beckers Chalets Are the BEST”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We booked two nights here in August... Our visit was amazing!! The chalets are close to Jasper and every other place you would want to visit. The chalets were clean and had everything you would need. The restaurant was excellent...especially their pizzas!!!!! The staff here were very friendly and helpful and couldn't do enough to help us. And they were like ants....everywhere, working hard to keep the premises. Lea and tidy. DEFINITELY recommend staying here and we will be back!!!! Thanks to everyone who made our visit so special!!

Room Tip: Any of the chalets Re excellent... Just stay away from the chalets near the road if its the height o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foxhillOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    297
    98
    30
    29
See reviews for
276
271
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Witney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
832 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

The site consists of over 100 chalets designed to suit a variety of requirements, from individual guests to families. You can spend time watching people rafting on the river, or look for elk in the forest or wandering through the site. We saw up to seven at a time.The chalet is also equipped for self catering, with a separate living room and bedroom. The restaurant offered a tour menu for groups like ours, but there were only two in total. So if you were staying for more than two days, it could get a bit repetitive! The site is adjacent to the main road to Jasper, which is only a few miles north of Beckers. The only thing that let it down was the daily clean of the chalet, which was almosr non exsistent.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs chalet overlooking the woods.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed 5 nights at Becker's. The chalets are well equipped, clean and cosy. It was a cold day (end of July!?!) with sleety rain up at the Icefields so we put the heating system to good use and soon had everyone warm again. The sun came out next day and the weather stayed good for the rest of our stay.
The location is great, right next to the river with great views over the mountains from the ample seating provided by the riverside. Sunset is especially good as the mountains glow red as the sun goes down.
It makes a great base to tour round Jasper NP and to see lots of wildlife and enjoy the outdoors. We even had a "bear jam" right outside the entrance to Becker's when a black bear ambled along the highway. On our last night we counted 23 elk on the grassy area in the middle of the cabins.
We sampled the take-away pizza and chips from the restaurant - very nice and huge portions too.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We were at first hesitant to go there as we found some negative reviews on Tripadvisor that were quite detailed (and therefore most likely reliable). When we arrived we found that most of the complaints in those reviews had been dealt with, eg there was no longer a sign above the sink menacing you that you would be billed if you didn't clean the dishes but a gentle sign asking you to clean them before leaving; reception was friendly. The cabins look like they all have been renovated recently. Beckers cabins is just next to a wild river so the name lives up to its promise. It's 4 kilometers outside Jasper but that's OK as Jasper is a tourist trap (difficult to find good restaurants, avoid the high street). We had a close encounter with an elk, they seem to be plentiful and a permanent feature of life in Jasper (so are bears). The cabins are not high end but are clean, well equipped and comfortable (the deluxe cabin is really good but also the standard, we stayed in both). Avoid cabins too close to the main road (it's a highway). We had breakfast which was good but we've had better. We didn't have dinner. Beckers is an excellent home base for different hikes in the Rocky Mountains. Closeby (well, 20K) is Mount Edith Cavell, recommended to us by a local guide, take the meadows trail but don't stop at the "official" end and go on to the very top (a 900 meter climb overall so it's tough, very steep and cold at the end) but you get a one million dollar view over the Rocky Mountains (I think 100 kilometers in each direction except Mount Edith Cavell to your right). This is the view we travelled 8000 K to see, it just blows you away. Avoid trips to the hot springs, they were a true disappointment, nothing other than concrete docks filled with hot water.

Room Tip: Avoid cabins too close to the road, try a cabin on the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jan l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I've been staying at Becker's Chalets for 15 years now and this trip was as wonderful as the rest. We stayed in a 4 plex unit and it was spacious and comfortable. Our patio looked at the park so it was easy for us to keep an eye on the kids while enjoying the sounds of the Athabasca river. Great time again!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deirdre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
139 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

General:
Pretty log cabin style rooms - we had a 3BR plus loft (with full kitchen) and a 1 BR (double plus twin) to sleep our group of 11. Outside of the buildings are in great shape. The interiors are showing their age, but are clean. The smaller unit had an old metal shower - our larger room had more modern (but still old) bathrooms. Kitchen had a full refrigerator and electric stove. Units are not air-conditioned - but even on a very warm day, cooled nicely with provided fans.
Location:
Right next to the river, with some smaller units immediately adjacent. 5km outside of Jasper proper. We were not fortunate enough to see wildlife, but a bear and her cub walked right past our cabin one evening according to the staff.
Bottom line: Not luxury, but comfortable and good location. Reasonable price compared to other options particularly if you want a kitchen.

Room Tip: If you want a small room, those that are in single units (not 3 together) may be a nicer option - mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheaf01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed three nights in a one bed chalet towards the end of the site. We had a view of the Athabasca that was stunning and we could also watch the herd of elk that would graze right in the middle of the site. The chalet was comfortable and cosy, staff very friendly and helpful, and we enjoyed eating at the restaurant one night we were there too.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper National Park hotels
4.3 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
3.8 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
353 reviews
1.4 mi away
Jasper House Bungalows
Jasper House Bungalows
#13 of 22 in Jasper National Park
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Pyramid Lake Resort
Pyramid Lake Resort
#8 of 17 in Jasper
584 reviews
4.2 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
876 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Becker's Roaring River Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Becker's Roaring River Chalets

Property: Becker's Roaring River Chalets
Address: Icefields Parkway Highway 93S, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Jasper National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Becker's Roaring River Chalets 3.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Also Known As:
Becker`s Roaring River Chalets Hotel Jasper National Park
Beckers Roaring River Chalets Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing