We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Jasper destination”
Review of Tekarra Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tekarra Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We've stayed at Tekarra Lodge several times through the years as both couple and family. There's no sense of 'generic hotel room' that you'd find at the larger hotels in Jasper. From the wood burning fireplaces to the landscape you know you're in a mountain park cottage. The cabins are clean and well appointed. The staff are friendly and the selections and quality at the restaurant are a pleasant surprise. Be sure to go for brunch.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (663)
There are newer reviews for Tekarra Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

440 - 446 of 664 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2013

This was just the type of place we were looking for. It is located just outside the town of Jasper and in a quiet setting overlooking the river. A great place with chairs and a bench for early morning and late afternoon wildlife viewing takes advantage of the setting. The cabins are simple but clean and have what is necessary for a rural setting. If you are looking for a resort this isn't the place. If you are seeking a place to take advantage of the outdoors and provide a base camp for hikes, it is perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank textrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Our stays over the years at Tekarra lodge have always been extremely enjoyable. From the rustic room to the friendly staff, we love our stays at Tekarra. The beds are excellent and the room is clean and comfy! The view over the Athabasca and Miette Rivers to the mountains around Jasper are incredible. The kitchenettes are stocked with all the necessities (pots pans dishes), gas stove, fridge, coffee maker and microwave oven. In our bathroom, there was a full bath and shower - the bathroom is larger than the one in our house! The wood fireplace makes the chilly evenings comfy - (the room does have heating also!). Our dogs are also welcome there which means a lot to us! We highly recommend Tekarra for a true mountain getaway!

Room Tip: Rooms on the perimeter offer the best views.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I adored my short stay at Tekarra. It is a seasonal property just outside Jasper townsite and very easy to get to. It's in the perfect spot for people who want to get out in the morning for a nice walk or run, and the cabins themselves are so cute and incredibly quiet - I think I had my best sleep in months here.

It's definitely worthy of a separate review, but it MUST be noted here too that the restaurant at Tekarra MUST be tried to be believed. I had the best venison of my life here and a molten lava cake that was party of a set menu I tried (normally I wouldn't order such a decadent dessert) but it truly blew my mind, and I consider myself a bit of a foodie. An absolute must try.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Our cabin was comfortable, roomy, good deck, excellent cooking facilities. It is really good to be able to do your own thing. Close to Jasper but just far enough out too get away from the crowds. Wildlife everywhere! Almost able to touch a passing elk from the deck. Nice walk along the Athabasca river right alongside the complex. My only small complaint was the shower recess is rather small. If you want five star hotel luxury, go somewhere else. If you want a genuine national park experience this is a good place to get it with quite enough comfort.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chewat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed for 3 nights on a recent trip. On arrival we were upgraded to a cabin which hadn't initially been available at the time of booking. We found our cabin very comfortable and almost something from a fairy tale. They are idilic accommodation in such wonderful surrounds of Jasper National Park. They could be quite cramped for a longer stay but we found it spacious enough with a comfortable bed and sofa. We didn't use the kitchen facilities but the fridge was very welcome for keeping drinks cool in the summer heat. The bathroom was a good size and very clean.
Breakfast was included and of the buffet style with both hot and cold available. The waiters were attentive and topped up our coffee regularly.

Jasper itself is just a 5 minute if you want to try somewhere other than the on site restaurant which appeared to be quite expensive for dinner options.

All in all a lovely place to stay, where else can you open the front door to see a deer roaming around the grounds in the morning?

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Peter2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

These cabins are older, so they do not have all of the amenities. If you want a new, modern room with tv and phone, don't stay here. That said, the cabins are in excellent condition and extremely well kept-up and clean. They are truly charming. As they are open only four months per year, I don't know how they do it.
Not all of the cabins are double. Having read complaints about noise from other reviewers, I reserved a single cabin (number 7) located steps away from overlooking the Athabasca River. Our cabin did not have a separate bedroom; the bed iwas in a little alcove, there was a fireplace, with wood provided, as well as a kitchenette with a full size frig and small 4-burner range. The kitchen was sparsely equipped, but if you need extras, the front desk will get items for you. I enjoyed cooking a few nights on our trip. The bathroom is modern and good sized.
The setting is spectacular; there are picnic tables and chairs lining the bluff above the river; it is a great spot to relax and watch the sunset.

Room Tip: Cabin 7 is a single cabin, located just steps from a wonderful view of the river.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SGJ1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper National Park hotels
1.6 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
1.1 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
425 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
1,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Pyramid Lake Resort
Pyramid Lake Resort
#7 of 17 in Jasper
621 reviews
1.5 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
951 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tekarra Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tekarra Lodge

Address: Highway 93A | 1 km south of Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Jasper National Park
Price Range: £157 - £263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tekarra Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled deep in the heart of the Canadian Rockies, Tekarra Lodge enjoys an enviable location within Jasper National Park, the largest of the national mountain parks in Canada, 4200 square miles in area. Jasper became a National Park in 1907 and the town site's first buildings were constructed in 1911, then Jasper was known as the town of Fitzhugh. Tekarra Lodge is located across the river from the base of its namesake, Tekarra Mountain. Tekarra Mountain, towering 2635 meters above us is named for the Iroquois guide and hunter who accompanied Sir James Hector on his expedition through the Rocky Mountains during the mid-1850s. The skill and devotion of the guide Tekarra saved the lives of the members of that expedition. He sustained and fed them during the grim and bitter winter with caribou that he hunted on the mountain. It was because of this devotion that Sir James named the mountain Tekarra. The lodge grounds form the banks of the confluence of the Athabasca and Miette rivers. This land is maintained in its natural state, and offers a wonderful study for nature lovers. Tekarra's marked nature walk, and the Indian totem poles give pleasure to all ages. The area and history in and around the property is a fascinating one. One of the first settlements of Jasper called Henry House may have been located adjacent to the lodge on the south side of the river. Even today, there is still indication of an old homestead and some outbuildings. Tekarra Lodge was built circa 1947 and initially consisted of only a few cabins, some of which are standing today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tekarra Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tekarra Hotel Jasper National Park
Tekarra Lodge Jasper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing