We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adorable cabins in the woods”
Review of Tekarra Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tekarra Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Stayed here once the road was open, which is May long weekend. You can stay in this location until October when winter conditions restrict access to the area. I always come to the restaurant but had been staying in other hotels in Jasper until this year. The best comparison I can make is that the cabins are nearly identical to Jasper Fairmont, with the following differences:
1. We chose this hotel because the same nights were 4 times, FOUR times as expensive at the Fairmont that weekend.
2. The grounds are a little more well tended at the Fairmont but the Tekarra Lodge has a beautiful cliffside view of two rivers converging, and just as many mountains surrounding it.
3. There were spiders in our bathroom at the Tekarra, but not at the Fairmont.
4. The breakfast costs $40/person at the Fairmont and it was included for 1/4 the price at the Tekarra.

For $600 less per day, I can kill my own spiders. Other than that the rooms were actually very well cleaned every day and that's a challenge to keep critters out in the middle of the forest. Dinner at Tekarra is better than any restaurant in the country and possibly the world. I drive to Jasper and back to Edmonton just to eat here.The bed was snuggly, if not a bit short for two people over 6 feet. The fireplace worked great, and it's only a very short drive to Jasper town centre, and surrounding lakes and trails.
To be fair, if you are staying in Jasper it's to see the outdoors, so the hotel itself only has to be reasonably decent, but you should keep in mind this is not a luxury resort. It's a cabin in the woods. I wish I had considered this place sooner because the value for money is unbeatable. It's clean, it's located at a beautiful spot, we got everything we asked for on time, and it was walking distance to the restaurant. Did I mention how amazing dinner is here. Of all the places I've stayed in Jasper this is the best value.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vicky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (679)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

442 - 448 of 679 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

At Tekarra Lodge you can either choose to stay in small rooms above the lodge, or in one of the larger cabins. The rooms are rustic and charming, but it's the view of the two rivers coming together that people will enjoy even more. There are a number of Muskoka chairs set out for guests where you can watch rafting parties float by, or take photos, or just read and relax.
As in many resorts, some of the staff are young and seasonal, so if you have any issues, check with the efficient and gracious manager, Stephanie. She handled a minor problem swiftly and to our 100% satisfaction.
The only regret is we did not have a chance to try dinner at the gourmet restaurant on-site. We will rectify this upon our return this fall.
I was very happy with the WiFi, always a must for me :)

Room Tip: Cabins are larger and have fireplaces, would be great for families. The rooms above the restaurant i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Came with 3 children. Cozy cabin which was spotless and recently renovated. Rustic but charming. Gives an authentic mountain park experience. Staff helpful and friendly. Great for a family vacation and for enjoying outdoors. Gourmet restaurant on site. Would definitely come back.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Erin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed two nights in May. Tekarra Lodge is near a creek and has with nice views to mountains. The room was clean and family friendly. The gas heater didn't work so they gave us electric heaters. They also gave us $100 discount because of the heater problem. The lodge is close to Jasper downtown.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BangkokSachse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stay at Tekarra every year in one of the Miette Cabins. It's hands-down the BEST place to stay in Jasper, if you're looking for a cozy, rustic place to stay that not only overlooks the Athabasca River, but is also secluded enough to feel like you're staying in the middle of the woods, while in actuality, you can walk to the townsite in 10 minutes. We've stayed in many of Jasper's cabins over the years, but Tekarra surpasses them all. With friendly, warm staff, excellent high-end dining in the restaurant and a private, quiet and rustic cabin experience, Tekarra is definitely Jasper's gem! We would never stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeaStone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We couldn't have had a better stay in Jasper! We stayed in a log cabin accommodation <6 people. There is a fully equipped kitchen. The cabins are located under huge groves of Redwoods. There is a nice outdoor feel when sleeping in this hotel, you can hear the birds, the river, etc. Would highly recommend for anyone wanting a nice nature-feel cabin.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maximilian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Had a fantastic night here when passing through in August 2013. Excellent cabin and, within 100m, a fantastic view over the river to the mountains beyond. A very special evening. Paid CAD289 for a family of four.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dale W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper National Park hotels
1.6 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
1.1 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
443 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
1,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Pyramid Lake Resort
Pyramid Lake Resort
#10 of 17 in Jasper
626 reviews
1.5 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
975 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tekarra Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tekarra Lodge

Address: Highway 93A | 1 km south of Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Jasper National Park
Price Range: £173 - £280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tekarra Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled deep in the heart of the Canadian Rockies, Tekarra Lodge enjoys an enviable location within Jasper National Park, the largest of the national mountain parks in Canada, 4200 square miles in area. Jasper became a National Park in 1907 and the town site's first buildings were constructed in 1911, then Jasper was known as the town of Fitzhugh. Tekarra Lodge is located across the river from the base of its namesake, Tekarra Mountain. Tekarra Mountain, towering 2635 meters above us is named for the Iroquois guide and hunter who accompanied Sir James Hector on his expedition through the Rocky Mountains during the mid-1850s. The skill and devotion of the guide Tekarra saved the lives of the members of that expedition. He sustained and fed them during the grim and bitter winter with caribou that he hunted on the mountain. It was because of this devotion that Sir James named the mountain Tekarra. The lodge grounds form the banks of the confluence of the Athabasca and Miette rivers. This land is maintained in its natural state, and offers a wonderful study for nature lovers. Tekarra's marked nature walk, and the Indian totem poles give pleasure to all ages. The area and history in and around the property is a fascinating one. One of the first settlements of Jasper called Henry House may have been located adjacent to the lodge on the south side of the river. Even today, there is still indication of an old homestead and some outbuildings. Tekarra Lodge was built circa 1947 and initially consisted of only a few cabins, some of which are standing today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tekarra Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tekarra Hotel Jasper National Park
Tekarra Lodge Jasper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing