We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful spot in a wonderful place”
Review of Tekarra Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tekarra Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 September 2013

These cabins are older, so they do not have all of the amenities. If you want a new, modern room with tv and phone, don't stay here. That said, the cabins are in excellent condition and extremely well kept-up and clean. They are truly charming. As they are open only four months per year, I don't know how they do it.
Not all of the cabins are double. Having read complaints about noise from other reviewers, I reserved a single cabin (number 7) located steps away from overlooking the Athabasca River. Our cabin did not have a separate bedroom; the bed iwas in a little alcove, there was a fireplace, with wood provided, as well as a kitchenette with a full size frig and small 4-burner range. The kitchen was sparsely equipped, but if you need extras, the front desk will get items for you. I enjoyed cooking a few nights on our trip. The bathroom is modern and good sized.
The setting is spectacular; there are picnic tables and chairs lining the bluff above the river; it is a great spot to relax and watch the sunset.

Room Tip: Cabin 7 is a single cabin, located just steps from a wonderful view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SGJ1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (682)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

461 - 467 of 682 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed for seven nights in August 2013. First impression was that the cabin was cramped and old-fashioned, with little storage space and a very minimal "efficiency" kitchen, so not very good value. The cabins are two-to-a-building, and you'll hear next door's plumbing (or whatever). Lighting the fire filled the room with wood-smoke and set the alarm off, as did cooking a couple of times.

However, once you got used to those factors, the stay was very enjoyable, and the cabin has all you really need. There's a lovely "overlook" of the Athabasca River (see pic) from the edge of the site, which is a great place for an evening beverage, and it's within walking distance of Jasper town centre. It's also nice to walk round the deep little lake. Watch for bears, though, a young Grizzly wandered through between the cabins one day. Elk also visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank SPardoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Friendly staff, but things go downhill from there. While the cottages are quaint, amenities are lacking. We stayed in a very basic cottage with 2 queen beds and a sofabed for 6 ppl. The cottage was very small and kitchen lacked enough utensils for 6 and did not have many tools with which to prepare a simple meal. The bathroom was large and clean though. The only form of entertainment at night would be the fireplace as there is no TV. I am not sure why others seem to like Tekarra, but of all our accommodations throughout our 14-day whirlwind tour of BC and AB that were of comparable cost, this was by far the worst. As one other reviewer mentioned, this hotel requires a full non-refundable deposit on booking, and they also take an imprint of your credit card on check-in probably because they lack electronic CC auth terminals that most other hotels have. It made me a bit uneasy having an imprint of my card in someone else's possession and I hope they stop this practice for future customers.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diyguy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Overall I would rate my stay at Tekarra Lodge as "tolerable". I expected a much newer cabin for 300/night. I also expected it to be clean. We found hair in the sink, shower, and on the 1950's gas stove. We also found sesame seeds in the bed indicating that they were most likely not washed since the last visitor(s). I would recommend "Alpine Village" cabins which are on the same road, and cost about the same. They are quite classy and modern in appearance, although you'll have to cross the street to attain the view available from the door of your Tekarra cabin.

Room Tip: If you do stay here, choose cabins 1-7 as they are right on the river, and have the most scenic view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

It is going to be a great experience for sure. Great quality cabins with all equipment necessary.
Very convenient for an stay in Jasper.
Main inconvenients: high price at summer season, and smoke smell at the room. The space in the cabin is somehow limited

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

It was my first stay at Tekarra Lodge. It's in a beautiful location, quiet and tranquil. The cabin was overlooking the river so you could sit outside and enjoy the peacefulness. Three of us stayed there, needing 3 beds. The pull out bed was not the most comfortable and had only one blanket so needed to request a second blanket the next day.
Breakfast at the restaurant was good, although it was a buffet the service was slow because only one person was working to clear tables, put out food, etc. We found out later that the restaurant is not owned by the Lodge.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McCallie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

My first stay at Tekarra Lodge was in 1956. Since that time every time we are in Jasper we have returned to Tekarra Lodge for our accommodation. We always had a very enjoyed time, but since it is now a Coast Hotel and improvements have been made it is even more enjoyable than ever. There is nothing more relaxing than sitting, overlooking the rivers.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper National Park hotels
1.1 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
459 reviews
1.5 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
991 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
1,672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
1.4 mi away
Chateau Jasper
Chateau Jasper
#8 of 17 in Jasper
896 reviews
3.5 mi away
Pyramid Lake Resort
Pyramid Lake Resort
#10 of 17 in Jasper
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tekarra Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tekarra Lodge

Address: Highway 93A | 1 km south of Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Jasper National Park
Price Range: £163 - £284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tekarra Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled deep in the heart of the Canadian Rockies, Tekarra Lodge enjoys an enviable location within Jasper National Park, the largest of the national mountain parks in Canada, 4200 square miles in area. Jasper became a National Park in 1907 and the town site's first buildings were constructed in 1911, then Jasper was known as the town of Fitzhugh. Tekarra Lodge is located across the river from the base of its namesake, Tekarra Mountain. Tekarra Mountain, towering 2635 meters above us is named for the Iroquois guide and hunter who accompanied Sir James Hector on his expedition through the Rocky Mountains during the mid-1850s. The skill and devotion of the guide Tekarra saved the lives of the members of that expedition. He sustained and fed them during the grim and bitter winter with caribou that he hunted on the mountain. It was because of this devotion that Sir James named the mountain Tekarra. The lodge grounds form the banks of the confluence of the Athabasca and Miette rivers. This land is maintained in its natural state, and offers a wonderful study for nature lovers. Tekarra's marked nature walk, and the Indian totem poles give pleasure to all ages. The area and history in and around the property is a fascinating one. One of the first settlements of Jasper called Henry House may have been located adjacent to the lodge on the south side of the river. Even today, there is still indication of an old homestead and some outbuildings. Tekarra Lodge was built circa 1947 and initially consisted of only a few cabins, some of which are standing today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tekarra Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tekarra Hotel Jasper National Park
Tekarra Lodge Jasper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing